E-Books for the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory: Plasma Physics and Fusion

Following on from the companion volume Principles of Magnetohydrodynamics, this textbook analyzes the applications of plasma physics to thermonuclear fusion and plasma astrophysics from the single viewpoint of MHD. This approach turns out to be ever more powerful when applied to streaming plasmas (the vast majority of visible matter in the Universe), toroidal plasmas (the most promising approach to fusion energy), and nonlinear dynamics (where it all comes together with modern computational techniques and extreme transonic and relativistic plasma flows). The textbook interweaves theory and explicit calculations of waves and instabilities of streaming plasmas in complex magnetic geometries. It is ideally suited to advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in plasma physics and astrophysics.

Access to Princeton's online subscription to the American Institute of Physics Conference Proceedings. To read, click on proceedings title, then click on the Online Version - Table of Contents & Full Text link in the upper right corner of the description. Not all proceedings are currently available electronically.

From the Foreword: "This book is about the practical use of laser interactions with the fourth state of matter: plasma. This is the story of the coherent interactions of photons with electrons and ions. Both the laser and the plasma have unique properties that offer a multitude of applications through their interactions."

Anomalous transport is a ubiquitous phenomenon in astrophysical, geophysical and laboratory plasmas; and is a key topic in controlled nuclear fusion research. Despite its fundamental importance and ongoing research interest, a full understanding of anomalous transport in plasmas is still incomplete, due to the complexity of the nonlinear phenomena involved.

Aspects in Anomalous Transport in Plasmas is the first book to systematically consider anomalous plasma transport theory and provides a unification of the many theoretical models by emphasizing interrelations between seemingly different methodologies. It is not intended as a catalogue of the vast number of plasma instabilities leading to anomalous transport; instead it chooses a number of these and emphasizes the aspects specifically due to turbulence.

Contents: 1. Introductory Remarks, Notations, and Units -- 2. Modeling of the Atomic Potential in Hot Plasmas -- 3. Atomic Properties in Hot Plasmas -- 4. Atomic Processes in Hot Plasmas -- 5. Population Distributions -- 6. The Emission Spectrum -- 7. Line Broadening -- 8. Experimental Considerations: Plasma Diagnostics -- 9. The Absorption Spectrum and Radiation Transport -- 10. Applications

This book is an introduction to contemporary plasma physics that discusses the most relevant recent advances in the field and covers a careful choice of applications to various branches of astrophysics and space science. The purpose of the book is to allow the student to master the basic concepts of plasma physics and to bring him or her up to date in a number of relevant areas of current research. Topics covered include orbit theory, kinetic theory, fluid models, magnetohydrodynamics, MHD turbulence, instabilities, discontinuities, and magnetic reconnection. Some prior knowledge of classical physics is required, in particular fluid mechanics, statistical physics, and electrodynamics. The mathematical developments are self-contained and explicitly detailed in the text. A number of exercises are provided at the end of each chapter, together with suggestions and solutions.

This book provides an introduction and guide to modern advances in charged particle (and antiparticle) confinement by electromagnetic fields. Confinement in different trap geometries, the influence of trap imperfections, classical and quantum mechanical description of the trapped particle motion, different methods of ion cooling to low temperatures, and non-neutral plasma properties (including Coulomb crystals) are the main subjects. They form the basis of such applications of charged particle traps as high-resolution optical and microwave spectroscopy, mass spectrometry, atomic clocks, and, potentially, quantum computing.

From the preface: "This second volume of the Charged Particle Traps deals with the rapidly expanding body of research exploiting the electromagnetic confinement of ions, whose principles and techniques were the subject of volume I. These applications include revolutionary advances in diverse fields, ranging from such practical fields as mass spectrometry, to the establishment of an ultrastable standard of frequency and the emergent field of quantum computing made possible by the observation of the quantum behavior of laser-cooled confined ions. Both experimental and theoretical activity in these applications has proliferated widely, and the number of diverse articles in the literature on its many facets has reached the point where it is useful to distill and organize the published work in a unified volume that defines the current status of the field.

Classical Methods of Statistics is a guidebook combining theory and practical methods. It is especially conceived for graduate students and scientists who are interested in the applications of statistical methods to plasma physics. Thus it provides also concise information on experimental aspects of fusion-oriented plasma physics.

From the Introduction: "In this book, we have made an attempt to provide a balanced and consistent picture of the current status of the field, by covering the latest development in the most important directions of the experimental and theoretical research, and have outlined the perspective issues to pursue in future."

From Preface: "What is computational physics? Here, we take it to mean techniques for simulating continuous physical systems on computers. Since mathematical physics expresses these systems as partial differential equations, an equivalent statement is that computational physics involves solving systems of partial differential equations on a computer."

Resulting from ongoing, international research into fusion processes, the International Tokamak Experimental Reactor (ITER) is a major step in the quest for a new energy source.The first graduate-level text to cover the details of ITER, Controlled Fusion and Plasma Physicsintroduces various aspects and issues of recent fusion research activities through the shortest access path. The distinguished author breaks down the topic by first dealing with fusion and then concentrating on the more complex subject of plasma physics. The book begins with the basics of controlled fusion research, followed by discussions on tokamaks, reversed field pinch (RFP), stellarators, and mirrors. The text then explores ideal magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) instabilities, resistive instabilities, neoclassical tearing mode, resistive wall mode, the Boltzmann equation, the Vlasov equation, and Landau damping. After covering dielectric tensors of cold and hot plasmas, the author discusses the physical mechanisms of wave heating and noninductive current drive. The book concludes with an examination of the challenging issues of plasma transport by turbulence, such as magnetic fluctuation and zonal flow. Controlled Fusion and Plasma Physicsclearly and thoroughly promotes intuitive understanding of the developments of the principal fusion programs and the relevant fundamental and advanced plasma physics associated with each program.

