Skip to main content

Middle East: primary sources

Palestine & Israel: before 1950

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online

The British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944 Archives Unbound Source Note: RG 84, Records of the Foreign Service Posts of the Department of State, Jerusalem, Confidential Correspondence, 1920-1935 (All Decimal classifications); RG 59, General Records of the Department of State, Palestine, 1936-1944, Decimal numbers: 867n.00 to 867n.925 "These records consist primarily of political reports and despatches from the U.S. Consulate General in Jerusalem relating to the administration of the British Mandate of Palestine, Arab and Jewish political organizations, and civil disturbances." In part, supersedes the microfilm set below.

Despatches from United States consuls in Jerusalem, Palestine, 1856-1906 [microform]
Microfilm 08662
5 reels
Printed guide: DS119.6 .U647 1973
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Middle East [microform]: FO 882, Foreign Office, War of 1914 to 1918: Arab Bureau papers, 1911-1920
Microfilm 06335
16 reels
Printed guide: none
Description

Records of the United States Consulate in Jerusalem, Palestine [microform]: confidential correspondence, 1920-35 (record group 84)
Microfilm 08001
3 reels
Printed guide: none
"These records of the American consular post in Jerusalem include despatches to the Department of State, letters, cables, memoranda, position and background papers, and other documents relating to affairs in Palestine during the British Mandate."

Reports of the Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry, confidential files, re, Palestine, 1944-1946 [microform]
Microfilm 07851
12 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS126.4 .G842
"The Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry (AACI), formed in 1945, was created to study the situation of Jewish survivors in Europe and the problems connected with their resettlement in Palestine. ... The records reproduced in this publication include the AACI's reference files, transcripts of its hearings, and its reports and recommendations. In addition, there are publications, papers, interviews, maps, memoranda, and correspondence." Note that the actual reports are available at http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/anglo/angtoc.htm

British Colonial Office Palestine Correspondence [microform]
Microfilm 04419
[164] reels
Printed guide: Z3014.H55xB74.
"This file contains all the communications between the Colonial Office, which supervised the Mandate, and British officials and high commissions in Palestine." Covers 1927-1934.

Jerusalem and East Mission archive [microform]
MICROFICHE 804
2570 microfiches
Printed guide: BV2361 .J47q
"Minutes, annual reports, correspondence, and financial records relating to the Jerusalem and East Mission from 1841-1976. Includes reports, papers, minutes, correspondence, and records relating to the work of the Jerusalem Bishopric ... and the Mission's work in Iraq, Jordan, North Africa, Syria, and Lebanon." The bulk of the material dates from the 20th century. See the online guide at http://www.idcpublishers.com/pdf/140_guide.pdf

Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Palestine, 1930-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 05564
26 reels
Printed guide: DS126.R42
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine, United Nations activities, 1945-1949 [microform]
Microfilm 05929
14 reels
Printed guide: DS126.4 .C66
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Palestine, 1945-1949 [microform]
Microfilm 05568
27 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Palestine statehood committee papers [microform]
Microfilm 11588
19 reels
Printed guide: none
Filmed from originals held at Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library, by Yale University Photographic Services, 1982-1985. "MSS group no. 690. Series I-IV and addition May, 1981." Correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, and clippings related to five committees active in the United States from 1939 to 1949: the American Friends of a Jewish Palestine, the Committee for an Army of Stateless and Palestinian Jews, the Emergency Committee to Save the Jewish People of Europe, the American League for a Free Palestine, and the Hebrew Committee of National Liberation.

Palestine & Israel: after 1950

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel. Internal affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05459
21 reels
Printed guide: DS126.5.L47
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel. Foreign affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05460
6 reels
Printed guide: DS126.5.L47
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel. Internal affairs, 1955-1959 [microform]: decimal numbers 784, 784A, 884, 884A, 984, and 984A
Microfilm 08944
19 reels
Printed guide: DS126.5 .C5934
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel. Foreign affairs, 1955-1959 [microform]: decimal numbers 684, 684A, 611.84, and 611.84A
Microfilm 08945
17 reels
Printed guide: DS119.7 .C563
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel, 1960-Janary 1963. Internal affairs and foreign affairs [microform]
Microfilm 10707
17 reels
Printed guide: DS126.5 .L475
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel, February 1963-1966 [microform]
Microfilm 11864
reels
Printed guide: E183.8.I7 C66 2006
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Palestine-Israel: internal affairs and foreign affairs, 1967-1969
MICROFILM 12409
13 reels
Printed guide: DS119.7 .C6524 2006
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Israel, national security files, 1963-1969 [microform]
Microfilm 05131
3 reels
Printed guide: DS119.8.U6S34
From the Lyndon B. Johnson presidential library, the documents in this collection include a selection of reports and correspondence from the National Security Files.