Skip to main content

Middle East: primary sources

Ottoman Empire

Early Western books, 1500-1599: the Ottoman Empire and the Mediterranean
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
"This set includes 294 titles of early western books found in the Library of the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London. The emphasis is on the Eastern Mediterranean and the Ottoman Turks". 1096 microfiche.

Despatches from United States consuls in Constantinople, 1820-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.916.92.2
24 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Russian-Ottoman relations, 1600-1914 [microform]
Microfiche 2188
Printed guide: none
Four parts: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 ; 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853; 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856; 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.See http://www.idcpublishers.com/pdf/498%5Ftitlelist.pdf for a title list. For Part 2, Shifts in the Balance of Power, 1800-1853, see http://www.idcpublishers.com/?id=536. Part 3: http://www.idcpublishers.com/pdf/515_title%20list.pdf and Part 4: http://www.idcpublishers.com/pdf/ro4-titlelist.pdf

Despatches from United States consuls in Trebizond, 1904-6 [microform]
RECAP 1096.916.92.3
1 reel
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Turkey

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Turkey, 1910-29 [microform]
Microfilm 04171
88 reels
Printed guide: DR479.U6
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between Turkey and other states, 1910-29
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Turkey, 1930-1944
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
36 reels

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Turkey, 1945-1949
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
20 reels

Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
Archives Unbound
"This collection of State Department documents provides access to unique primary source materials on the political, economic and social development of Turkey during a period of democratization in the 1950s."

The Cyprus Crisis in 1967 Archives Unbound

Based on RG 59, General Records of the Department of State, Office of the Executive Secretariat, Cyprus Crisis Files, 1967, National Archives II, College Park, MD.