Reviews the state of the art in plasmaspheric science based on the modern observations provded by ESA's CLUSTER and NASA's IMAGE spacecraft. The plasmasphere, discovered at the beginning of the space age, has remained largely unexplored territory. Now, with innovative observational techniques, new light is being shed on this key region of the magnetosphere. This book sketches the emerging overall picture of a highly structured plasma, sculpted by the ever-changing electromagnetic fields that result from the interaction of the solar wind with the magnetosphere.

The science of magnetically confined plasmas covers the entire spectrum of physics from classical and relativistic electrodynamics to quantum mechanics. During the last sixty years of research, our initial primitive understanding of plasma physics has made impressive progress thanks to a variety of experiments — from tabletop devices with plasma temperatures of a few thousands of degrees and confinement times of less than 100 microseconds, to large tokamaks with plasma temperatures of up to five hundred million degrees and confinement times approaching one second. We discovered that plasma confinement is impaired by a variety of instabilities leading to turbulent processes with scales ranging from the plasma size to a few millimeters. Understanding these phenomena, which have slowed down progress towards a fusion reactor, requires the use of very sophisticated diagnostic tools, many of which employ electromagnetic waves.

From Preface: "Complex Plasmas is in its infance at present. First, we need to explain the term “complex plasma” used in the title. It was recognized by astrophysicists many years ago that (1) in many regions of space numerous solid micro-particles called “dust” are present, and they are embedded in space plasmas and range in sizes from sub-nanometer to several hundred micrometer scales; (2) chemical processes on the grain surfaces play an important role in space; (3) the dust particles acquire rather large charges; (4) the infrared emission from space is related to the presence of dust; and (5) the dust determines many properties of interstellar media, star and planet formation regions, properties of planetary rings, cometary tails, etc. This kind of plasma is often called “dusty plasma.”

From the Foreword: "The aim of the second edition is to bring The Fourth State of Matter up to date in the light of progress. Sometimes progress is almost insignificant in ten years and sometimes, as in the field of plasmas, it is immense. The second edition includes a multitude of new discoveries and applications. A new chapter on 'plasma in industry' is added and all other chapters are updated and enlarged. A history of plasma is described throughout the book and summarized in a separate chapter. A bibliography has also been added. This edition contains almost all aspects of plasma science, plasma in space, industrial and energy applications.
The second edition is a nonmathematical book that can be read with negligible previous knowledge of physics. It is not necessary to 'speak physics' to understand and enjoy it."

From the Preface: "This book is intended to describe a systematic overview of the latest physical principles of fusion and plasma confinement."

This publication is a comprehensive reference book for graduate students and an invaluable guide for more experienced researchers. It provides an introduction to nuclear fusion and its status and prospects, and features specialized chapters written by leaders in the field, presenting the main research and development concepts in fusion physics. It starts with an introduction to the case for the development of fusion as an energy source. Magnetic and inertial confinement are addressed. Dedicated chapters focus on the physics of confinement, the equilibrium and stability of tokamaks, diagnostics, heating and current drive by neutral beam and radiofrequency waves, and plasma–wall interactions. While the tokamak is a leading concept for the realization of fusion, other concepts (helical confinement and, in a broader sense, other magnetic and inertial configurations) are also addressed in the book. At over 1100 pages, this publication provides an unparalleled resource for fusion physicists and engineers

  This outstanding textbook as it is not restricted to a solid introduction, but spans the subject from the classical textbook knowledge to more recent developments.    With the investment of the international community in major new projects such as ITER, the area of fusion and plasma physics is at a rapidly changing state in its development. The interest in nuclear fusion is rising, and references in nuclear fusion and plasma physics are critically needed. This book is a very comprehensive introduction to fusion plasma physics and covers not only the basic theory and historical applications, but also topics relevant to controlled fusion, a potential exploiting future energy resource. The new edition updates the original book by adding information on alternate concepts. It introduces basic theory of plasmas and relates it to contemporary applications to controlled nuclear fusion. It is a unique contribution to the genre, in that it discusses the practical achievement of controlled fusion. Written by an author with more than 35 years experience in both research and teaching, this handy reference is suitable for graduate students, post-graduates and also more experienced researchers in the field who wish to learn more about areas of plasma physics and controlled fusion outside their speciality.

From the publisher: "Fusion: The Energy of the Universe, 2e is an essential reference providing basic principles of fusion energy from its history to the issues and realities progressing from the present day energy crisis. The book provides detailed developments and applications for researchers entering the field of fusion energy research. This second edition includes the latest results from the National Ignition Facility at the Lawrence Radiation Laboratory at Livermore, CA, and the progress on the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) tokamak programme at Caderache, France."

From the Preface:
"This book has two goals. One goal is to provide a means for those new to high-energy-density physics to gain a broad foundation from one text. The second goal is to provide a useful working reference for those in the field.

Comprehensive, self-contained, and clearly written, this successor to Ideal Magnetohydrodynamics (1987) describes the macroscopic equilibrium and stability of high temperature plasmas - the basic fuel for the development of fusion power. Now fully updated, this book discusses the underlying physical assumptions for three basic MHD models: ideal, kinetic, and double-adiabatic MHD. Included are detailed analyses of MHD equilibrium and stability, with a particular focus on three key configurations at the cutting-edge of fusion research: the tokamak, stellarator, and reversed field pinch. Other new topics include continuum damping, MHD stability comparison theorems, neoclassical transport in stellarators, and how quasi-omnigeneity, quasi-symmetry, and quasi-isodynamic constraints impact the design of optimized stellarators. Including full derivations of almost every important result, in-depth physical explanations throughout, and a large number of problem sets to help master the material, this is an exceptional resource for graduate students and researchers in plasma and fusion physics.

Both global warming and oil shortage can be solved by controlled fusion, a clean power source that will serve mankind for millennia. The idea of hydrogen fusion as well as its difficulties are presented in non-technical language to dispel the notion that fusion is always 50 years away. This book also summarizes the evidence for climate change and explains the principles of both fossil and "green" energy sources to show that fusion is the best alternative for central-station power in the near term as well as the far future.

