Skip to main content

Health Data

International Health Data - General

Some additional sources (including microdata sources) can be found on the Data and Statistical Services health pages.  (can filter by country or region).

OECD Health Data
Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.

Global Health Observatory (formerly WHOSIS)
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization. For other information from the World Health Organization, see their website.

Global Health Expenditures Database.
Provides internationally comparable numbers on national health expenditures. 1995+

Country Trends in Metabolic Risk Factors
Statistics by country for blood pressure, body mass index, cholesterol, diabetes, and glucose. Discontinued.

Global Health Statistics: A Compendium of Incidence, Prevalence, and Mortality Estimates for Over 200 Conditions. World Health Organization, 1996.
(DSS and Stokes) RA407.M87 1996

World Health Statistics. (Various titles) World Health Organization, 1939+
Includes health and demographic data and causes of death, life tables, and mortality trends. In some years the data was split into various titles and there is more than one call number:

1939-1946 (Firestone) HB1321.W89q
1947-1961 (Firestone) HB1321 .W89
1962-1978 (Firestone and Annex B) HB1321 .W89
1980 (Firestone and Stokes) RA960 .W67q
1979-1981 (Firestone and Stokes) RA643 .W67q
1979-1982 (Firestone) RA407.A1 W67q
1983-1996 (UN) RA651.A85q
2005+ online and (UN) RA651.W646q

 

World Health Report . World Health Organization.
combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject. Available online for 1995+.

MyiLibrary contains many publications from the World Health Organization and UNAIDS and other agencies.
 

Demographic and Health Surveys

Demographic and Health Surveys
One of the most important sources for developing nations.  Both micro and summary level statistics are presented.Used to evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Provides national and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. Microdata is available free of charge by request. Used to evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Provides national and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. First check characteristics and sample sizes. See the model questionnaires.

International Health Data - HIV and AIDS

Some of the general international health data sources may also contain information on HIV/AIDS.

Burden of HIV/AIDS by country 1990-2010

 
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base Compilation of information from widely scattered small-scale surveys on the AIDS pandemic and HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries.
AIDS Public Data Set Contains counts of AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome) cases reported to the CDC by state and local health departments from 1981-2002. Case counts can be retrieved by demographics, case-definition, date of diagnosis, date of report, HIV exposure group (risk factors), and mortality.  Current data can be found in the NCHHSTP Atlas.

International Health Guides

International Health Data Reference Guide. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2003.

Global Health Data Exchange.  Catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data.  Can search by country.

 

Health Data - Latin America

Some of the other international health data sources may also contain information on Latin American health.

Health in the Americas. Pan American Health Organization (PAHO). (UN) RA407.A1 H42 (1950+, 2012)
Published irregularly. Volume I describes the health situation from a regional perspective and contains a series of chapters that identify and analyze the most important general, demographic, and mortality trends of the period; major determinants of health as seen from a variety of political, social, economic, and financial standpoints; principal trends and characteristics of the ongoing health sector reform movement; the role of individuals and communities in promoting health; the association between the physical environment and human living conditions; principal diseases and health problems; the extent of human and technological resources available to address health issues today; and the status and achievements of international and bilateral cooperation within the context of the growing tendency toward trade globalization. Volume II consists of a breakdown of these same topics by country and covers the 45 nations and territories of the Americas. Also see Health Situation in the Americas:  Basic Indicators 2016. Also from PAHO is the Regional Core Health Data Initiative includes 80 essential health indicators to quantitatively characterize the health situation of  49 countries and territories of the Region of the Americas for the period 1995+. With this system, you can construct tables by any combination of indicator(s)/country(ies)/year(s).  For other information from PAHO, see their website.

Health Data - Europe

Some of the other international health data sources may also contain information on European health.

World Health Organization. Europe. Interactive Atlases
Publicly available socioeconomic and health-related indicators from EUROSTAT databases have been used to produce the atlases. The NUTS 2 regions are the main geographical units of analysis. Variables displayed in maps, graphs and tables represent more than 600 individual indicators.

European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction.