Skip to main content

Molecular Biology Research Guide: Reference Sources

This guide will assist you in getting familiar with Princeton's scholarly resources in Molecular Biology.

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience

Encyclopedia of the Neuroscience (2009)

The Encyclopedia of Neuroscience explores all areas of the discipline in its focused entries on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and peer reviewed by the advisory board before acceptance into the encyclopedia.

Sample Entry on Primate Communication: Evolution 


Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (1997+)

The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles on a broad range of biology related topics. This is an encyclopedia with in-depth, scholarly coverage of major concepts in the life sciences.

Here is a sample entry from the ELS about DNA mismatch repair. In each ELS article, you will find the "References" and "Further Reading" sections helpful for developing your knowledge of the article topic.


 AccessScience (2002+)

Includes The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10th edition, McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography.

Here is a sample article from AccessScience on Apoptosis.

Biological Sciences Librarian

Louise Deis's picture
Louise Deis
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211


Email me