From Preface: "This two-volume work is intended to provide a description of plasmarelated devices and processes which are used industrially. The text assumes that the average student or in-service engineer using it has not recently taken a course in plasma physics, and possesses a background in physics and calculus that ended at the sophomore level. This book is intended to be used as a textbook at the senior or first-year graduate level by students from all engineering and physical science disciplines, and as a reference source by in-service engineers."

This book is an introductory account of instabilities in plasma. It concentrates on laboratory plasmas, such as those encountered in fusion research, and the space plasmas studied in physics of the magnetosphere and solar atmosphere. This account bridges the gap between a graduate textbook on plasma physics and specialist monographs. An important feature is the stress placed on the similarities between astrophysical and laboratory plasmas, which are traditionally regarded as quite separate. The natural way in which the author unifies the treatment gives a wider perspective to the subject. Professor Melrose is an expert in plasma astrophysics, and has already written a two-volume book on that topic.

From Preface: "This book covers the physics of high-power laser interaction with plasmas,
a subject related to both fundamental physics and the applied sciences. The plasma medium varies from low densities (dilute gases) to very high densities (highly-compressed solid state). The relevant temperatures can change over many orders of magnitude, and electric and magnetic fields can reach enormously high values."

Complex plasmas differ from traditional plasmas in many ways: these are low-temperature high pressure systems containing nanometer to micrometer size particles which may be highly charged and strongly interacting. The particles may be chemically reacting or be in contact with solid surfaces, and the electrons may show quantum behaviour. These interesting properties have led to many applications of complex plasmas in technology, medicine and science.
Yet complex plasmas are extremely complicated, both experimentally and theoretically, and require a variety of new approaches which go beyond standard plasma physics courses. This book fills this gap presenting an introduction to theory, experiment and computer simulation in this field. Based on tutorial lectures at a very successful recent Summer Institute, the presentation is ideally suited for graduate students, plasma physicists and experienced undergraduates.

From Preface: "This book presents an up-to-date account of collective processes in dusty plasmas. This is a new frontier in applied physics and modern technology..."

Newcomers to the field of inertial confinement fusion (ICF) often have difficulty establishing a clear picture of the overall field. The reason for this is because, while there are many books devoted to special topics within the field, there is none that provides an overview of the field as a whole. An Introduction to Inertial Confinement Fusion fills this gap with an overview of the processes involved in ICF presented at an accessible level. After a broad overview, the book follows the processes from the driver technology to burn physics in chronological order. As each topic appears, the author details the physical concepts and obstacles. The book concludes with a look to the future prospects of the field.

As the twenty-first century progresses, plasma technology will play an increasing role in our lives, providing new sources of energy, ion–plasma processing of materials, wave electromagnetic radiation sources, space plasma thrusters, and more. Studies of the plasma state of matter not only accelerate technological developments but also improve the understanding of natural phenomena. Beginning with an introduction to the characteristics and types of plasmas, Introduction to Plasma Dynamicscovers the basic models of classical diffuse plasmas used to describe such phenomena as linear and shock waves, stationary flows, elements of plasma chemistry, and principles of plasma lasers. The author presents specific examples to demonstrate how to use the models and to familiarize readers with modern plasma technologies. The book describes structures of magnetic fields—one- and zero-dimensional plasma models. It considers single-, two-, and multi-component simulation models, kinetics and ionization processes, radiation transport, and plasma interaction with solid surfaces. The text also examines self-organization and general problems associated with instabilities in plasma systems. In addition, it discusses cosmic plasma dynamic systems, such as Earth’s magnetosphere, spiral nebulas, and plasma associated with the Sun. This text provides wide-range coverage of issues related to plasma dynamics, with a final chapter addressing advanced plasma technologies, including plasma generators, plasma in the home, space propulsion engines, and controlled thermonuclear fusion. It demonstrates how to approach the analysis of complex plasma systems, taking into account the diversity of plasma environments. Presenting a well-rounded introduction to plasma dynamics, the book takes into consideration the models of plasma phenomena and their relationships to one another as well as their applications.

From the Preface: "This book is based on a one-semester course offered at Princeton University
to advanced undergraduates majoring in physics, astrophysics or engineering physics. If the more advanced material, identified by an asterisk after the Chapter heading or Section heading, is included then the book would also be suitable as an introductory text for graduate students entering the field of plasma physics."

From Preface: "This book is based on lectures given at the Ruhr-University of Bochum for graduate and postgraduates students starting their studies on plasma physics, but it is as well directed at established researchers who are newcomers to spectroscopy and need quick access to the diagnostics of plasmas ranging from low to high density technical systems at low temperatures as well from low to high density hot plasmas. Basic ideas and fundamental concepts are briefly introduced as is typical instrumentation from the X-ray to the infrared spectral regions. Examples, techniques, and methods illustrate the possibilities."

From the Preface: "This textbook has been prepared to provide an overview of modern atomic physics with highly charged ions. It aims to serve as an introductory course on the subject for graduate and postgraduate students, as well as specialists in the field who will be able to find a reasonable mixture of fundamentals and practical applications for their research."

This combination of text and reference book describes the physical, plasma and chemical processes controlling the behavior of ionospheres, upper atmospheres and exospheres. It summarises the structure, chemistry, dynamics and energetics of the terrestrial ionosphere and other solar system bodies, and discusses the processes, mechanisms and transport equations for solving fundamental research problems. This second edition incorporates new results, model developments and interpretations from the last 10 years. It includes the latest material on neutral atmospheres; the terrestrial ionosphere at low, middle and high latitudes; and planetary atmospheres and ionospheres, where results from recent space missions have yielded fresh data. Appendices outline physical constants, mathematical formulas, transport coefficients, and other important parameters for ionospheric calculations. This is an essential resource for researchers studying ionospheres, upper atmospheres, aeronomy and plasma physics. It is also an ideal textbook for graduate-level courses, with supplementary problem sets, and solutions for instructors at www.cambridge.org/9780521877060.

