Skip to Main Content


Things to Remember

Certain equity datatypes are not available for all countries. The help screens will detail which datatypes work in which programs and country availability. Datastream categorizes data availability into 2 groups: G1 countries and G2 countries.

G1 Countries are countries for which full research level data is available. The following G1 countries include company accounts data: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, and the United States.

The following G1 countries do not include company accounts data: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Turkey, Venezuela, and Zimbabwe.

G2 Countries are countries for which restricted equity research data is available. Please note that, as the data availability for these countries is upgraded, announcements will be made on the 99 program. The G2 countries are Cyprus, Czech Republic, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Slovakia, and Tunisia.


Dead Stocks: When a stock is delisted, Datastream stops using the equity's ticker symbol and assigns a code to it.  The process is the same as finding for a live stock though.