Skip to main content

Middle East: primary sources

Afghanistan

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Afghanistan, 1930-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 08661
7 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
Archives Unbound
"This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats."

Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War Archives Unbound Based on India Office records, contains "confidential correspondence, memoranda, orders, reports and other materials provide a broad spectrum of information on military policy and administration, including the organization, operations and equipment of the army during the war."

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan Material from the British government on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. Includes DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

Saudi Arabia

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Saudi Arabia, 1930-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 05561
8 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Saudi Arabia. Internal affairs and foreign affairs, 1945-1949 [microform]
Microfilm 05772
12 reels
Printed guide: DS244.512.C56
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Saudi Arabia. Internal affairs and foreign affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05770
10 reels
Printed guide: DS244.512 .C55
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Saudi Arabia, 1955-1959 [microform]: internal affairs, decimal numbers 786A, 886A, and 986A: foreign affairs, decimal numbers 686A and 611.86A
Microfilm 08408
11 reels
Printed guide: DS244.512 .C66 1990
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Saudi Arabia : internal affairs and foreign affairs 1960 -January 1963
MICROFILM 12401
10 reels
Printed guide: DS244.56 .C664 2002
See above.

U.S. Operations Mission to Saudi Arabia, 1950-1955: Correspondence and Subject Files of the Office of the Director in Archives Unbound

"This record collection contains the correspondence files of the U.S. Operations Mission in Saudi Arabia during the early Cold War period, 1950-1955, as well as the Subject Files of the office of the Director documenting the myriad concerns and rationales that went into the control and direction of U.S. economic and technical assistance programs, as well as the coordination of mutual security activities, with respect to Saudi Arabia".