Skip to main content

Economic and Financial Literature at Princeton University

Table of Contents for Indexes

Start with these

EconLit 1886+ American Economic Association index to international economic literature covering major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full text book reviews, dissertations, & working papers.
ABI/INFORM 1971+ Indexes articles from business journals, trade and specialty publications, & international titles.
Business Full Text (Wilson's Business Periodicals Index) 1913+ Subject index to major English language business journals with select full text.
Index of International Economics, Development, and Finance (JOLIS)   Catalog of the holdings of the publications contained in the Joint International Monetary Fund/World Bank Library. Journals are selectively indexed. Great source for finding IMF and World Bank publications. Also see the World Bank E-Library & the IMF eLibrary.

Specialized Economic Indexes

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature 1989+ Indexes the literature of philanthropy.  Includes select materials prior to 1989.
Conference Board. Cumulative Index 1950+ The Conference Board, a not-for-profit think tank founded in 1916, is a key researcher in economic, political, demographic, and technological developments that have a major impact on business management. Princeton does not receive all Conference Board publications. Check the Catalog for holdings. Index is now online only.  Most publications from 1998 forward are available through the Conference Board's Business Knowledge Research center.
Older Index:  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone Z7164.E2 N28

The Fed in Print: Business and Banking Topics
1974/79 + Index to the publications of the Federal Reserve Bank & the regional Federal Reserve banks. Continues an earlier publication, Federal Reserve Bank Reviews, Selected Subjects, 1950-1976 [ Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) Z7164.F5F43].
FAO Catalogue Online (Food and Agriculture Organization) >   Includes FAO working documents. Princeton holds these FAO Documents from 1967 to 1998 (when ceased) in microfiche. Newer publications are online.  Excellent source for land & water development, fisheries, economic & social policy, investment, nutrition, sustainable agriculture, rural development, food standards, and commodities & trade.
Human Resources Abstracts 1975+ Covers essential areas related to human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, & organizational behavior.
IMF eLibrary   Reports, books, &d journals from the International Monetary Fund.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  1951+ Indexes social sciences journals & books. Coverage includes both core & specialized material from over 100 languages & countries.
Labour Studies Index   Citations of journal articles, books, book chapters, theses, and other literature. Focus is on Canadian labor.
OECD iLibrary   Statistics as well as full-text books, periodicals, & working papers published by the OECD and the International Energy Agency.
MyiLibrary     
Select publications from the International Atomic Energy Agency, International Labour Organization, International Organization for Migration, UNAIDS, United Nations, & the World Health Organization.
World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts 1959-1999. (Canceled) Monthly index to books & articles.Includes both English & foreign language materials. Arranged by broad subject with a detailed subject index & an author index. Also has annual author & subject indexes.
Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) HD9000.W87
 

Online access to World Bank publications. Useful for research in international social & economic development.  Also see the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository which contains open access materials.

World Tourism Organization Database 1970+ Includes all World Tourism Organization publications, reports & documents published since 1970 as well as some serials published prior to 1970.

Urban Studies

Title Dates Scope
Index to Current Urban Documents 1972+

Index to documents issued annually by the largest cities & counties in the United States & Canada. Documents issued prior to August 2000 are available on microfiche. As of August 2000, documents are available full text online. Indexing available electronically 1989+ (along with 1975, 1980-1981, 1986). For 1972-1988, use the paper index, found in Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone Z7165.U5 I654.

Urban Studies Abstracts 1973+ Index to areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, & urban history.
Urban Affairs Abstracts

1971-1994

(ceased)

Index to periodicals in the field of urban affairs. Useful for studying municipal policy development.
(RECAP) HT123 .U7

General Indexes with Economic Content

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature   .
Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.
CPANDA's Literature Database 1965-2012
Citations to selected monographs, serials, reports, papers, proceedings, articles and books relevant to arts and cultural policy studies. For 2012+, use NADAC.
PAIS Public Affairs Information Service 1915+ Subject index to books, periodicals and government documents relating to business, economic & social conditions, public policy & administration, and international relations.
Rand Documents . RAND, a nonprofit public policy research institution, was established after World War II to study national security. In the 1960s it added domestic policy problems to its research agenda. Current areas of research and analysis include national defense, education & training, health care, criminal & civil justice, labor & population, community development, international relations, and regional studies. RAND research results are published in several series. See the  detailed guide to Rand publications and library holdings at Princeton. 
Web of Science 1898+ Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+). Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Use with caution. Many works are not included.
Scopus 1996+ (select earlier coverage).  Cited references back to 1970. International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents. Provides citation tracking. Use with caution. Many works are not included. Note: Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401