For a comparison of major sources, see https://libguides.princeton.edu/MacroCompare.
World Development Indicators. 1960+
Annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications. Variables are dropped over time and revisions are made. See archived version for changes over time. If researching African nations, also see Africa Development Indicators which has some additional variables.
Sage Data
Wide variety of economic, social, environmental, and political indicators from many US government agencies as well as international bodies.
Global Financial Data
Data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment. World exchange rates back to 1624, inflation rates back to 1748, and wholesale prices back to 1720. Major commodities going back to 1784. Some annual series go back to the 1200s. Methodology and sources are documented. The stock market indices go back to 1693. Also included are data on stock market capitalization, dividend yields, price/earnings ratios, total return performance indices, and Global Financial Data's World Stock Market Indices.
CEIC
Provides macroeconomic and financial time series data for many countries. Contains a wide range of data on topics including national accounts, government and public finance, demographic and labor markets, inflation, foreign trade, foreign direct investment, financial markets, and data on a variety of industry sectors. Includes subnational data for Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and Russia.
Datastream International
International economic indicators on a time series basis. Data is derived from national governments and banks, IMF, intergovernmental and nongovernmental agencies, and the company's own researchers.
Location: Available on the workstations located near Firestone A-13-J & STOKES (part of Refinitiv Workspace). The modules for commodities, economics, equities, and futures are also available through WRDS.
Economist Intelligence Unit
International economic, social, and political data and forecasts on a time series basis. Data is derived from national governments, trade associations, BIS, IMF, IFC, OECD, the World Bank, and EIU's own researchers. Consists of
World Economics and Politics (WEP) Dataverse
“The World Economics and Politics (WEP) Dataverse offers a collection of data amassed from nearly 100 of the most commonly used data sources related to the field of comparative and international political economy. From one central website, users can conveniently create customized datasets from a selection of country-year and dyad-year variables. Users can choose from more than 1,800 variables and 200 countries. Selected data will automatically be compiled into one downloadable file, eliminating the need to merge data from across various sources.”
knoema.com/atlas. Useful for a wide variety of macroeconomic and social statistics on a wide variety of countries. Tends not to go back far in time but good for quick look ups and sourcing is always provided.
OECD iLibrary
Statistics on the OECD countries regarding topics such as general economic indicators, agriculture and food, bank profitability, economic forecasts, education, employment, globalization, industrial structure, institutional investors, international development, migration, trade, international direct investment, national accounts, governmental revenue, science and technology, services, social expenditure, industrial structural analysis, and telecommunications.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
Economic, social, and political indicators of nations and empires of the world including countries and empires that no longer exist. Select data goes back to 1815.
United Nations. Statistics Division .
Among the many publications of the UN Statistics Division are yearbooks on: Construction, Energy, Industrial Statistics, International Trade, National Accounts and Demography.
UN Sales publications - Categories XIII & XVII (Located in United Nations Collection - Firestone 2nd Floor)
For 1926-1944, use the Statistical Yearbook of the League of Nations.
Penn World Tables of Economic & Social Indicators 1950-2019
Economic and social indicators for 183 countries.
Gapminder.
Provides data and visualization for the countries and many territories for various socio-economic indicators with sources cited in some cases back to the early 1800s.
World Economic Outlook. Presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. Focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects. Usually prepared twice a year.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Main Economic Indicators
1960+
Monthly and quarterly long-term data for each country on national product, production, labor and wages, interest rates, balance of payments, etc.
Eurostat
National and regional economic and social indicators for the European Community and its member states.
Passport. International demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 210 countries. Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.
UNCTADStat
Statistical data on international merchandise and service trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment, external financing sources including remittances, population and labor force, commodities, and maritime transport for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings. The primary paper equivalent is UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics ((UN) HF91 .H35q). This title continues Handbook of International Trade and Development Statistics (1964-1995) located at HF91.H35.