This book results from recent studies aimed at answering questions raised by astrophycists who use values of transport coefficients that are old and often unsatisfactory. The few books dealing with the rigorous kinetic theory of a ionized plasma are based on the so called Landau (Fokker-Planck) equation and they seldom relate the microscopic results with their macroscopic counterpart provided by classical non-equilibrium thermodynamics. In this book both issues are thoroughly covered.

From the Foreword: "This book is structured in the following way. Part I: Fundamentals covers the basic areas of gases and plasmas, and the laser and detection hardware that is needed to measure them. Part II: Applications and Measurements contains descriptions of specific experiments in each of the research fields mentioned above."

Exploring the most exciting and topical areas in this field, Laser-Plasma Interactions focuses on the interaction of intense laser radiation with plasma. After discussing the basic theory of the interaction of intense electromagnetic radiation fields with matter, the book covers three applications of intense fields in plasma: inertial fusion, wakefield accelerators, and advanced radiation sources.

In Lightning Physics and Lightning Protection the authors provide a comprehensive and up-to-date review of lightning, including its hazards and protection techniques.

This book provides a comprehensive overview of low temperature plasma generation, experimental methods, diagnostics, and novel applications. The first section describes basic principles of low temperature plasma physics. The second section discusses simulations of low temperature plasmas, the two main streams to generate atmospheric pressure non-equilibrium plasmas (microdischarge and nanosecond pulse discharge) and plasma diagnostics methods. The last section deals with the broad range of applications, from synthesis of nanomaterials and environmental applications to treatment of biomaterials and plasma medicine.

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory of magnetic field line reconnection, now a major subject in plasma physics. The book focuses on the various reconnection mechanisms dominating magnetic processes under the different plasma conditions encountered in astrophysical systems and in laboratory fusion devices. The book consists of two major parts: the first deals with the classical resistive approach, while the second presents an overview of weakly collisional or collisionless plasmas. Applications primarily concern astrophysical phenomena and dynamo theory, with emphasis on the solar and geodynamo, as well as magnetospheric substorms, the most spectacular reconnection events in the magnetospheric plasma. The theoretical procedures and results also apply directly to reconnection processes in laboratory plasmas, in particular the sawtooth phenomenon in tokamaks. The book will be of value to graduate students and researchers interested in magnetic processes both in astrophysical and laboratory plasma physics.

This book presents an introduction to, and modern account of, magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) turbulence, an active field both in general turbulence theory and in various areas of astrophysics. The book starts by introducing the MHD equations, certain useful approximations and the transition to turbulence. The second part of the book covers incompressible MHD turbulence, the macroscopic aspects connected with the different self-organization processes, the phenomenology of the turbulence spectra, two-point closure theory, and intermittency. The third considers two-dimensional turbulence and compressible (in particular, supersonic) turbulence. Because of the similarities in the theoretical approach, these chapters start with a brief account of the corresponding methods developed in hydrodynamic turbulence. The final part of the book is devoted to astrophysical applications: turbulence in the solar wind, in accretion disks, and in the interstellar medium. This book is suitable for graduate students and researchers working in turbulence theory, plasma physics and astrophysics.

From Preface: "The intention is to provide the theoretician and experimentalist with a coherent account of the important theoretical ideas that underpin current understanding of ultra-low-frequency wave phenomena in solar-terrestrial physics and that may be used to address future problems."

From Preface: "Etymologically, ‘plasma’ means ‘shapeless’ but plasma physics has many aspects. This book aims at providing both students and experts with a description of one of these aspects, the resonant wave–particle interaction."

Microwave induced plasma has evolved considerably over the last two decades as an excitation source for optical emission spectrometric and as an ionization source for mass spectrometric techniques. These efforts have led to a better understanding of the basic science of the MIP-based techniques and have stimulated the need for the publication of comprehensive reference books on the theory and practices of the field, providing analytical spectroscopists with an integrated guide on how to apply these new techniques in the most effective manner. This book is the most comprehensive recent publication on MIPs, consisting of 13 chapters, primarily involving the fundamentals, the instrumentation, and the methodologies of MIP-OES

This three-volume series presents the ideas, models and approaches essential to understanding plasma dynamics and self-organization for researchers and graduate students in plasma physics, controlled fusion and related fields such as plasma astrophysics. Volume I develops the physical kinetics of plasma turbulence through a focus on quasi-particle models and dynamics. It discusses the essential physics concepts and theoretical methods for describing weak and strong fluid and phase space turbulence in plasma systems far from equilibrium. The book connects the traditionally ‘plasma’ topic of weak or wave turbulence theory to more familiar fluid turbulence theory, and extends both to the realm of collisionless phase space turbulence. This gives readers a deeper understanding of these related fields, and builds a foundation for future applications to multi-scale processes of self-organization in tokamaks and other confined plasmas. This book emphasizes the conceptual foundations and physical intuition underpinnings of plasma turbulence theory.

This book presents studies of complexity in the context of nonequilibrium phenomena using theory, modeling, simulations, and experiments, both in the laboratory and in nature.

A self-contained introduction to magnetohydrodynamics (MHD), with emphasis on nonlinear processes. Chapters 2 to 4 outline the conventional aspects of MHD theory, magnetostatic equilibrium and linear stability theory, which form a natural basis for the topics in the subsequent chapters. The main part, chapters 5 to 7, presents nonlinear theory, starting with the evolutions and saturations of individual ideas and resistive instabilities, continuing with a detailed analysis of magnetic reconnection, and concluding with the most complex nonlinear behaviour, that of MHD turbulence. The last chapters describe three important applications of the theory: disruptive processes in tokamaks, MHD effects in reversed-field pinches, and solar flares. In the presentation the focus is more on physical mechanisms than on special formalisms. The book is essential reading for researchers and graduate students interested in MHD processes both in laboratory and in astrophysical plasmas.

