Latin America, Spain and Portugal: Data and Statistics

This guide presents key data and statistical sources covering a wide spectrum of topics related to Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. If features both subscription-based databases accessible to Princeton users and notable open-access resources freely available online. 

Data and Statistical Services (DSS)
DSS provides data and consulting services. Its Data Catalog can be sorted by country or region, topic, and format. Find here data sets related to Latin America & the Caribbean, Portugal and Spain.

• Global & LAC Datahub
  Open data resource by the Georgetown Americas Institute (GAI) designed to offer insights into the economic and political landscape of Latin American countries within the global context. 
• CEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
  Includes publications such as the Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean, Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean, and Social Panorama of Latin America, among others.
• IMF Data. International Monetary Fund
  The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
• United Nations Statistics Division
  Provides a global centre for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment and demographic and social statistics gathered from national and international sources.
• World Development Indicators. The World Bank
  Includes annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications.

Princeton has a collection of current volumes of the statistical abstracts of many foreign countries containing statistics on a broad range of subjects. Current editions are shelved by country name in the DSS collection (Firestone Library - A Floor). For older editions consult the Catalog or the microfiche collection on A Floor of Firestone.

Some countries make their statistical yearbooks available online.  Recent yearbooks from selected countries are contained in Statistical Abstracts of the World (ProQuest). See also the guide to Historical Compilations.

• Population Research: International Censuses
  Research guide highlighting a variety of international census related resources available through the Ansley J. Coale Population Research Collection at Stokes Library.
• Census Microdata Guide (Census Holdings in Electronic format at Princeton)
  Research guide for census microdata availability with detailed holdings information by country and year. 
• Global Census Archive
  Digitized print census publications including results, methodological publications, promotional materials, administrative and legal documents and questionnaires for 200+ countries. Varying content and publication dates, ranging from 1565-present. 
• IPUMS International
  IPUMS International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facilitate comparative research. 

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos (INDEC), Argentina

• Statistical Institute of Belize

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE), Bolivia

• Instituto Brasileiro de Geografía e Estatística (IBGE), Brasil

• Instituto Nacional de Estadísticas (INE), Chile

• Departamento Administrativo Nacional de Estadística (DANE), Colombia

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos (INEC), Costa Rica

• Oficina Nacional de Estadística e Información (ONEI), Cuba

• Oficina Nacional de Estadística (ONE), Dominican Republic

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos (INEC), Ecuador

• Dirección General de Estadística y Censos (DIGESTYC), El Salvador

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE), Guatemala

• Institut Haïtien de Statistique et d’Informatique (IHSI), Haiti

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE), Honduras

• Statistical Institute of Jamaica

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística, Geografía e Informática (INEGI), Mexico

• Instituto Nacional de Información de Desarrollo (INIDE), Nicaragua

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censo (INEC), Panama

• Dirección General de Estadística, Encuestas y Censos (DGEEC), Paraguay

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística e Informática (INEI), Peru

• Instituto Nacional de Estatística, Portugal

• PORDATA:  Base de Dados Portugal Contemporâneo

• Instituto de Estadísticas de Puerto Rico

• Central Statistical Office of St. Lucia

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística, Spain

• Central Statistical Office (CSO), Trinidad and Tobago

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE), Uruguay

• Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE), Venezuela