Skip to main content

American history to 1900

Congress

Proquest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
Collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Covers 1817-1969. Includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress. Also includes American State Papers (1789-1838).

War

Records of the Office of the Secretary of War [microform]: registers of letters received
9977.923.4
134 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
Material from the National Archives, Record Group 107, Records of the Office of the Secretary of War. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/107.html. We have vols. 1-171, Nov. 25, 1800 to Dec 31, 1870.

Letters sent by the Secretary of War relating to military affairs, 1800-1889
9977.923
110 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
See above.

Records of the Office of the Secretary of War. Letters sent to the President, 1800-1863
9977.923.2
6 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
See above

Justice

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
Digital collection of material from the Library of Congress, including congressional journals and debates, Statutes at Large, American State Papers, and parts of the Serials Set.

U. S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 (Making of Modern Law Digital Archive)
"A fully searchable digital archive containing 150 years of U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs. The record for a case may contain the following types of documents: motions, petitions, oral transcripts, transcripts of the trial record, applications for writ, appendices, letter briefs and jurisdictional statements." Replaces The records and briefs of the Supreme Court of the United States [microform], Microfilm S01133 (1832-1900)

Criminal case files of the U.S. Circuit Court for Eastern District of Pennsylvania, 1791-1840 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05670
7 reels
Printed guide: none
Material from the National Archives, Record Group 21.40 Records of U.S. District and Other Courts in Pennsylvania 1787-1992. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/021.html#21.40.1.

Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884 Archives Unbound

"This AU collection on law and order documents the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States. This publication includes their correspondence with the attorney general as well all other letters received by the attorney general from the states in question during that period, including the correspondence of marshals, judges, convicts, and concerned or aggrieved citizens."

Treasury

Waste books of the Office of the Register of the Treasury, 1776-99
Microfilm 00209
3 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HJ10.E1.1776a
Material from National Archives, Record Group 217.2 Records of the Office of the Register of the Treasury 1776-1923. We have only reels 3-5, 1781-85.

United States direct tax of 1798 [microform]: tax lists for the state of Pennsylvania
Microfilm 03519
24 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HJ10.E1.1798
Material from National Archives, Record Group 58.2 Records of Predecessors of the Office of the Commissioner of Internal Revenue 1791-1862. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/058.html#58.2.2.

Impost books of the Collector of Customs at Philadelphia, 1789-1804 [microform]
Microfilm 03525
6 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HJ10.H9.1789
From the National Archives, Record Group 36.3.1, Records of the United States Customs Service: Records of customhouses and collection districts. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/036.html.

Ledgers of payments, 1818-72, to U.S. pensioners under Acts of 1818 through 1858, from the records of the Office of the Third Auditor of the Treasury [microform]
Microfilm 03523
23 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HJ10.E3.1818
Material from the National Archives, Record Group 217.8, Office of the Third Auditor of the Department of the Treasury. The Office was responsible for settling accounts of the War Department. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/217.html#217.8

Reference

A descriptive catalogue of the Government publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881. Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1885. New York, Johnson Reprint Corp. [1970]
Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone: Oversize Z1223 .A 1885dq