Springer series on atomic, optical, and plasma physics, 62

The NRL Plasma Formulary has been the mini-Bible of plasma physicists for the past 25 years. It is an eclectic compilation of mathematical and scientific formulas, and contains physical parameters pertinent to a variety of plasma regimes, ranging from laboratory devices to astrophysical objects.

It became clear in the early days of fusion research that the effects of the containment vessel (erosion of "impurities") degrade the overall fusion plasma performance. Progress in controlled nuclear fusion research over the last decade has led to magnetically confined plasmas that, in turn, are sufficiently powerful to damage the vessel structures over its lifetime. This book reviews current understanding and concepts to deal with this remaining critical design issue for fusion reactors. It reviews both progress and open questions, largely in terms of available and sought-after plasma-surface interaction data and atomic/molecular data related to these "plasma edge" issues.

From the Preface: "In this book, we attempt to sketch the different paths followed by fusion research from initial ignorance to present understanding, be it the understanding of why a particular scheme would not work, or why it was more profitable to concentrate, at least for the time being, on the mainstream— tokamak development. The authors have been actively involved in these events from 1957 to 1987 (CMB) and from 1962 to the present time (PES). We do not regard ourselves as historians, but we hope that our account will help future historians as well as scientists in other fields to find their way through this difficult terrain."

From Preface: "The physics of complex plasma systems containing a colloid "macroscopic" particle component ("dust") is a rapidly emerging area at the forefront of the physics and chemistry of plasmas and gas discharges, space physics and astrophysics, and materials science and engineering."

The present book provides a contemporary systematic treatment of shock waves in high-temperature collisionless plasmas as are encountered in near Earth space and in Astrophysics. It consists of two parts. Part I develops the complete theory of shocks in dilute hot plasmas under the assumption of absence of collisions among the charged particles  when the interaction is mediated solely by the self-consistent electromagnetic fields. Such shocks are naturally magnetised implying that the magnetic field plays an important role in their evolution and dynamics. This part treats subcritical shocks which dissipate flow energy by generating anomalous resistance or viscosity. The main emphasis is, however, on super-critical shocks where the anomalous dissipation is insufficient to retard the upstream flow. These shocks, depending on the direction of the upstream magnetic field, are distinguished as quasi-perpendicular and quasi-parallel shocks which exhibit different behaviours, reflecting particles back upstream and generating high electromagnetic wave intensities. Particle acceleration and turbulence at such shocks become possible and important. Part II treats planetary bow shocks and the famous Heliospheric Termination shock as examples of two applications of the theory developed in part I.

Abstract: The book is devoted to targets for nuclear fusion by inertial confinement and to the various branches of physics involved. It first discusses fusion reactions and general requirements for fusion energy production. It then introduces and illustrates the concept of inertial confinement fusion by spherical implosion, followed by detailed treatments of the physics of fusion ignition and burn, and of energy gain. The next part of the book is mostly devoted to the underlying physics involved in inertial fusion, and covers hydrodynamics, hydrodynamic stability, radiative transport and equations-of-state of hot dense matter, laser and ion beam interaction with plasma. It discusses different approaches to inertial fusion (direct-drive by laser, indirect-drive by laser or ion beams), including recent developments in fast ignition. The goal of the book is to give an introduction to this subject, and also to provide practical results even when derived on the basis of simplified models.

The Physics of Plasmas provides a comprehensive introduction to the subject, illustrating the basic theory with examples drawn from fusion, space and astrophysical plasmas. A particular strength of the book is its discussion of the various models used to describe plasma physics and the relationships between them. These include particle orbit theory, fluid equations, ideal and resistive magnetohydrodynamics, wave equations and kinetic theory. The reader will gain a firm grounding in the fundamentals, and develop this into an understanding of some of the more specialised topics. Throughout the text, there is an emphasis on the physical interpretation of plasma phenomena. Exercises are provided throughout. Advanced undergraduate and graduate students of physics, applied mathematics, astronomy and engineering will find a clear but rigorous explanation of the fundamental properties of plasmas with minimal mathematical formality. This book will also appeal to research physicists, nuclear and electrical engineers.

Low-temperature radio frequency plasmas are essential in various sectors of advanced technology, from micro-engineering to spacecraft propulsion systems and efficient sources of light. The subject lies at the complex interfaces between physics, chemistry and engineering. Focusing mostly on physics, this book will interest graduate students and researchers in applied physics and electrical engineering. The book incorporates a cutting-edge perspective on RF plasmas. It also covers basic plasma physics including transport in bounded plasmas and electrical diagnostics. Its pedagogic style engages readers, helping them to develop physical arguments and mathematical analyses. Worked examples apply the theories covered to realistic scenarios, and over 100 in-text questions let readers put their newly acquired knowledge to use and gain confidence in applying physics to real laboratory situations.

Physics of Solar System Plasmas provides a comprehensive introduction to the plasma physics and magnetohydrodynamics that are needed to study the solar wind and magnetosphere. The text includes a broad introduction to plasma physics, including important discussions of kinetic theory, single particle motion, magnetohydrodynamics, geomagnetically trapped energetic particles and the physics of magnetic reconnection. This leads into a thorough description of the Sun and the solar wind, and, finally, the author addresses magnetospheric physics. Among the topics covered here are magnetospheric morphology, bow shocks, magnetospheric convection and electrical currents, substorms, ionospheric physics, magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling, auroral physics and the interaction of the solar wind with the planets. Problem sets at the end of each chapter make this a useful text for advanced undergraduate students in astrophysics, geophysics, or atmospheric sciences. Graduate students and researchers will also find it a valuable source of information.

Space plasma is so hot that the atoms break up into charged particles which then become trapped and stored in magnetic fields. When critical conditions are reached the magnetic field breaks up, releasing a large amount of energy and causing dramatic phenomena. The largest space plasma activity events observed in the solar system occur on the Sun, when coronal mass ejections expel several billion tons of plasma mass into space. This book provides a coherent and detailed treatment of the physical background of large plasma eruptions in space. It provides the background necessary for dealing with space plasma activity, and allows the reader to reach a deeper understanding of this fascinating natural event. The book employs both fluid and kinetic models, and discusses the applications to magnetospheric and solar activity. This will form an interesting reference for graduate students and academic researchers in the fields of astrophysics and plasma physics.

