Skip to main content

American history to 1900

Major collections

Records of the States of the United States of America
1066.752
1824 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z1223.A1U47
This very large collection is the result of the 1940's State Records Microfilm Project, which located and reproduced state records from libraries, archives, and private collections. Includes legislative proceedings, statutory laws, constitutional records, administrative records, executive records, court records, and some local records. There is also material on Native American nations. The collection is arranged by state and covers the 18th and 19th centuries, plus parts of the 20th.

State Statutes: A Historical Archive (Hein Online)
This collection includes more than 1,600 volumes and nearly 2,000,000 pages of historical superseded state statutes.

New England

Court records and account books, 1718-1772 [microform]
Microfilm 11723
1 reel
Printed guide: none
From the Massachusetts Court of Admiralty.

Court records, 1686-1780 [microform]
Microfilm 11724
20 reels
Printed guide: none
From the Massachusetts Superior Court of Judicature.

Massachusetts archives
1150.6248
26 reels
Printed guide: none
Microfilm of the work done on the Archives of the State of Massachusetts by the Rev. Joseph B. Felt between the years 1836-1846. The result of his work was assembled in 241 volumes, which are known as the Felt Collection or the Massachusetts Archives Collection. See http://www.sec.state.ma.us/arc/arccol/colmac.htm for a detailed inventory of the volumes. Our copy is not complete; see the catalog record for volumes available on microfilm at Princeton.

Town papers [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 06098
reels
Printed guide: none
Typewritten inventory of manuscripts in the Boston Public Library

Midatlantic & southern states

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia Archives Unbound
"This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. These accounts provide a view of the of the vast region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, which spans three and a half centuries and provides information on the social, political, economic, scientific, religious and agricultural characteristics of the region."

Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York 
Digital collection of directories, member lists, advertisements, travel guides and other sources, chronicling the people and organizations of New York City from the late 18th through the early 20th century.

Minutes of the Council of proprietors of the Eastern Division of New Jersie ... [microform]
1174.187.2
3 reels
Printed guide: none
From the original mss. in the vault of the Surveyor general, Perth Amboy. Covers 1685-1866.

Minutes of the Supreme Court, 1681-[1783] [Microform]
RECAP 7785.678.2
9 reels
Printed guide: none
Material from the New Jersey State Archives. See http://www.state.nj.us/state/darm/links/webcat/judiciary.html

Supreme Court docket, May term, 1738[-November 1748] [ Microform]
RECAP 7785.678.3
3 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Proceedings of the U.S. District Court for the District of N.J.
RECAP Microfilm S00946
reels
Printed guide: none
Material from the U.S. National Archives, Record Group 21. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/021.html#21.32. Library has: Cases from 1841-1883; for detailed holdings consult the Microforms Division

Abstracts of Fairfax County, Virginia [microform]: Chancery papers, 1748-1870
Microfiche 1256
75 microfiches
Printed guide: none

Index to the court minute and order books of Fairfax County, Virginia [microform]
Microfiche 454
Printed guide: none
Subject and name index to various court records, 1749-1871.

Marriage and death notices from the National Intelligencer (Washington, D.C.) 1800-1850 [microform]
Microfilm 09184
3 reels
Printed guide: none

Calendar of the East Florida papers, 1784-1821 [microform]
Microfilm 07248
11 reels
Printed guide: none
Contains calendar cards descriptive of manuscript documents in the East Florida papers, Library of Congress. The East Florida papers are the manuscript records of the second Spanish administration of East Florida (1784-1821).

Western states

Documentary relations of the Southwest [microform]
Microfiche 946
Printed guide: none
DRSW is a computerized bibliography of 5,049 documents pertaining to the northern portion of New Spain for the years 1550-1824. It does not provide reproductions of the documents themselves, and we have microfilm of only one of the archival collections covered in the index. For an online version, see http://www.statemuseum.arizona.edu/oer/drswtool.shtml.

Spanish archives of New Mexico [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 00049
22 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms F799.C26
Covers 1621-1820. Note that most materials are in Spanish.

Mexican archives of New Mexico, 1821-1846 [microform]
1188.639
reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms F800.J46 and F800.J44
This collection "reproduces the extant official administrative records of New Mexico under the sovereignty of the Mexican national government." Includes records from the executive, legislative and judicial bodies, plus military and fiscal administrations. Note that most materials are in Spanish.

Barlett papers: Mexican boundary commission correspondence
1096.639.149
12 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms F786.B76
From the originals at the John Carter Brown Library, Brown University. Covers 1850-1853.

Territorial papers of the United States
1066.922
reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
Material from the National Archives, Record Group 59.4.3 Territorial papers. Includes "correspondence, reports, and copies of journals of proceedings of legislative assemblies." We have Utah 1850-1902 (6 reels); Montana 1867-1889 (2 reels); Wyoming 1870-1890 (6 reels); Idaho, Montana, Wyoming 1789-1873 (1 reel); and Wyoming 1868-1873 (1 reel).

Case files of the U.S. District Courts for the Territory of Utah, 1870-1896 [microform]
Microfilm 10532
38 reels
Printed guide: none
Material from the U.S. National Archives, Record Group 21: Records of District Courts of the United States. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/021.html#top

American West
Contains original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources on the American West from the Newberry Library. Cover major themes in the study of the American West, including Native Americans, pioneers, mining, railroads, ranching, and the Wild West in fiction.

Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 Archives Unbound
"Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869."

City directories

City directories of the United States through 1860; a collection on microfiche
Microfiche 70
6295 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z5771.S7
Reproduces city directories from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society and elsewhere.

United States city directories, 1861-1881 [microform]
United States city directories, 1882-1901 [microform]

Microfilm S00559
Microfilm S00560
372 and 746 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z5771.2 .C58 1984
See above.

In Archives Unbound

City and Business Directories                 County and Regional Histories & Atlases
Alabama, 1837-1929 Michigan
Arkansas, 1871-1929 Wisconsin
Louisiana, 1805-1929 California
Maryland, 1752-1929 Ohio
Mississippi, 1860-1929 New York
North Carolina, 1886-1929 Illinois
Tennessee, 1849-1929 Indiana
West Virginia, 1838-1929 Pennsylvania
Virginia, 1801-1929  
Florida, 1882-1929

Topical collections

Pamphlets in American History: Group V: Mormons and mormonism
Microfiche 899
512 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E179.P35 Group 5
A collection of pamphlets on Mormons and mormonism (MR1-MR466). "Presents an overview of the theological, intellectual, social, economic, and political history of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints."

Pamphlets in American History: Group III: Mexican War
Microfiche 898
139 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E179 .P35 Group 3
A collection of pamphlets on the Mexican War, 1846-1847. (MW1-139)

Pamphlets in American History: Group III: War of 1812
Microfiche 898
176 microfiches
Printed guide: E179 .P35 Group 3
War of 1812 (W1-146) "includes many pamphlets debating such issues as embargo laws, the effect of the war on the consolidation of the union, and the morality of the war itself."

Reference

State legislatures: a bibliography. Robert U. Goehlert, Frederick W. Musto. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-Clio Information Services, c1985.
Firestone Z7164.R4 G574 1985