Modern Europe

Note: If you are new to research using French government documents, you may find it helpful to consult Gloria Westfall, French official publications. Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Z2169 .W47 1980

For an introduction to what is available in digital form, see https://boiteaoutils.info/2013/01/acceder-aux-numerisations-du-journal/ (in French). See also French Revolution Digital Archive, which includes a digital edition of the Archives Parliamentaires for 1787-1794.

Journal officiel de la République française

• Gazette national; ou, le Moniteur universel [1787-1810] RECAP Oversize 0850.649f
• Moniteur universel; journal officiel [1811-1871] RECAP Oversize 0850.649f
• Journal officiel de l'Empire français [1869-1870] Rare Books (Ex) Oversize 0850.65e
• Journal officiel de la République française [1870-1975] Oversize KJV17 .F736q
• Journal officiel de la France combattante: lois et décrets, ordonnances, ordres, arretes, circulaires, communications et annonces. [1941-1943] Oversize D761.9.F7 F736q

Annales de l'Assemblée nationale
Firestone DC340 .F737
Covers 1871-1876.

[Laws and decrees]

• Journal officiel de la République française [1870-1975] Oversize KJV17 .F736q
• Journal officiel de la République française. Édition des lois et décrets [1976-199]) Microfiche 594
• Journal officiel de la France combattante: lois et décrets, ordonnances, ordres, arretes, circulaires, communications et annonces. [1941-1943] Oversize D761.9.F7 F736q

[Debates and questions]

• Journals des débats politiques et littéraires [microform] Includes the parliamentary debates of the Etats généraux, Assemblée nationale constituante, Assemblée nationale legislative, Convention nationale, Corps legislatif. [1789-1944, with gaps] RECAP Microfilm S00289 (184 reels)
• Archives parlementaires de 1787 à1860 Firestone 0850.356 -- this is a reprint of debates. [1787-1839, with gaps] We also have part in microform: Microfiche 1847
• Journal officiel de la République française. Débats parlementaires, Sénat.Oversize KJV17 .F7364q [1882-1975] and Microfiche 144 [1976-1993]; MICROFILM S00342 fills gaps
• Débats de l’Assemblée consultative provisoire [1943-1945] MICROFILM S00007
• Journal officiel de la République française. Débats parlementaires, Conseil de la République [1946-1958] Oversize KJV17 .F73633q
• Journal officiel de la République française. Débats parlementaires, Assemblée nationale. [1946-1993] Oversize KJV17 .F73632q and Microfiche 143
• Journal officiel de la République française. Débats de l’Assemblée de l’Union française. [1947-1958] Oversize KJV17 .F73637q

[Parliamentary working documents]

• Journal officiel de la République française. Documents parlementaires, Sénat. [1881-1938, with gaps] Oversize KJV17 .F7362q
• Documents parlementaires: annexes aux Procés-verbaux des séances [1882-1938, with gaps] Oversize KJV17 .F7367q
• Documents parlementaires: annexes aux procès-verbaux des séances [1946-1957/58] Oversize KJV17 .F73634q
• Documents parlementaires: annexes aux procès-verbaux des séances [1946-1958] Oversize KJV17 .F73653q
• [Journal officiel de la République française]. Assemblée de l’Union française. Documents : annexes aux procès-verbaux des séances [1947-1958] Oversize KJV17 .F73638q
• Journal officiel de la République française. Édition des documents parlementaires de l’Assemblée nationale [1959-1971/72] Oversize KJV17 .F73654q
• Journal officiel de la République française. Documents, Sénat. [1958-1974] Oversize KJV17 .F7364q and [1974-1993] Microfiche 1420

Journal officiel de la République française. Avis et rapports du Conseil économique et social
1948-1993: Oversize KJV17 .F73636q, Oversize KJV17 .F73635q, and Microfiche 1501

[Administrative documents]
Microfiche 1500

• Journal officiel de la République française. Annexe.
  1906-1938
• Journal officiel de la République française. Annexe administrative.
  1939-1955
• Journal officiel de la République française. Document administratif.
  1955-1959
• Journal officiel de la République française. Edition des documents administratifs.
  1960-1993

Documents diplomatiques français
This complex series documents French foreign policy in the 19th and 20th centuries.

• Série avant 1914: DC369 .D638
• Série 1914-1919: DC396 .D6382 1999; DC396 .D6383 2002
• Série 1920-1932: DC396 .D6384 1997; DC396 .D6385 2004; DC396 .D63852 2007
• Série 1932-1939: DC369 .D6384
• Série 1939-1944: DC396 .D6386 2002
• Série 1945-1954: D396 .D63865 1996
• Série après 1954: DC396 .D6387

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. France, 1945-1949. Foreign affairs [microform]
Microfilm 09631
4 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DC404 .C662
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. Decimal numbers 751 and 711.51

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. France, 1945-1949. Internal affairs [microform]
Microfilm 09630
68 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DC404 .C664
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. Decimal numbers 851.0-851.3 and 851.4-851.9

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. France, 1950-1954. Foreign affairs [microform]
Microfilm 09633
5 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DC404 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. Decimal numbers 651 and 611.51

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. France. Internal affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 09632
25 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DC398 .C665
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. France, 1955-1959 [microform]: foreign affairs--decimal numbers 651 and 611.51
Microfilm 11865
11 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DC404 .C6633
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

La Revolution industrielle française, 1810-1870: statistiques, enquêtes, expositions, documents
Microfiche 916
531 microfiche
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z7164.O7R48
Selected material on the economy of France in the 19th century. Arranged by topic: statistics, overviews, industrial expositions, canals and railroads.

L'Affaire Dreyfus: son influence dans la création de la France moderne (The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France) Archives Unbound "Comprising over 1,000 volumes, the collection contains all the well-known Dreyfus publications ... as well as rarely seen archival materials. Documents from many different countries and all sides of the controversy reflect the depth and breadth of attention the Dreyfus Affair generated at the turn of the 19th century." From the holdings of the Houghton Library Collection, Harvard University. Duplicates RECAP Microfilm 10613.

Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848) Archives Unbound