Skip to Main Content

Census Microdata Guide: Home

Census Holdings in Electronic format at Princeton University

Census Microdata Guide

Many recent censuses are available on the web. Also see Global Census Archive.  Digitized print census publications including results, methodological publications, promotional materials, administrative and legal documents and questionnaires for 209 countries Varying content and publication dates, ranging from 1570+, by country.

Stokes Library holdings include the International Population Census microfilm collection which includes summary census materials for countries throughout the world from the mid-1800s to the present. Guides to the collection include the following:

  • Online Guide for all Years of Coverage - Lists holdings by country and year, but not the specific tables available. Under "Collection Title" select "International Population Census Publications." Enter country in the "Full Text" box.
  • Post-1967 Guide Includes detailed listing of the available tables for each census. Search by clicking on the binoculars and entering the country name or other search term.
  • 1945-1967 Guide Includes detailed listing of the available tables for each census. Search by clicking on the binoculars and entering the country name or other search term.
  • Pre-1945 Guide Use the International Population Census Bibliography, University of Texas at Austin: Bureau of Business Research 1965-1968. Call number: SPIA Reference Z7164 .D3 T45, v.1-6;suppl.

Census Holdings in electronic format at Princeton
Last modified April 23, 2024
(For datasets available through IPUMS or ACAP, registration is required through their sites)
  Summary Data Microdata
Albania 2001. 2011. 2023 1918
Angola   2014
Argentina 1970, 1980, 1991, 2001, 2010, 2022; 2010 Shape Files 1869, 1895, 1970, 1980, 1991, 2001, 2010
Armenia 1989 (USSR), 2001, 2011, 2022 2001, 2011
Australia 1911-1991, 1996+, 1981, 1986
Austria Current, 1869+ 1910, 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001. 2011; 1632-1947 (Austrian villages & urban areas unharmonized)
Bangladesh Current 1991, 2001, 2011
Belarus 1989 (USSR), 1999, 2009 1999, 2009
Belgium Current 1814 (West Flanders)
Benin   1992, 2002, 2013
Bolivia 2001,  1976, 1992, 2001, 2012 1976, 1992, 2001, 2012
Botswana 2011+ 1981, 1991, 2001, 2011
Bulgaria 2011, 2021 circa 1900 (Rhodope mountain area) 
Brazil 1991-2010; 1872-2010 (overview), 2022 1960,1970 (25%) ,1970 (1%), 1980,1991,2000, 2010
Burkina Faso   1985, 1996, 2006
Cambodia 1998, 2008, 2019 1998, 2004, 2008, 2013, 2019
Cameroon   1976, 1987, 2005
Canada 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011, 2016, 2021, Canadian Census Analyser (1961+) 1852, 1871, 1881, 1891,1901,1911, 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001, 2011 (IPUMS),  1971(ICPSR), 1976 (ICPSR), 1981, 1986, 1991, 1996, 2001,  2006, 2016, 2021 (Statistics Canada)
Chile 1813-2017; 2002 Shape Files 1960,1970,1982,1992,2002, 2017
China 1949+ (CEIC) 1982,1990, 2000
Colombia 2005, 2018; 2005 Shape Files 1964,1973,1985,1993,2005
Costa Rica 2000, 2011; 2011 Shape Files 1963,1973,1984,2000, 2011
Côte d'Ivoire   1988, 1998
Cuba 2012 2002
Denmark Misc. Years 1787, 1801, 1845, 1880, 1885 (IPUMS); 1801
Dominican Republic 1920+; 2010 Shape Files 1960, 1970, 1981, 2002, 2010
Ecuador 1990+ 1962,1974,1982,1990,2001
Egypt   1848, 1868, 1986,1996, 2006
El Salvador 2007 Shape Files 1992, 2007
Estonia 1989 (USSR), 2000, 2011  
Ethiopia 2007 1984, 1994, 2007
Fiji 1996+ 1966, 1976, 1986, 1996, 2007, 2014
Finland   2010
France 1999+ 1846; 1962,1968,1975,1982,1990, 1999, 2006, 2011; 1831 (Sallespisse); 1836 (Boulazac); 1841 (Saint-Jean-de-Luz , Targon); 1846, 1856 (Saint-Émilion); 1876 (Boulazac); 1901 (Sauternes); 1906 (Bagneux-la-Fosse)    
Gambia   1973, 1983, 1993
Germany 2011, 2022 (being conducted).  2011 and 2022 are both registers from administrative data.

1819 (Mecklenburg-Schwerin), 1749 (Dischingen); 1811 (Gögglingen); 1861 (Haigerloch, Lippborg); 1846 (Höhscheid); 1819, 1867, 1900 (Rostock) ; 1864 (Albachten);  1785/1790/1796 (Oggelshausen); 1803 (Schleswig and Holstein); Germany 1846, 1858; 1970 (West), 1971 (East), 1981 (East), 1987 (West) 
Ghana 1990+ 1984, 2000, 2010
Greece 2011 1971, 1981, 1991, 2001, 2011
Guatemala 2018 1964, 1973, 1981, 1994, 2002
Guinea   1983, 1996, 2014
Guyana 2002, 2012; 2012 Transportation Shape Files  
Haiti 2003 1971, 1982, 2003
Honduras 1988, 2001, 2013  
Hong Kong 1991+  
Hungary   1869, 1970, 1980, 1990, 2001, 2011
Iceland 2011 1702, 1729, 1801, 1901, 1910
India 1991 , 2001, 1777+ (Website)

