Skip to main content

Middle East: primary sources

Iraq

Iraq 1914-1974: The Middle East Online
Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of Iraq from 1914 to 1974.

Records of the Persian Gulf War
Archives Unbound
"This collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990."

U.S.-Iraqi Relations Archives Unbound
"The program of technical cooperation in Iraq, prior to the Revolution of 1958, was frequently cited as an example of the ideal Point Four program. The overthrow of the established government led naturally to questions concerning the "failure" of American technical assistance in that country."

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Iraq, 1930-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 05562
18 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1945-1949 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal number 890G and foreign affairs, decimal number 711.90G
Microfilm 08406
10 reels
Printed guide: DS79.53 .C663 1987
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1950-1954 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 787, 887, and 987 and foreign affairs, decimal numbers, 687 and 611.87
Microfilm 08407
18 reels
Printed guide: DS79.53 .C664 1987
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1955-1959 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 787, 887, and 987 and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 687 and 611.87
Microfilm 08946
18 reels
Printed guide: DS79.53 .C563
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, 1960-January 1963 [microform]: internal affairs decimal numbers 787, 887, and 997 and foreign affairs decimal numbers 687 and 611.87
Microfilm 11778
13 reels
Printed guide: DS79.65 C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iraq, February 1963-1966 [microform]
MICROFILM 12395
10 reels
Printed guide: E183.8.I57 C66 2006
See above. Part 1: Political, governmental and national defense affairs: subject-numeric categories.

Iraqgate : Saddam Hussein, U.S. policy and the prelude to the Persian Gulf War (1980-1994) [microform]
Microfiche 1659
331 microfiches
Printed guide: DS79.72 .I726 1995
Reproduces material from the National Security Archive that documents U.S. policy towards Iraq; also includes U.K. documents on British policy and material on the Banca Nazionale del Lavoro. This collection is available online through the Digital National Security Archive at http://nsarchive.chadwyck.com/collections/collections_index.jsp

Yemen

The Persian Gulf States and Yemen, 1950-1959 Archives UnboundU.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of the Persian Gulf states and Yemen. Source: Record Group 59, Records of the Department of State, Central Files: Kuwait (86D), Muscat and Oman (86E), Qatar (86F), the Trucial Sheikhs (86G), and Yemen (86H). The internal affairs decimal numbers include: 786D.OO-786D.56; 786E.OO-786E.5811; 786F.OO-786F.11; 786G.OO-786G.5441; 786H.OO-786H.58; 886D.OO-886D.572; 886E.OOTA-886E.49; 886F.OO-886F.55; 886G.OO-886G.55; 886H.OO-886H.572; 986D.OO-986D.8294; 986E.34-986E.714; 986F.724-986F.734; 986G.OO; 986H.OO-986H.734.

Persia & Iran

Factory records; Persia and the Persian Gulf [microform]
1784.406
5 reels
Printed guide: none
Reproduces East India Company records, now part of the India Office Records of the British Library. Covers 1746-1790. See http://www.bl.uk/collections/iorarrgt.html for more information.

Despatches from United States consuls in Teheran, 1883-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.7085.922
2 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Notes from the Persian Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1867-1906
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
1 reel

British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918 Archives Unbound  "telegrams, correspondence, minutes, memoranda and confidential prints gathered together in the India Office Military Department on Mesopotamia"

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Persia, 1910-1929 [microform]
Microfilm 05569
37 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Great Britain. Foreign Office. General correspondence, political, Iran, 1921-1941
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
F.O. 371 (Public Record Office) 203 reels

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Iran, 1930-1939 [microform]
Microfilm 05566
24 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iran, internal affairs and foreign affairs, 1945-1949 [microform]
Microfilm 05773
18 reels
Printed guide: DS316.6.C55
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of U.S. foreign assistance agencies, 1948-1961. U.S. operations. Mission in Iran , 1950-1961 [microform]. Microfilm 12537 http://microformguides.gale.com/download.asp?colldocid=9243000 or printed guide at Firestone Microforms HC475 .R42 2011

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iran, internal affairs and foreign affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05771
44 reels
Printed guide: DS316.6.C56
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iran, 1955-1959 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 788, 888, and 988: foreign affairs, decimal numbers 688 and 611.88
Microfilm 08943
27 reels
Printed guide: DS318.5 .C565
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Iran, 1960-January 1963 [microform] : internal affairs (decimal numbers 788, 888, and 988) and foreign affairs (decimal numbers 688 and 611.88)
Microfilm 11853
16 reels
Printed guide: DS318 .C663 2002
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Iran: the making of U.S. policy, 1977-1980
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
This microfiche set includes documents from the U.S. embassy in Teheran, the Department of State, the Central Intelligence Agency, and other U.S. agencies. 571 fiche.