Research Guides: Population Research: Population and Environment

Find Books

The relationship between population dynamics and the environment is complex, ranging from the purely demographic to mediating factors such as climate change, land use, energy. and cultural forces. if you are just getting started on this topic, the Subject Headings below may be useful when searching for books in the Main Catalog. Note that it is possible to narrow the search to a particular geographic location.

Population--Environmental aspects--(country name)
(Country name)--Population--Environmental aspects
Population--Environmental aspects--Developing countries
Population--Environmental aspects--Developed countries
Overpopulation
Population policy--Environmental aspects
(Country name)--Population policy

Here are some suggested Subject Headings for narrower population topics related to the environment:

Migration, Internal--Environmental aspects
Emigration and immigration--Environmental aspects
Fertility, Human--Environmental aspects
Reproductive health--Environmental aspects
Mortality--Environmental aspects
Population and Environmental Policy
Population and Environmental degradation
Emigration and immigration and Environmental degradation
Migration, Internal and Environmental degradation
Demographic transition and Environmental degradation
Overpopulation and Environmental degradation
Population forecasting combined with the keyword "Environment"
Population research combined with the keyword "Environment"

To narrow your search even further, try these Guided Searches:

Keywords: population and "environmental aspects" and "food supply"
Keywords: population and "environmental aspects" and "water supply"
Keywords: population and "environmental aspects" and technology
Keywords: population and "environmental aspects" and biodiversity
Keywords: population and "environmental aspects" and "sustainable development"
Keywords: population and "environmental aspects" and "climatic changes"
Keywords: "demographic transition" and environment

Encyclopedias

Here are some reference materials for starting your research:

International Handbook of Population and Environment by Lori M. Hunter (Editor); Clark Gray (Editor); Jacques Véron (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030764326
Publication Date: 2022-02-08
Overview of theory, data, methods and research findings that connect human population dynamics and environmental context.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by Robin Morris Collin; Robert William Collin
ISBN: 9780313352621
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
Start with the search term "population"
World encyclopaedia of habitat and population by chairman, board of editors, Priya Ranjan Trivedi ; executive chairman, Madan Lal Dewan ; members, Uttam Kumar Singh ... [et al.]
Call Number: SPR HB849.415 .W674 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Population by Paul George Demeny; Geoffrey McNicoll
ISBN: 0028659171
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
300+ signed articles on demographic and related topics. (Start with the search term "environment")
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by S. George Philander (Editor); Golson Books, Ltd. Staff
ISBN: 9781412992619
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
See "Entries A-Z" and select "population"

Search Specific Databases

GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the \Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management\ database. Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management and conservation.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine.
Population Index This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography of global demographic and population literature. Covers books, journal articles, working papers, doctoral dissertations and machine-readable data files. 1935-1999 available in JSTOR.
Newspapers at Princeton This link opens in a new window

Browse Population and Environment Journal

Population & Environment: A Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies

Working Papers and Technical Reports

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.