Skip to main content

Middle East: primary sources

Lebanon

The French Mandate in The Lebanon, Christian-Muslim Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Beirut, 1920-1941 Archives Unbound This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut. Source Note: RG 84, Records of the Foreign Service Posts of the Department of State, Beirut, Confidential Correspondence, 1920-1935, Entry 148, All decimal numbers; RG 84, Records of the Foreign Service Posts of the Department of State, Beirut, Correspondence, 1936-1941, Entry 148A, Classes, 3, 6, 7,and 8

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Lebanon, 1930-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 05560
5 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Lebanon, 1945-1949 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal number 890E and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 790E and 711.90E
Microfilm 08667
5 reels
Printed guide: DS87 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Lebanon, 1950-1954 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 783A and 983A and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 683A and 611.83A
Microfilm 08668
13 reels
Printed guide: DS87 .C664
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Lebanon, 1955-1959 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 783A, 883A, 983A: foreign affairs, decimal numbers 683A and 611.83A
Microfilm 08669
16 reels
Printed guide: DS87 .C665
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Lebanon 1960-January 1963 [microform]: internal affairs and foreign affair
Microfilm 11858
10 reels
Printed guide: DS87 .C663 2005
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Syria

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Syria, 1930-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 05563
11 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Syria, 1945-1949 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal number 890D and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 790D and 711.90D
Microfilm 08404
9 reels
Printed guide: DS98.2 .C664 1987
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Syria, 1950-1954 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 783, 883, and 983 and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 683 and 611.83
Microfilm 08392
12 reels
Printed guide: DS98.2 .C663 1987
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910 Archives Unbound. Documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters. From the Presbyterian Historical Society, Philadelphia.

Jordan

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Trans-Jordan, 1930-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 05570
1 reel
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Jordan, 1955-1959 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 785, 885, and 985: foreign affairs, decimal numbers 685 and 611.85
Microfilm 10635
10 reels
Printed guide: DS154.55 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html