The Ansley J. Coale Population Research Collection is housed at Stokes Library, on the lower level of Wallace Hall. Approximately 60% of the collection consists of censuses and vital statistics from around the world, dating back to the very late 1800's. Other areas of concentration include: reproductive health, fertility, mortality, marriages, divorces, migration, family planning policy, immigration and health statistics. The Coale collection supplements the general Social Science collection housed in Firestone Library and does not house any microdata. For census or other population microdata, or to OCR scan a printed table and convert it to an Excel spreadsheet, see the Library's Data & Statistical Services.
Encyclopedia of Population by 
Demography: Analysis and Synthesis (4 vols.) by 
Dictionary of Demography . Multilingual glossery by 
Dictionary of Demography : Biographies (2 vols.) by 
Dictionary of Demography. Terms, concepts, and institutions (2 vols.) by 
A Concise History of World Population by 
Indigenous Peoples and Demography by The following Subject headings* are helpful when searching the Library Catalog:
(Country name) -- Census
(Country name) -- Statistics, Vital
Demographic surveys -- (country name)
(Country name) -- Population
(Continent/Country name) -- Population – History
(Specific groups*) – Population
Demography -- (Country name)
Demography -- Methodology
Demographic transition
Family Demography
Marriage -- (country name) -- Statistics
Marriage age -- (country name) -- Statistics
Divorce -- (country name) -- Statistics
Mortality -- (country name) -- Statistics
Mortality -- (country name) -- Tables
Fertility, Human -- (country name) -- Statistics
Birth Intervals -- Statistics
Contraception -- Statistics
Birth control -- (country name)
Family planning -- (country name)
Abortion -- statistics
Reproductive health -- (country name)
Immigration and emigration -- (country name)
Undocumented immigrants -- (country name)
Noncitizens -- (country name)
Migration, Internal -- (country name)
Internal migrants -- (country name)
Immigrants -- (country name) – Statistics
Forced migration
Climate migration See: Immigration and emigration -- Environmental aspects OR Forced migration -- Environmental aspects
Rural population -- Statistics
Population forecasting -- (country name)
Life expectancy - Statistics
Population Research
Reproductive rights
(Country name) -- Mathematical models
(Specific groups*) - Statistics
*For particular groups use the term for the group name (see below for some examples). Terms are provided by the Library of Congress.
Ethnic groups
African Americans
Asian Americans
Hispanic Americans
Indigenous peoples of Mexico
Indigenous peoples of North America
*Subject headings provided by the Library of Congress.
