E-Books for the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory: Physics

Access to Princeton's online subscription to the American Institute of Physics Conference Proceedings. To read, click on proceedings title, then click on the Online Version - Table of Contents & Full Text link in the upper right corner of the description. Not all proceedings are currently available electronically.

From the preface: "The aim of the [Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics] is to provide students, researchers, academics and professionals in general, with definitions in a very clear and concise form. The presentation is such that readers will not have any difficulty finding any term being looked for. Each definition is written in detail as informative
as possible supported by suitable diagrams, equations, and formulae whenever necessary.
With more than 3000 terms, the fields covered in the DPAP are acoustics, biophysics and medical physics, communication, electricity, electronics, geometrical optics, low temperature physics, magnetism, and physical optics."

Key subject areas covered in the Digital Encyclopedia of Applied Physics include the basics, methods, and applications—as well as all the neighboring fields of physics and engineering. The encyclopedia comprehensively covers such specific topics as: optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics.

This encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation.

This book is a concise, explanatory book that focuses on the fundamental structure, concepts, and methods of quantum mechanics, filling the gap between introductory and advanced studies, between popularizations and technical treatises. Although physical understanding is emphasized, the mathematical sophistication necessary to achieve that understanding is also developed. A modern perspective is adopted throughout, the goal being to gain entry into quantum mechanics as used by practicing scientists. This perspective includes a focus on quantum states generally, not just wavefunctions, and a strong emphasis on Dirac notation. Many standard topics are developed, such as the Schrödinger equation, quantum states, operators, and matrix mechanics. Some non-standard topics are also discussed, such as the complex nature of quantum states, and various interpretations of the uncertainty relations. Discussion of applications is limited, and focuses on elucidating the structure of quantum mechanics.

The principle of least action in quantum mechanics / R.P. Feynman -- Space-time approach to non-relativistic quantum mechanics / R.P. Feynman -- The Lagrangian in quantum mechanics / P.A.M. Dirac. First paper originally presented as R.P. Feynman’s thesis (Ph. D.--Princeton University, 1942). Second paper originally published: 1948; third paper originally published: 1933. Includes bibliographical references.

Gaskinetic Theory is an introductory text on the molecular theory of gases and on modern transport theory. It is suitable for upper division undergraduates in physics and first year graduate students in aerospace engineering, upper atmospheric science and space research. The first part introduces basic concepts, including the distribution function, classical theory of specific heats, binary collisions, mean free path, and reaction rates. Transport theory is used to express coefficients such as viscosity and heat conductivity in terms of molecular properties. The second part of the book covers advanced transport theory. Generalised transport equations are derived from the Boltzmann equation. The Chapman-Enskog and the Grad methods are discussed to obtain higher order transport equations for low density gases. The aerodynamics of solid bodies is explored and the book concludes with the kinetic description of shock waves.

Now includes online structure searching. New Tables: Energy Content of Fuels, Global Warming Potential of Greenhouse Gases, Weather-Related Scales, Index of Refraction of Gases, Molecular Internal Rotation, Atomic Radii of Elements, Composition and Properties of Various Natural Oils and Fats, and more...

This title is an indispensable reference source for all those involved in the development of new magnetic materials and their applications. It provides invaluable information for academics and professionals working on the fundamental properties, preparation, characterization and applications of magnetic materials.

The handbook centers on detection techniques in the field of particle physics, medical imaging and related subjects. It is structured into three parts. The first one is dealing with basic ideas of particle detectors, followed by applications of these devices in high energy physics and other fields. In the last part the large field of medical imaging using similar detection techniques is described. The different chapters of the book are written by world experts in their field. Clear instructions on the detection techniques and principles in terms of relevant operation parameters for scientists and graduate students are given.Detailed tables and diagrams will make this a very useful handbook for the application of these techniques in many different fields like physics, medicine, biology and other areas of natural science.

Since the discovery of the lasers in 1960 and optical fibers in 1970, optics underwent deep changes which accentuated its multi-field character. This work covers essential concepts of comprehension and reports the great progress of current knowledge in optics.

Based on the modern approach of information theory, this book presents novel experimental techniques, tools, and data processing methods for physics applications. It shows readers how to plan and conduct experiments, design and certify measuring equipment, and process and interpret the experimental data. Drawing on his extensive experience in experimental research, the author discusses the theory of systems for measuring and recording data, the equipment and methods used for studying fast processes, the basic methods of experimental physics, and the methods for interpretation and data processing. Bringing together approaches that have previously been scattered in the literature, the book covers high-speed photography, Fourier optics, spectroscopy, interferometry, holography, electromagnetic waves, X-rays, and corpuscular investigation.

Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible.

What is statistical mechanics? -- Random walks with emergent properties. -- Temperature and equilibrium. -- Phase-space dynamics and ergodicity. -- Entropy. -- Free energies. -- Quantum statistical mechanics. -- Calculation and computation. -- Order parameters, broken symmetry, and topology. -- Correlations, response, and dissipation. -- Abrupt phase transitions. -- Continuous phase transitions. -- Appendix: Fourier methods

This book aims to coherently present applications of group analysis to integro-differential equations in an accessible way. The book will be useful to both physicists and mathematicians interested in general methods to investigate nonlinear problems using symmetries.

Differential and integro-differential equations, especially nonlinear, present the most effective way for describing complex processes. Therefore, methods to obtain exact solutions of differential equations play an important role in physics, applied mathematics and mechanics. This book provides an easy to follow, but comprehensive, description of the application of group analysis to integro-differential equations. The book is primarily designed to present both fundamental theoretical and algorithmic aspects of these methods. It introduces new applications and extensions of the group analysis method. The authors have designed a flexible text for postgraduate courses spanning a variety of topics.