1983 (Employment Survey), 1987 (Employment Survey), 1993 (Employment Survey), 1999 (Employment Survey), 2001 (Housing), IPUMs (1983, 1987, 1993, 1999, 2004, 2009 -- all employment surveys)
Indonesia 1971+ 1971, 1976, 1980, 1985, 1990, 1995, 2000,2005, 2010
Iran   2006, 2011
Iraq   1997
Ireland   1981 (Small Area), 1986 (Small Area), 1991(Small Area), 1996 (Small Area; 5%), 2002 (Small Area; 5%), 2006(Small Area), IPUMS (1901, 1911, 1971, 1979, 1981, 1986, 1991, 1996, 2002, 2006, 2011, 2016)
Israel 1948, 1961, 1972, 1983, 1995, 2008 1972, 1983, 1995, 2008
Italy Misc. Years 1705 (Turin) 15th Century (Florence/Verona), 1430-1432 (Legnago); 1827 (San Marcello); 1991, 2001, 2001, 2011 (IPUMS), 2011-2020 Quarter 1 (Labor Force Surveys)
Jamaica   1982, 1991, 2001
Japan 1995+  
Jordan 1994, 2004, 2007 (Aqaba City),  2015 2004
Kenya   1969, 1979, 1989,1999, 2009
Kyrgz Republic 1989 (USSR) 1999, 2009
Laos    1995, 2005, 2015
Lesotho   1986, 1996
Liberia   1843,  2008
Lithuania 2021 1764-1765 (Jewish Census); end of the 18th century (Historical Kujavia; census-type listings from the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth).
Malawi   1977, 1987, 1998, 2008
Malaysia   1970, 1980, 1991, 2000
Mali   1987, 1998, 2009
Mauritius   1990, 2000, 2011
Mexico 1990, 2000, 1895+ 1960,1970,1990,1995,2000,2005, 2010, 2015, 2020, ; 2005-2020 (Labor Force Surveys)
Mongolia   1989, 2000
Morocco   1982, 1994, 2004, 2014
Mozambique   1997, 2007
Myanmar   2014
Nepal 2011 2001, 2011
Netherlands 1795-1971 1960, 1971, 2001, 2011
New Zealand 1996+  
Nicaragua 2005 Shape Files 1971, 1995, 2005
Nigeria   1991, 2006-2010
Northern Ireland   1991
Norway   1801, 1865, 1875, 1900
Pakistan   1973, 1981, 1998
Palestine 1967 1997, 2007, 2017
Panama   1960,1970,1980,1990,2000, 2010
Papua New Guinea   1980,1990,2000
Paraguay 2002 Shape Files 1962, 1972, 1982, 1992, 2002
Peru 2017, 1940+; 2007 Shape Files 1993, 2007, 2017
Philippines 2000, 2010, 2015 1990, 1995, 2000, 2010
Poland   1978, 1988, 2002, 2011;  end of the 18th century (Historical Kujavia; census-type listings from the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth).
Portugal 2011 1981, 1991, 2001, 2011
Puerto Rico   1910, 1920, 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2005, 2010
Romania 1992+ 1838 (Wallachia); 1977, 1992, 2002, 2011
Russia 1989 (USSR), 2002, 2010 2002, 2010
Rwanda   1991, 2002, 2012
Saint Lucia    1980, 1991
Senegal   1976, 1988, 2002, 2013
Serbia 2011, 2022 1863 (Jasenica and Krusevac); 1884 (Jasenica) 
Sierra Leone   2004, 2015
Singapore 2000+
"The Department of Statistics (DOS) is unable to provide access to raw data or anonymised microdata in the public domain. You may wish to refer to our publications on the surveys conducted for the latest survey data. If the required aggregated data is not available in the reports, you could provide us with the table formats. Please send them to info@singstat.gov.sg. We will assess the availability of the data and, if customised and aggregated data generation is required, we will let you know the applicable cost-recovery fees."
Slovak Republic 2001, 2011 1991, 2001, 2007, 2011
Slovenia 1948-1991; 2002; 2011 (Register) 2002
South Africa 1996+ (click on census tab at the top middle)

1960, 1970, 1980, 1985, 1991,1996, 1996, 2001, 2007, 2011, 2016  (IPUMS)
Spain 1528+ (various compilations over time),Recent 1752 (Colomera and Estepona);  1981, 1991, 2001, 2011, 2005-2020 (Labor Force Surveys)
Sri Lanka 2001+  
Sudan   1973, 2008
South Sudan   2008
Suriname   2004, 2012
Swaziland   1986
Sweden   1880, 1890, 1900, 1910
Switzerland   1678 (Hirzel); 1870 (Zürich); 1970-2000 (direct), 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2011 (IPUMS)
Tanzania 1967, 1978, 1988, 2002, 2012 1988, 2002. 2012
Thailand   1970, 1980, 1990, 2000
Togo   1960, 1970, 2010
Trinidad & Tobago   1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2011
Turkey 1927+ 1885, 1907 (Istanbul);1985, 1990, 2000
Uganda 2014 1991, 2002, 2014
Ukraine 1989 (USSR) 2001
United Kingdom 2001, 2011, 2021

1851, 1861, 1881, 1891, 1901, 1911 (Great Britain - England, Scotland, Wales) (IPUMS), 1851-1861, 1881-1911 (England & Wales); 1881-1911; 1851-1901 (Scotland); 1871 Scotland , 1991, 2001 (CDs), 2001 (IPUMS); Integrated Census Microdata (I-CeM) (England and Wales for 1851-1861, 1881-1921 and Scotland for 1851-1901, and 1921)
United States 1790+ Social Explorer 1850+
Uruguay 1852-2011; 2011 Shape Files 1963, 1975, 1985, 1996, 2006, 2011
Venezuela 1873, 2001, 2011; 2011 Social Data Shape Files 1971,1981,1990,2001
Vietnam   1989,1999, 2009
Zambia 1969-2010 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010
Zimbabwe 2012+ 2012