Population Statistics - General
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowStatistics as well as full-text books, periodicals, and working papers published by the OECD, International Energy Agency, and the International Transport Forum.
- Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets) This link opens in a new windowProvides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. Data is also accessible through Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference.
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new windowIncludes annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications. 1960+
- World Population Prospects This link opens in a new windowDemographic indicators including measures of fertility, life expectancy, migration, and measures of the impact of HIV/AIDS.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowProvides international demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 210 countries. Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.
- Demographic Yearbook byCall Number: Stokes HA41 .U58Publication Date: 1949-Worldwide statistics on population, birth, mortality, marriage, and divorce.
- The State of World Population byCall Number: Stokes HB848 .S727Publication Date: 2000-Annual UNFPA publication outlining population and reproductive health trends.
- Demographic and Health Surveys byPublication Date: 1987-Nationally-representative household surveys for individual countries. Includes data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition. Use the STATcompiler https://www.statcompiler.com/en/ to make custom tables based on thousands of demographic and health indicators across more than 90 countries.
- International Database byEstimates and projections for 228 countries and areas with a population of 5,000 or more and are recognized by the U.S. State Department from 1960-present. Includes population, fertility, mortality and migration.
- The Indigenous World byPublication Date: 1968-Publication of the International Working Group on Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA). Compilation of narrative regional and country reports about indigenous peoples often including statistics.
Historical Population Statistics
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Stokes/DSSISBN: 9780230005167Publication Date: 2008-01-15Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data collected between 1750-2010. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files. Also know as the B.R. Mitchell books.
The Historical Statistics of the United States by Call Number: Stokes Ref/ Firestone DSS HA202 .H57 2006ISBN: 0521817919Publication Date: 2006-01-30
Historical Statistics of Black America by Call Number: F AAS Reading Room E185 .H543 1995ISBN: 0810385422Publication Date: 1994-10-01Nearly 2000 tables of statistical information on blacks in North America from colonial times until 1975. Subject-specific chapters are chronologically arranged and reflect developments in black history. Subjects include slavery, and the migration of blacks into the south between 1870 and 1910.
The European Population, 1850-1945 by Call Number: Stokes Ref HB3581.A3 R68 2002ISBN: 0333777050Publication Date: 2002-09-19Comparative and historical data handbook covering demographic developments, and population and household structures for the countries of Western and Central Europe. All major fields of demographic change are covered: fertility, mortality, marriage, and divorce. Population figures are given for each population census by sex, civil status and age. Major demographic developments within the family are described providing a commentary on the main population structures and trends in Europe since the 19th century.
The European Population since 1945 by ISBN: 0333777069Publication Date: 2004-11-26A comparative and historical data handbook presenting series data on demographic developments, population and household structures for the countries of western and central Europe. All major fields of demographic change are covered: fertility, mortality, marriage and divorce.
Recent demographic developments in Europe by Call Number: Stokes HB3581 .R42qPublication Date: 1993-2005
See also: Censuses from individual countries
Country/Regional Population Statistics
- EPS China Statistics (English version) This link opens in a new windowConsists of 77 statistical datasets covering China’s macro economy, financial markets, industry, trade, resources and social statistics. The database has a particularly strong focus on city and county statistics. The database allows creation of charts and maps as well as formatting and simple analysis. Data can be individually selected and downloaded in various formats: Statistics (Excel), charts (JPEG), maps (Excel, PDF, JPEG).
- Eurostat This link opens in a new windowWide variety of economic and social indicators, nationally and regionally, for the European Union and its member states.
- Indiastat.com This link opens in a new windowSocio-economic statistical facts and figures for India at the national and state level. ACCESS NOTE: Click on "Login", then "Through IP Login" to access. One concurrent user.
- Universal Database of Statistics This link opens in a new windowStatistical publications from Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States. 1900+
- PSO (Prefectural Statistics Online): Shōwa-hen This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of prefectural statistics on various categories such as population, agriculture, industry. These statistics have been collected annually in each prefecture since the Meiji period.
- British Historical Population Reports Provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
- CEPALSTAT - Latin America and the Caribbean United Nations site with socio-demographic, economic and environmental data from countries in Latin America and Caribbean.
- South Asia Open Archives - Censuses of India reports 1871-1951.