Skip to main content

American history to 1900

Military & government records

Civil war unit histories [microform]: regimental histories and personal narratives
Microfiche 1419
[many]
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E546 .C584
This collection reproduces more than 3000 published personal narratives (e.g. diaries) and regimental histories for Union and Confederate units. Arranged by region and state. Each item is individually cataloged in the Main Catalog.

Reports and decisions of the Provost Marshal General, 1863-1866 [microform]
Microfilm 11886
1 reel
Printed guide: none
From originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 110, Records of the Provost Marshal General's Bureau (Civil War). The Bureau was responsible for recruiting, the draft, the arrest of deserters, and for compiling reports on casualties. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/110.html.

Historical reports of state acting assistant provost marshals general and district provost marshals, 1865
Microfilm 11887
5 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Civil War CD-ROM [electronic resource]: the War of the Rebellion : a compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Computer File 335
Printed guide: none
CDROM version of the printed multi-volume set The war of the rebellion : a compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate armies [Firestone E464 .U6 1985]. The collection was originally published in 1880 by the Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C. and reproduces correspondence, orders and reports of the Union and Confederate armies.

Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals Archives Unbound “These generals’ reports of service represent an attempt by the Adjutant General’s Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various Union generals serving in the Civil War. In 1864, the Adjutant General requested that each such general submit "…a succinct account of your military history…since March 4th, 1861." In 1872, and in later years, similar requests were made for statements of service for the remaining period of the war. These records comprise Entry 160: Generals’ Service Reports, 1864-1887, RG94: Records of the Adjutant General’s Office, 1780’s-1917.”

Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union General and the Union Army: History Vault.  The collections in the Confederate Military Manuscripts cover the perspective of an army commander or an administrative department down to the level of the private soldier, covering all aspects of their military service and experience, while also offering glimpses of life on the home front. Several previously unpublished collections of records of the Union Army are also integral to this module. Highlights include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including a series on Allan Pinkerton; records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions; and records of the U.S. Colored Troops.

Mass media

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 American Antiquarian Society collection of 13,500 titles includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, monographs, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, and stereographs.

Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama Archives Unbound "This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."

Pamphlets in American History: Group V: Civil War
Microfiche 899
797 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E179.P35
Group V: Civil War (CW1-CW743) "provides documents published before, during, and after the conflict. Topics include such issues as pre-war political thought, eyewitness accounts of battles, narratives of battles, biographies of Civil War soldiers and leaders such as Lincoln, Grant, and Lee, and many documents relating to the Confederate view of the war."

John Shaw Pierson Civil War Collection
This collection was donated to Princeton by John Shaw Pierson, Class of 1840. "The collection focuses on the American Civil War, covering military operations, regimental histories, personal narratives, political, social, economic phases, and the War in drama, fiction, poetry, collected from all parts of the United States, and in Mexico, Canada, and Europe. Much of the material was collected as issued and, consequently, the collection is rich in pamphlet and other ephemeral material." Please consult staff in the Rare Books and Special Collections Department for access to this material.

Confederate imprints, 1861-1865 [microform]
Available at Van Pelt Library at the University of Pennsylvania
This collection includes both government and private publications from the states of the Confederacy. Includes books, documents, and ephemera. There is a catalog of the titles in Confederate imprints : a bibliography of southern publications from secession to surrender at Z1242.5 .P37 in Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc).

Personal papers

A People at war [microform]
Microfilm 06838
60 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E456 .P466
Reproduces Civil War manuscripts from the Library of Congress, including personal letters and diaries, accounts of military service, and official correspondence and reports. "This collection reproduces on microfilm the personal papers of more than 350 people from both North and South - civilians, professionals, camp followers and ordinary soldiers, participants and observers, male and female, black and white."

Boyd B. Stutler collection of John Brown papers [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 07251
8 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E451 .J63
This collection and the collection below are comprised of papers of the abolitionist John Brown (see http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00096.html), including letters to and from Brown, plus material about him collected by Boyd Stutler.

Papers of Abraham Lincoln at the Library of Congress

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/alhtml/malhome.html

Complements the printed version at MICROFILM 12591

 

Papers of John Brown, Jr., 1830-1932 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 07250
1 reel
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E451 .J63
See above.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Includes more than 1,000 diaries, letters, and memoirs from both Northern and Southern politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies.

The Civil War in Words and Deeds Archives Unbound
"These first-person accounts [personal narratives and regimental histories], compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865."

Civil war and Reconstruction, the making of modern America. Series one, The papers of Jay Cooke (1821-1905) from the Historical Society of Pennsylvania [microform]
Microfilm 11742
100 reels
Printed guide: none
On Cooke, an investment banker who is often described as "the financier of the Civil War," see http://www.anb.org/articles/10/10-00323.html.

Post-Civil War