Abstract: This book concerns the physics of plasma at high density, which is compressed so strongly that the effects of interparticle interactions, nonideality, govern its behavior. The interest in this non-traditional plasma has emerged during the last few years when states of matter with high concentration of energy, constituting the basis of the modern technologies and facilities, became accessible for impulse experiments. The greatest part of the Universe matter is in this exotic state. In this book, the methods of strongly coupled plasma generation and diagnostics are considered. The experimental results on thermodynamic, kinetic, and optical properties are given, and the main theoretical models of the strongly coupled plasma state are discussed. Particular attention is given to fast developing modern directions of strongly coupled plasma physics, such as metallization of dielectrics and dielectrization of metals, nonneutral plasma, complex (dusty) plasma, and its crystallization.

Today many scientists recognize plasma as the key element to understanding new observations in near-Earth, interplanetary, interstellar, and intergalactic space; in stars, galaxies, and clusters of galaxies, and throughout the observable universe. Physics of the Plasma Universe, 2nd Edition is an update of observations made across the entire cosmic electromagnetic spectrum over the two decades since the publication of the first edition. It addresses paradigm changing discoveries made by telescopes, planetary probes, satellites, and radio and space telescopes. The contents are the result of the author's 37 years research at Livermore and Los Alamos National Laboratories, and the U.S. Department of Energy. This book covers topics such as the large-scale structure and the filamentary universe; the formation of magnetic fields and galaxies, active galactic nuclei and quasars, the origin and abundance of light elements, star formation and the evolution of solar systems, and cosmic rays. Chapters 8 and 9 are based on the research of Professor Gerrit Verschuur, and reinvestigation of the manifestation of interstellar neutral hydrogen filaments from radio astronomical observations are given. Using data from the Green Bank 100-m telescope (GBT) of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO), detailed information is presented for a non-cosmological origin for the cosmic microwave background quadruple moment. This volume is aimed at graduate students and researchers active in the areas of cosmic plasmas and space science. The supercomputer and experimental work was carried out within university, National laboratory, Department of Energy, and supporting NASA facilities.

This monograph is founded on the belief that the cooperation of theory and modelling with direct numerical simulation and experimental observations is indispensable for forming a firm understanding of the evolution of nature, in this case the theory and modelling of plasma and fluid turbulence. For researchers and graduate students in plasma physics.

This well-illustrated monograph is devoted to classic fundamentals, current practice, and perspectives of modern plasma astrophysics. The first part of the book is unique in covering all the basic principles and practical tools required for understanding and work in plasma astrophysics. The second part represents the physics of magnetic reconnection and flares of electromagnetic origin in space plasmas in the solar system, single and double stars, relativistic objects, accretion disks, their coronae.

From Preface: "This book is based on a series of lectures ‘Elements of edge physics’ given at JET in 1993, MIT in 1995 and the University of Toronto in 1998. The lectures were intended as an introduction to the basic ideas about the boundary or scrape-off layer, SOL, of magnetic fusion device —particularly of tokamaks—for people with a plasma physics education. Concepts about the SOL have largely been developed during the 1980s and 1990s and, as yet, little of this has found its way into plasma texts. The first part of this book was written with the intention of filling this gap."

From Preface: "This book is based on a series of lectures presented at Keio University as part of its graduate program... We believe that the book is well suited as an instrument for self-instruction through its topical exercises and problems arranged in each chapter."

Plasma-Material Interaction in Controlled Fusion deals with the specific contact between the fourth state of matter, i.e. plasma, and the first state of matter, i.e. a solid wall, in controlled fusion experiments. A comprehensive analysis of the main processes of plasma-surface interaction is given together with an assessment of the most critical questions within the context of general criteria and operation limits. It is shown that the choice of plasma-facing materials can be reduced to a very limited list of possible candidates.

The introduction of low temperature plasma technology to medical research and to the healthcare arena in general is set to revolutionise the way we cure diseases. This innovative medium offers a valid and advantageous replacement of traditional chemical-based medications. Its application in the inactivation of pathogens in particular, avoids the recurrent problem of drug resistant microorganisms. This is the first book dedicated exclusively to the emerging interdisciplinary field of plasma medicine. The opening chapters discuss plasmas and plasma chemistry, the fundamentals of non-equilibrium plasmas and cell biology. The rest of the book is dedicated to current applications, illustrating a plasma-based approach to wound healing, electrosurgery, cancer treatment and even dentistry. The text provides a clear and integrated introduction to plasma technology and has been devised to answer the needs of researchers from different communities. It will appeal to graduate students and physicists, engineers, biologists, medical doctors and biochemists.

The primary objectives of this book are, firstly, to present the essential theoretical background needed to understand recent fusion research and, secondly, to describe the current status of fusion research for graduate students and senior undergraduates. It will also serve as a useful reference for scientists and engineers working in the related fields.

From Preface: "Plasma Physics and Fusion Energy is a textbook about plasma physics, although it is plasma physics with a mission - magnetic fusion energy. The goal is to provide a broad, yet rigorous, overview of the plasma physics necessary to achieve the half century dream of fusion energy.

This report originated in 1999 as a result of discussions between the Committee on Solar and Space Physics (CSSP) and officials within NASA’s Office of Space Science Sun-Earth Connections program. As noted in the statement of task (Appendix A), the objective of the study was to provide a scientific assessment and strategy for the study of magnetized plasmas in the solar system. By emphasizing the connections between locally occurring (solar system) structures and processes and their astrophysical counterparts, the study would contribute to a unified view of cosmic plasma behavior. An additional objective was to relate basic scientific studies of plasmas to studies of the Sun’s influence on Earth’s space environment.

