Finding historical world newspapers at Princeton

Major non-U.S. papers for which Princeton holds long runs, in print, microfilm and/or digital format.

International Herald Tribune [Paris, France]

• English
• Current issues in DeLong Room
• Online issues available from 1887-2013
• MICROFILM S00070 (Dec. 1971-Dec. 1990 in Firestone Microforms Services; Jan. 1991-Oct. 2013 in RECAP)

Financial Times [Frankfurt, Germany]

• English
• Current issues in DeLong Room
• Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2021)
• Financial Times   Factiva [1980+] see Newspapers at Princeton
• RECAP MICROFILM S00930 [1888-2010]; RECAP MICROFILM S00884 [1981-1987]

Le Monde [Paris, France]

• French
• Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room
• MICROFILM S00909 [1944-1998]
• Gallica [1860-1896]
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers (December 19, 1944 - December 30, 2000)

Paris-Match (France, 1955+ Firestone Oversize AP20 .P375q; current issues in DeLong Room -- this is a weekly news magazine

Le Temps 1861-1940 [France] MICROFILM S00912 and see also Gallica [1861-1942].
See below for index.

Figaro (Paris) 1826-1894;1953 to date MICROFILM S00890 and see also Gallica [1826-1840, 1854] 

RetroNews
More than 400 French press titles published from 1631-1945.

Gallica: Les principaux quotidiens 
Digital editions of many important French periodicals of the 19th and the first half of the 20th century-- Le Temps, Figaro, Le Gaulois, Le Matin, and others..

Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848) Archives Unbound

France: reference

• Dictionnaire des journaux, 1600-1789. Sous la direction de Jean Sgard. Paris: Universitas, 1991. Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) Z6956.F8 D527 1991. This is the standard guide to French newspapers before the Revolution.
• Annuaire de la presse, de la publicité, et de la communication. Paris: Écran Publicité, 1987-
  RECAP Oversize Z6956.F8 A6q [check the catalog for holdings, which are irregular but begin with 1904]
• The national daily press of France. Clyde Thogmartin. Birmingham, Ala.: Summa Publications, 1998.
  Firestone PN4748.F7 T47 1998
  Excellent English-language introduction to French newspapers from the 17th century through the present.

Frankfurter Allgemeine

• German
• Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room
• Factiva [2001+] see Newspapers at Princeton
• MICROFILM S00852 [1953-present]

Die Zeit (1946-2012)

Der Spiegel (Germany, 1956+) Firestone Oversize AP30 .S654q; current issues in DeLong Room -- this is a weekly news magazine

ZEFYS Zeitungsinformationssytem which now includes nearly 100 German-language papers, most recently adding 3 papers from East Germany

Princeton University Library holds a generous selection of European newspapers and periodicals, especially in German, published during World War I. Many are in the RECAP remote storage facility. To find them, try searches in the Main Catalog for:

• World War, 1914-1918 Newspapers
• World War, 1914-1918 Periodicals

Germany: reference

• Stamm Leitfaden durch Presse und Werbung = Annual directory through press and advertising. Essen: Stamm Verlag GMBH, 1972-
   Annex A Z6956.G3 L4
• Iben, Icko. The Germanic press of Europe; an aid to research. Munster [Westf.]: Fahle, 1965.
  RECAP PN5110 .I246 1965
• Bibliographie der Zeitschriften des deutschen Sprachgebietes bis 1900. Hrsg. von Joachim Kirchner. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1969-1989. [covers 1831-1900]
  Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) Z6956.G3 K53

Corriere della Sera [Milan, Italy]

• Italian
• Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room
• Newsbank [1997+] see Newspapers at Princeton
• MICROFILM S00913 [1947+]

Italy: reference

• L'Italia del Risorgimento: giornali e riviste nelle raccolte della Biblioteca del Senato (1700-1918). Roma: Biblioteca del Senato della Repubblica, 1998.
  Firestone Library (F) Oversize Z6956.I8 I85 1998q

El Pais [Madrid, Spain]

• Spanish
• http://www.elpais.es/ [1976+]
• RECAP MICROFICHE 812; RECAP MICROFILM S00378

Spanish, Portuguese: Latin America, Spain and Portugal: Current information, newspapers and magazines

Hemeroteca Digital
This digital archive is a project of the National Library of Spain. It consists of 143 titles representing a wide variety of Spanish newspapers, ranging from 1772 to 1933.

Epoca (Madrid) 1870-1909 RECAP MICROFILM S01489

• Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room
• Irish Times (Nexis Uni) (1992+) see Newspapers at Princeton

Irish newspapers in Dublin libraries, 1685-1754
MICROFILM S01536

Irish political and radical newspapers of the twentieth century
This large microfilm collection covers 1895-1941 and is available through Interlibrary Loan from the Center for Research Libraries.

• Irish Newspaper Archive [1763+]
  Princeton does not subscribe to this fee-based archive, but individual researchers may purchase access for themselves.

Russian: 

• Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers
• Pravda Digital Archive (1912-2009)
• Izvestiia Digital Archive  (1917-2010)  

Moskovskiia Vedomosti 1813-1917 RECAP MICROFILM S00243; RECAP MICROFILM S01054

Russkiia Viedomosti 1863;1890;1897-1927 RECPA MICROFILM S01079

Dutch: [Dutch newspapers 1618-1995] from the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, including papers from the Dutch East Indies

Tiden: A Nordic Digital Newspaper Library [1640-1860]

http://www.letempsarchives.ch -- Swiss newspapers, 1798-1998

ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online 1568-1945