Sarajevo 1984 & 1995
 |
 |
Indexes / Databases / Other E-Resources
Olympic Impact Statements: A series of economic impact reports prepared by different organizations, beginning with the 1984 Summer Games.
Mega-Events & the Olympics: The Olympic Games alone have displaced more than two million people in the last 20 years, mostly the homeless, the poor, and minorities such as Roma and African-Americans. This resource provides information developed by the Centre on Housing Rights and Evictions.
Olympics Past & Present: This page links to resources about the Olympic Games. Links include official Olympic Web sites, media sites, historical resources, and more.
Urban Studies Abstracts: Includes scholarship on how Olympic Games affected housing, city plans, transportation, homelessness, etc.
Sociological Abstracts: Important for information on social effects and implications of mega-city sporting events, the Olympics, etc. A great complement to Urban Studies Abstracts.
Avery Index: Includes scholarship on Olympic architecture, urban design, etc.
Academic Search Premier: Multidisciplinary database covering a wide variety of journals, news magazines, dissertations, etc.
Print & E-Resources
Olympic Cities by Call Number: (UES) HT166 .O4 2011ISBN: 9780415486576Publication Date: 2010-10-21Providing a full overview of the changing relationship between cities and the Olympic events, this substantially revised and enlarged edition builds on the success of its predecessor.
Planning for Olympic Legacies by ISBN: 9780415689595Publication Date: 2012-06-13Eva Kassens-Noor questions and challenges this fundamental assertion of host cities who claim to have used the Olympic Games as a way to move forward their urban agendas
Sports Mega-Events by Call Number: (F) GV712 .S66 2006ISBN: 9781405152907Publication Date: 2006-12-12This volume offers a distinctive and timely comparative analysis of the sociological, economic, and political significance of bids for, and the hosting of, sports mega-events throughout the world.
Securing and Sustaining the Olympic City by Call Number: (UES) GV722 2012 S43 2011ISBN: 9780754679455Publication Date: 2011-04-01The Games stimulate a tidal wave of redevelopment ushering in new gentrified urban settings and an associated investment that may or may not soak through to the incumbent community. Given the unusual step of developing London's Olympic Park in the heart of an existing urban milieu and the stated commitments to 'community development' and 'legacy', these constitute particularly acute issues for the 2012 Games.
Olympic Cities by Call Number: (F) GV722 2012 .O59 2009ISBN: 9780754671008Publication Date: 2009-10-01Drawing upon historical, cultural, economic and socio-demographic perspectives, this book examines the role of London's hosting the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games as a means to promote urban regeneration and social renewal in East London and the Thames Gateway.
The Beijing Olympiad by Call Number: (F) GV722 2008 .C56 2007ISBN: 9780415357005Publication Date: 2006-12-19The stage is set for the Beijing Olympiad and issues taxing many minds include whether the Beijing Games will be successful; whether they will be wrought with and wrecked by troubles; and who they will benefit. What value will the 2008 Games be to the people of China? Will they mainly serve the purposes of the dominant political, economic and cultural groups at and between the local, regional and global levels of modern social life?- Olympic games and architecture : the future for host cities byCall Number: (F) NA2520 .O5 2001qISBN: 929149075XPublication Date: 2001
- Construction of Beijing as an Olympic city byCall Number: (F) GV721.5 .H383 2003Publication Date: 2003
