Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Museums in the Area
If you're looking to visit a museum that's somewhat nearby, here are some options in New Jersey.
The Jane Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum
Right on the New Brunswick Campus of Rutgers, the Zimmerli is particularly well known for its collection of Russian and Soviet avant-garde art, French nineteenth-century art and American nineteenth- and twentieth-century art.
The Montclair Art Museum
MAM's collection focuses on American and Native American art.
Grounds for Sculpture
Located in Hamilton, NJ, Grounds for Sculpture is a public sculpture garden showcasing well-known and contemporary sculptors.
The Newark Museum's art collection includes African, Asian, and American art as well as classical and decorative arts, among other types.
Finding Museums and Galleries
Here are some online resources to help you locate museums and galleries:
Marquand's List of Art Libraries and Museums
A list of links to important museums both local and international.
ArtCards List of NY Gallery Shows
This website lists the openings and ongoing shows going on that day in NYC. You can subscribe to the website to receive a weekly newsletter about art shows as well.
Google Directory of Museums
Google's tool for searching museums allows keyword searching (the results will be ranked using the Google ranking algorithm, not in alphabetical order) and index searching.
Guide to Galleries and Museums Around Princeton
Princeton Online's list of art galleries and museums in or near Princeton. Also has a list of upcoming art events.
Allows searching by keyword, geographical area, and type of museum. Entries include the address, website, and phone numbers of museums.
American Association of Museums
Focusing on American museums, this site allows you to search their member directory and provides addresses and websites.
Museums in NY
Here are some great museums in NYC.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
One of the world's greatest art collections, spanning from ancient to modern art. If you're interested in medieval art, make sure to check out the Cloisters.
The Museum of Modern Art
MOMA has a great collection of modern and more contemporary art. Look at the bottom of the page for a link to PS1, an fantastic contemporary art exhibition space in Queens.
This museum of American art covers the 20th century to the present. The museum also hosts the Whitney Biennial, which showcases younger and lesser known artists.
The Morgan Library and Museum combines its collection of printed materials and fine art to create very interesting exhibitions.
The Guggenheim houses modern and contemporary international art (it's also an architectural landmark).