Skip to main content

Modern Europe

The aftermath of war

Post War Europe, 1945-1950: Refugees, Exile, and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Digital collection of material from the Wiener Library and the UK National Archives on refugees and resettlement of displaced persons in Europe in the aftermath of World War II.

ALCO/M: Allied Commission for Austria, 1945-1955
1647.194.121
8 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DB97.A45
Material from the U.S. National Archives, Records of U.S. Occupation Headquarters, World War II (RG 260), for the agency responsible for overseeing the administration of occupied Austria after World War II. See http://www.archives.gov/research/holocaust/finding-aid/military/rg-260-5.html

EXCO/M: Executive Committee of the Allied Commission for Austria, 1945-1955
1647.194.121.2
15 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms 1647.194.121
See above.

European NGOs

Archives of War Resisters' International, 1921-1974
Microfiche 446
103 fiche
Printed guide: none
See http://www.iisg.nl/archives/en/files/w/10773401.php for the finding aid to the original documents, now housed at the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.

NATO

Europe and NATO, Special Studies, 1970-2009 [microform]
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of U.S. government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making. Printed guides below are all in Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB).

Microfilm 10225 (1970-1980) 11 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E882
Microfilm 10226 (1980-1985) 12 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E883
Microfilm 10227 (1985-1988) 8 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E884
Microfilm 10228 (1989-1991) 10 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E885
Microfilm 10534 (1992-1994) 14 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E886
Microfilm 11695 (1995-1997) 14 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E887
Microfilm 11872 (1998-2002) 14 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E887 2004
Microfilm 12404 (2003-2005) 14 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E888 2007
Microfilm 12465 (2006-2009) 17 reels; printed guide: UA646.3 .E889 2010

Creating the European Union

Foreign Office files for post-war Europe. Series one, The Schuman plan and the European Coal and Steel Community (Public Record Office class FO 371) [microform].
Microfilm 10637
61 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HD9525.A2 F673
Materials from FO371, Foreign Office records in the UK National Archives. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/fo_post-war_europe_series_one_parts_1_to_3/Contents.aspx

US foreign policy & Europe

John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961-1963, Western Europe
John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961-1963, Western Europe, First Supplement

Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969, Western Europe
Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969, Western Europe, First Supplement

Richard M. Nixon National Security Files, 1969-1974, Western Europe

History Vault