Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Princeton, NJ 08544-0001
Resources at Marquand
As the art and archaeology library at Princeton, Marquand is a great place to go for browsing, research, and reference help. Here are some resources at Marquand to be aware of:
In the general collection: Everything in the collection at Marquand is related to art, architecture, or archaeology in some way. You can look up more about browsing by call numbers here, but keep in mind that on Marquand the second floor consists entirely of ND (painting) works, the B floor consists of call numbers from NA-NZ, and the A floor goes from A-N, then from O-Z.
Special collections at Marquand: Marquand has several more specific areas that could be of interest, including:
- The Reference Collection: Reference books like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and indexes are really useful when beginning a research project or trying to find a quick overview of a topic. The Marquand Reference Room, to the left of the entrance, brings together many helpful reference resources that focus on art, from medium-specific encyclopedias, to indexes of reproductions, to directories of artists. See here, here, and here for more examples of art reference works.
- The Photography Collection: Marquand has a section completely devoted to photography on the first floor. This collection includes monographs and bound journals of artistic photography. You can easily distinguish the photography from non-photography books because the call number begins with SAPH instead of SA.
- The Rare Books Collection: Marquand has its own collection of rare books separate from the collection at Firestone that are housed in a vault on the first floor. The rare books are available from 9AM-5PM Monday through Friday. A list of the holdings of the Marquand Rare books collection is in the works and may be online soon--until then, you can tell if a book in the online catalog is in the vault if its call number begins with SAX. This is a really amazing collection with very valuable and interesting books going back to the 15th and 16th centuries. For a peek into the collection, stop by the rare books display case on the first floor of Marquand:
- Un-cataloged collections: Marquand has a few un-cataloged collections, which for the most part are kept off-site in boxes, which may be useful to you for research purposes. This includes a collection of exhibition catalogs arranged by artist, a second collection of group exhibition catalogs arranged by name of the exhibit, and a collection of sales catalogs. Contact a librarian for more information about these collections.