Skip to main content

Molecular Biology Research Guide: Managing References

This guide will assist you in getting familiar with Princeton's scholarly resources in Molecular Biology.

Endnote


Watch these video tutorials to learn how to use the basic and advanced features of Endnote and EndNote Web.
 
Tutorials
Purchase EndNote Client Software License:

RefWorks Tutorials

 

Watch these video tutorials to learn how to  use the basic and advanced features in Refworks. There is also a tutorial on the new RefShare feature in Refworks, which works great for group projects. Printable handouts are available for each tutorial, just look for the "print version" link

Tutorials:

Zotero Tutorials

Visit the Zotero Quick Start Guide page to view a video on using Zotero and read more about Zotero. The guide is also available in PDF.

More screencast tutorials are available here.

Three Options for Citation Management

Here is a summary - see also the full comparison chart below.


Refworks
Easy-to-use web-based product
available to all Princeton users (www.refworks.com). RefWorks allows you to import references from Princeton's Main Catalog and many electronic databases to which Princeton subscribes. You can conveniently compile a list of sources you intend to read--as you identify them--and save the list online. For more information see the Using Refworks at Princeton Guide.

 

Endnote
The leader among bibliographic managment applications. Endnote is a robust, locally installed (rather than web-based) application which can handle the book-length documents and complex scenarios but has a steep learning curve. Software and updates can be purchased at a discount from OIT's Princeton Software Repository. For more information see the Using Endnote at Princeton Guide.

 

Zotero
Easy-to-use open source tool (http://www.zotero.org/) that is accessible via the web—works right in your Firefox browser. Using Zotero, it is easy to capture and save citations found on webpages, and to add notes and other information to saved citations for efficient organization. Lacks the storage capabilities of Refworks and Endnote. For more extensive information regarding how to use Zotero see the Using Zotero at Princeton Guide.

Comparison Chart

EndNote EndNote Web Zotero RefWorks Procite
Cost $16 from PSR Free to PU users Free Free to PU users $200
Web based access/storage No Yes Must sign up for an account
Yes No
Import references from online databases Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Store references online and share with others No Yes Must sign up for an account Yes No
MS Word integration Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Create custom bibliographic styles Yes No No, but can import EndNote styles Yes Yes
Use Find it @PUL full-text links Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Requires online connection No Yes No Yes No
Other Available for Windows and MacOS Only works with Firefox, Safari, and Chrome browsers. Available for Windows and MacOS

EndNote Web

Getting Started with EndNote Web
Collect Organize Format
1 Collect 2 Organize 3 Format
Collect references from electronic and traditional sources.
  • Search online database
  • Create a reference manually
  • Import references
Organize your references for your research topics and papers.
  • Create a new group
  • Share a group
  • Find duplicate references
Create a formatted bibliography for your paper or cite references while you write.
  • Create a formatted bibliography
  • Cite While You Write™ Plug-in
  • Format a paper