Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Urban Studies Research Guide: Indexes & Databases

Selected Urban Studies Resources

Core Urban Studies Databases ~ Secondary Databases ~ Architecture Related Databases
Print or Online? Periods Covered Dates of Scholarship Covered Database Information
America: History & Life Online All Periods 19th C - Present The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Avery Index to Periodical Literature Online All Periods 19th C - Present Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. ***Cross Searchable with DAAI + ARTbibs + IBA
Environment Abstracts Online 19th C - Present 1975 - Present Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides coverage of energy-related issues. It covers journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include monographs, government studies and newsletters.
Historical Abstracts Online All Periods 1954 - Present Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Index to Current Urban Documents Online/Microfilm 20th C - Present 1995 - Present Incl. reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies from more than 500 major cities in the US and Canada. The core collection contains fiscal (budgets and financial reports) and architecture & planning documents (city, county and regional plans). Earlier documents dating to 1970s are available on microfiche
Sociological Abstracts Online Late 19th C -Present  1952 - Present Indexes journal articles, book chapters, & reviews from over 1,900 journals, books, book chapters, and reviews in the social sciences. Excellent source for public policy topics.
Urban Studies Abstracts Print 1950s - Present 1974 - Present Compiled in the Research Library of the Greater London Council, covering such topics as city planning, urban transportation, urban development, and urban design
Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies Online 20th C _ present 1990s - Present Case studies on real estate development.
Urban Studies Abstracts Online 19th C _ Present 1973 - Present Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full Text Collection Online 1950s - Present 1970s - Present Collection of urban studies related SAGE publications. Covers such subjects as Economic Development, Planning Practice and Theory, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Residential and Community Development, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Urban Policy, and Welfare Economics.

top

Secondary Databases

Online or Print? Periods Covered Dates of Scholarship Covered Additional Informatiion
Alternative Press Index Both 1960s - Present 1969 - Present Citations are drawn from roughly 450 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Most journals aren't indexed elsewhere.
Alt-Press Watch Online 1960s - Present 1970 - Present Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses
Anthropology Plus Online All Periods 1800 - Present Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
BuildingGreenSuite Online Mostly 20th Century - Present 1990s - Present Features a rich array of media and information resources, including full-text access to Environmental Building News, the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpec directory of products, and the LEEDuser web tool. Also included is the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) which provides case studies of projects ranging from homes and commercial interiors to large buildings and even whole campuses and neighborhoods. These may be certified green projects, or simply projects that have one or more notable environmental features. Each published case study is reviewed to focus on useful lessons and consistent energy and environmental data.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Online    All periods 1971 - Present Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.
Burnham Index to Architectural Periodical Literature Print All Periods 1916-1965 Indexes books and 200+ periodicals 1919-1965 from the Burnham Library of Architecture, Art Institute of Chicago. Better coverage of Midwest architecture than the Avery Index for the early part of the 20th century. Much but not everything is incorporated into Avery.
Business Source Elite Online 20th C - present 1985 - Present This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. Great source for information on real estate, housing development, redevelopment, and related issues. 
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  Online 20th - Present 1991 - Present Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
Global Health Online 19th C - Present 1912 - Present International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene . Covers English and foreign language journals, books, reports, patents, dissertations and conference proceedings.
Green File Online 19th C - Present 1917 - Present Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
GreenR Online 20th C - Present 1990s - Present
Focuses on sustainability & the environment. Categories include healthcare, food, climate change, population & economic development. Content covers English-language newspapers, magazines & refereed journals; videos, podcasts, Web forums and images; case studies, statistics and maps. Portals provide access by topic, organization and country.
HUD User Database Online 20th C - Present Varies w/Publication but primarily current info The HUD USER Database is the only bibliographic database exclusively dedicated to housing and community development issues. It contains more than 10,000 full-abstract citations to research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and a host of other relevant fields.
PAIS International Online 19th C - Present 1915 - Present Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.