Plasma Physics gives a comprehensive introduction to the basic processes in plasmas and demonstrates that the same fundamental concepts describe cold gas-discharge plasmas, space plasmas, and hot fusion plasmas. Starting from particle drifts in magnetic fields, the principles of magnetic confinement fusion are explained and compared with laser fusion. Collective processes are discussed in terms of plasma waves and instabilities. The concepts of plasma description by magnetohydrodynamics, kinetic theory, and particle simulation are stepwise introduced.

Beginning with a broad introduction, the book leads graduate students and researchers – also those from related fields - to an understanding of the state-of-the-art in modern plasma physics. Furthermore, it presents a methodological cross section ranging from plasma applications and plasma diagnostics to numerical simulations, the latter providing an increasingly important link between theory and experiment. Effective references guide the reader from introductory texts through to contemporary research.

As part of its current physics decadal survey, Physics 2010, the NRC was asked by the DOE, NSF, and NASA to carry out an assessment of and outlook for the broad field of plasma science and engineering over the next several years. The study was to focus on progress in plasma research, identify the most compelling new scientific opportunities, evaluate prospects for broader application of plasmas, and offer guidance to realize these opportunities. The report provides an examination of the broad themes that frame plasma research: low-temperature plasma science and engineering; plasma physics at high energy density; plasma science of magnetic fusion; space and astrophysical science; and basic plasma science. Within those themes, the report offers a bold vision for future developments in plasma science.

Abstract: This book presents a theoretical framework of plasma spectroscopy, in which the observed spectral line intensities or the populations of excited levels of atoms or ions immersed in plasma are interpreted in terms of the characteristics of the plasma. Following a review of important atomic processes in plasma, the rate equation governing the populations in excited levels and the ground state is solved in the collisional-radiative model. In this model, plasmas are classified into the ionizing plasma and the recombining plasma. Various features of these plasmas are examined. Ionization and recombination of atoms and ions are also treated in the model. An emission-line intensity is proportional to the ionization flux or to the recombination flux, and thus the ionization-balance plasma produces less intense emission lines. The recombination continuum intensity continues smoothly to the series lines, originating from levels in local thermodynamic equilibrium, so that the Boltzmann plot of the population of these levels is extended to the continuum-state electrons. Line broadening mechanisms are discussed, including the Stark broadening. Radiation transport gives rise to a modification to the emission line profile and to an effective decrease in the transition probability; the latter problem is treated in two alternative approaches. Phenomena characteristic of dense plasma are discussed, including the excitation and deexcitation processes of ions involving doubly excited levels and a modification to the Saha relationship.

Extended and revised,Plasma Waves, 2nd Editionprovides essential information on basic formulas and categorizes the various  possible types of waves and their interactions. The book includes modern and complete treatments of electron cyclotron emission, collisions, relativistic effects, Landau damping, quasilinear and nonlinear wave theory, and tunneling equations. The broad scope encompasses waves in cold, warm, and hot plasmas and relativistic plasma waves. Special chapters deal with the effects of boundaries, inhomogeneities, and nonlinear effects. The author derives all formulae and describes several fundamental wave experiments, allowing for a greater appreciation of the subject.

Nuclear fusion research is entering a new phase, in which power exhaust will play a vital role. This book presents a complete and up-to-date summary of this emerging field of research in fusion plasmas, focusing on the leading tokamak concept. Emphasis is placed on rigorous theoretical development, supplemented by numerical simulations, which are used to explain and quantify a range of experimental observations. The text offers a self-contained introduction to power exhaust, and deals in detail with both edge plasma turbulence and edge localized modes, providing the necessary background to understand these important, yet complicated phenomena. Combining an in-depth overview with an instructive development of concepts, this is an invaluable resource for academic researchers and graduate students in plasma physics.

This textbook provides a modern and accessible introduction to magnetohydrodynamics (MHD). It describes the two main applications of plasma physics, laboratory research on thermo-nuclear fusion energy and plasma astrophysics of the solar system, stars and accretion disks, from the single viewpoint of MHD. This approach provides effective methods and insights for the interpretation of plasma phenomena on virtually all scales, from the laboratory to the universe. It equips the reader with the necessary tools to understand the complexities of plasma dynamics in extended magnetic structures. The classical MHD model is developed in detail without omitting steps in the derivations and problems are included at the end of each chapter. This text is ideal for senior-level undergraduate and graduate courses in plasma physics and astrophysics.

This book provides a systematic introduction to the physics behind measurements on plasmas. It develops from first principles the concepts needed to plan, execute, and interpret plasma diagnostics. The book is therefore accessible to graduate students and professionals with little specific plasma physics background, but is also a valuable reference for seasoned plasma physicists. Most of the examples are taken from laboratory plasma research, but the focus on principles makes the treatment useful to all experimental and theoretical plasma physicists, including those interested in space and astrophysical applications. This second edition is thoroughly revised and updated, with new sections and chapters covering recent developments in the field. Specific areas of added coverage include neutral-beam-based diagnostics, flow measurement with mach probes, equilibrium of strongly shaped plasmas and fusion product diagnostics.

A Thorough Update of the Industry Classic on Principles of Plasma Processing. The Second Edition has been carefully updated and revised to reflect recent developments in the field and to further clarify the presentation of basic principles. Along with in-depth coverage of the fundamentals of plasma physics and chemistry, the authors apply basic theory to plasma discharges, including calculations of plasma parameters and the scaling of plasma parameters with control parameters.

This monograph presents a comprehensive description of the theoretical foundations and experimental applications of spectroscopic methods in plasma physics research. The first three chapters introduce the classical and quantum theory of radiation, with detailed descriptions of line strengths and high density effects. The next chapter describes theoretical and experimental aspects of spectral line broadening. The following five chapters are concerned with continuous spectra, level kinetics and cross sections, thermodynamic equilibrium relations, radiative energy transfer, and radiative energy losses. The book concludes with three chapters covering the basics of various applications of plasma spectroscopy to density and temperature measurements and to the determination of some other plasma properties. Over one thousand references not only guide the reader to original research covered in the chapters, but also to experimental details and instrumentation. This will be an important text and reference for all those working on plasmas in physics, optics, nuclear engineering, and chemistry, as well as astronomy, astrophysics and space physics.

