Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Studio Art Library Resources: Sculpture & Ceramics

A short description of the collections, tools, and research help available to Studio Art enthusiasts.

Sculpture Books

Tips on Studying Sculpture & Ceramics

Reference Texts: (for lookup in the catalog)

  • Sculpture:
    • The Encyclopedia of Sculpture, edited by Antonia Boström. NB198 .E53 2004
    • Seemanns Lexikon der Skulptur: Bildhauer, Epochen, Themen, Techniken, by Stefan Dürre.  NB50 .D877 2007 (in German)
    • Looking at European Sculpture: A Guide to Technical Terms,  Jane Bassett and Peggy Fogelman.  NB50 .B37 1997
  • Ceramics:
    • The Potter's Dictionary of Materials and Techniques, by Frank and Janet Hamer.  TT919.5 .H35 1997
    • An Illustrated Dictionary of Ceramics, by George Savage.  NK3780.S3
    • Encyclopedia of Pottery and Porcelain: The 19th and 20th Centuries, by Elizabeth Cameron.  NK3900.C35.

Journals and E-Journals:

  • Sculpture:
    • Sculpture.  (1999-present) Includes criticism of contemporary sculpture as well as technical discussions of materials and techniques.  (Available in print at Marquand from 1990-present.--NB1 .S487)
    • The Sculpture Journal. (2008-present)  A scholarly/academic journal on post-classical sculpture and commemorative monuments.  (Available in print at Marquand--NB1 .S38.)
  • Ceramics:
    • Ceramics Technical. (1999-present) Focuses on international ceramics art, technological developments, and historical context of ceramics. 
    • Ceramics Art and Perception. (1998-present) Covers trends and history of contemporary ceramics.
    • Pottery Making Illustrated. (12002-present) Articles on all technical aspects of making pottery: throwing, hand-building, firing, etc.

These journals are specifically devoted to drawing, but there's lots of other art periodicals that have articles about drawing. Learn how to search databases.

Web Resources:

Ceramics Books