Skip to main content

Economic and Financial Literature at Princeton University

Newspapers and Newspaper Collections with Economic Content

Lexis-Nexis Academic Provides full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the New York Times and Financial Times. Abstracts the Wall Street Journal.
Factiva Provides full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and Financial Times. Includes selected full text and abstracts of many industry publications.
Wall Street Journal
  • WSJ.com (last 4 years)
  • 2008+ (digital version of the microfilm through Proquest Digital Microfilm)
  • 1889-2000 (image access through Proquest Historical Newspapers)
  • 1984+ (access through Proquest; text only)
  • Wall Street Journal Index. 1958-2017 (Firestone Microforms Services) HG1.W15
Financial Times
  • The Official Index to the Financial Times. 1981-2005 (Firestone Noncirculating) HG11.A56q
  • 1982+ (access through Lexis-Nexis Academic; text only)
  • 1981+ (access through Factiva; text only)
  • 1888-2010 (image access through Gale)
  • August 2004+ for FT.Com; 2005 + for newspaper (access through FT.COM;  IP control plus user has to register for premium account).  Mobile Devices FAQ.
    • UK edition - November 28, 2005 - present
    • Middle East edition - March 1, 2010 - present
    • Asia edition - January 28, 2009 - present
    • US edition - September 1, 2005 - present
    • Europe edition - January 3, 2006 - present

Nikkei Weekly (previous titles:  Japan economic journal; Nihon Keizai shimbun)  Now titled Nikkei Asian Review.

  • 1980+ (access through Lexis-Nexis Academic; text only)
  • 2002+ (access through Factiva; text only) 
  • July 1981-January 5, 2009 (Firestone Microforms Services MICROFILM S00811)
  • 2009-September 30, 2013.  (RECAP) HC461 .N57e  (ceased)
  • 1963-June 1981 (RECAP) HC461 .N57q
New York Times
  • 1981+.   [1923-1980 access is limited] New York Times Digital Edition - Academic Site License
  • 1851-2014 (image access through Proquest Historical Newspapers)
  • Last 2 weeks (Factiva) (allows easy browsing by section)
  • 2008+ (digital version of the microfilm through Proquest Digital Microfilm)
  • 1980+ (access through Proquest; text only)
Ethnic NewsWatch 1960+.  Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America: African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-American, European/Eastern European, Hispanic/Latino/Chicano, Jewish, and Native American.

Additional Sources

For more newspapers in electronic format, see the Databases Page.  Princeton also receives many foreign newspapers as well as domestic newspapers on microfilm.

Search Articles+ (news)

Search Articles+ for news content