E-Books for the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory: Miscellaneous

Full access to articles, dictionary terms, and research updates in all areas of science and technology. Also includes biographies of leading scientists, updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.

23rd edition profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.

Identifies current challenges and development paths in nanotechnology that will influence fields ranging from materials and surface science, chemistry, and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering by examining the design, application, and utilization of devices, techniques, and technologies critical to research at atomic, molecular, and macromolecular levels ranging from 1 to 100 nanometers.

This huge work is simply a "must have" for any reference library frequented by scientists of any discipline or by those with historical interests in units of measurement such as archaeologists.

An A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. Includes the principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques.

Providing an up-to-date source for engineers and scientists, the Encyclopedia of Electrochemistry is unrivalled in its breadth and depth, covering everything from fundamental research to areas of application. Extensive cross-linking allows users to deepen their knowledge as much as needed.

With examples from the world of science and engineering, this reference teaches scientists how to create graphs, analyze statistics and regressions, and plot and organize scientific data. Physicists and engineers can learn the tips and techniques of Excel—and tailor them specifically to their experiments, designs, and research. They will learn when to use NORMDIST vs NORMSDist and CONFIDENCE vs Z, how to keep data-validation lists on a hidden worksheet, use pivot tables to chart frequency distribution, generate random samples with various characteristics, and much more. Ideal for students and professionals alike, this handbook will enable greater productivity and efficiency.

This handbook is designed to provide a selection of the most important and frequently used atomic spectroscopic data in an easily accessible format. The compilation includes data for the neutral and singly-ionized atoms of all elements hydrogen through einsteinium (Z = 1-99). The wavelengths, intensities, and spectrum assignments are given in a table for each element, and the data for the approximately 12,000 lines of all elements are also collected into a single table, sorted by wavelength (a "finding list").

Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been "knovelized" to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including original index. All entries in index hyperlinked to their page numbers.

The International Energy Outlook 2011 (IEO2011) presents an assessment by the U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) of the outlook for international energy markets through 2035. U.S. projections appearing in IEO2011 are consistent with those published in EIA's Annual Energy Outlook 2011 (AEO2011) in April 2011. IEO2011 is provided as a service to energy managers and analysts, both in government and in the private sector. The projections are published pursuant to the Department of Energy Organization Act of 1977 (Public Law 95-91), Section 205(c).

Online version of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia contains the full text of the most current edition of the print version of the Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology, including all the illustrations, diagrams and tables. The encyclopedia describes the theory and practice of chemical engineering and the industrial production and uses of chemical materials. Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the encyclopedia brings together and treats systematically facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed. Updated regularly, Kirk-Othmer Online stays current with developments in chemical technology and related fields. New and revised articles are posted monthly; older versions of such articles may still be accessed in an archived form. The encyclopedia is searchable by phrases, author, article title, or keywords, and can be browsed alphabetically and by subject. Abstracts for all the articles are also provided.

This classic reference covers the entire field of chemistry with state-of-the-art facts, figures, values, tables and formulas. It is an essential source for all chemistry professionals.

e NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) is intended as a source of general industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes for workers, employers, and occupational health professionals.

A guide for radio, mechanical, medical, or other engineers who are responsible for or concerned about the possible dangers of radio frequency radiation. Recently updated with 17 graphs covering radiation associated limits and frequency.

Science and Engineering Indicators (SEI) is first and foremost a volume of record comprising the major high quality quantitative data on the U.S. and international science and engineering enterprise. SEI is factual and policyneutral. It does not offer policy options and it does not make policy recommendations. SEI employs a variety of presentational styles—tables, figures, narrative text, bulleted text, web-based links, highlights, introductions, conclusions, reference lists—to make the data accessible to readers with different information needs and different information processing preferences. http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/seind10/start.htm

Presents methods for writing clearly and concisely and improving oral presentations, this compact book provides practical guidelines for preparing theses, dissertations, journal papers for publication, and proposals for research funding. Issues of authorship, peer review, plagiarism, recordkeeping, and copyright are addressed in detail, and case studies of research misconduct are presented to highlight the need for proactive attention to scientific integrity.