The physics of hot plasmas is of great importance for describing many phenomena in the Universe and is fundamental for the prospect of future fusion energy production on Earth. Non-trivial results of nonlinear electromagnetic effects in plasmas include the self-organization an self-formation in the plasma of structures compact in time and space. These are the consequences of competing processes of nonlinear interactions and can be best described using reaction-diffusion equations. This book is focused on paradigmatic problems of reaction-diffusion type, met in many branches of science and concerning in particular the nonlinear interaction of electromagnetic fields with plasmas.

This document provides guidance for the implementation of the requirements identified in DOE-STD-6002-96, Safety of Magnetic Fusion Facilities: Requirements. This guidance is intended for the managers, designers, operators, and other personnel with safety responsibilities for facilities designated as magnetic fusion facilities. While the requirements in DOE-STD-6002-96 are generally applicable to a wide range of fusion facilities, this Standard, DOE-STD-6003-96, is concerned mainly with the implementation of those requirements in large facilities such as the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER). Using a risk-based prioritization, the concepts presented here may also be applied to other magnetic fusion facilities. This Standard is oriented toward regulation in the Department of Energy (DOE) environment as opposed to regulation by other regulatory agencies. As the need for guidance involving other types of fusion facilities or other regulatory environments emerges, additional guidance volumes should be prepared. The concepts, processes, and recommendations set forth here are for guidance only. They will contribute to safety at magnetic fusion facilities.

This Standard identifies safety requirements for magnetic fusion facilities. Safety functions are used to define outcomes that must be achieved to ensure that exposures to radiation, hazardous materials, or other hazards are maintained within acceptable limits. Requirements applicable to magnetic fusion facilities have been derived from Federal law, policy, and other documents. In addition to specific safety requirements, broad direction is given in the form of safety principles that are to be implemented and within which safety can be achieved.

A group of acknowledged experts describe the use of spectroscopy as a diagnostic probe of astronomical environments. The broad sweep of the book enables good coverage to be given to all the situations in which plasmas are encounteres in astronomical investigations. Specifically, the articles include quasars, Seyfert galaxies, active galactic nuclei, the solar chromosphere and corona, galactic HII regions, circumstellar shells, interstellar gas, supernova remnants and interstellar clouds. The book includes an account of the basic aspects of spectroscopy in a chapter on laboratory astrophysics. The book was stimulated by the extraordinary contributions to astronomical spectroscopy of Leo Goldberg, and is dedicated to him. Throughout, this book is written with the needs of students in astronomy and astrophysics in mind. Each chapter includes a summary or conclusions about the future direction of research. Furthermore there are extensive bibliographies. This textbook is therefore an excellent introduction to research in astrophysics and it will act as a pathfinder to the primary literature.

The ionized material that constitutes plasma permeates almost all of the universe beyond the planets and their atmospheres and satellites. This book describes the linear theory of many different waves and instabilities that may propagate in a collisionless plasma. Electrostatic and electromagnetic fluctuations, and a variety of instability sources are considered. Applications of the theory are discussed with respect to spacecraft observations in the solar wind, terrestrial magnetosheath, magnetosphere and magnetotail and at the bow shock and magnetopause. Tables at the end of most chapters summarize wave and instability nomenclature and properties, and problems for the reader to solve are interspersed throughout the text. Together these make this book of great value to both the student and research worker in space physics.

Over the years, many leading European graduate schools in the field of astrophysical and space plasmas have operated within the framework of the research network, "Theory, Observations, and Simulations in Turbulence in Space Plasmas." This text is a set of lectures and tutorial reviews culled from the relevant work of all those schools. It emphasizes applications on solar coronae, solar flares, and the solar wind.

"Preface These notes were prepared for lectures in plasma physics at the University of Tromsø and at the Department of Physics at the University of Oslo. The author would like to thank students and colleagues for their assistance. Liv Larssen from the Auroral Observatory in Tromsø helped, as so often before, in typing and editing parts of the manuscript and in particular preparing many of the figures. Her patience and help are gratefully acknowledged.Bjørn Lybekk was also very helpfulwith figures and solving a number of technical problems during the preparation of the text. The author is also indebted to Prof. Kristian Dysthe, the University of Bergen, Prof. Einar Mjølhus, the University of Tromsø, Prof. Lennart Stenflo, the University of Umeå and Prof. Mitsuo Kono, Chuo University for valuable discussion on the chapters discussing nonlinear waves in fluids and plasmas. Prof. Jan Trulsen, Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics, the University of Oslo, has offered help and given advice at all stages of the work. His friendly support has been indispensable. Many discussions with colleagues from Risø National Laboratory has been of great value. Also comments form numerous students over the years have helped to clarify many points in the text. A sabbatical year at the Norwegian Centre for Advanced Study (CAS), in the academic year 2004-2005, was most pleasurable and stimulating. I would like to express my appreciation to the staff at that institute. I am very grateful to Dr. Wojciech Miloch who patiently and carefully read large parts of the text and offered many useful comments and valuable criticism. Prof. Tünde Fülöp’s initiative also contributed to the publication of this book, and I would like to thank her too"--

The book provides an extensive theoretical treatment of whistler-mode propagation, instabilities and damping in a collisionless plasma. This book fills a gap between oversimplified analytical studies of these waves, based on the cold plasma approximation, and studies based on numerical methods. Although the book is primarily addressed to space plasma physicists and radio physicists, it will also prove useful to laboratory plasma physicists. Mathematical methods described in the book can be applied in a straightforward way to the analysis of other types of plasma waves. Problems included in this book, along with their solutions, allow it to be used as a textbook for postgraduate students.