Finding historical world newspapers at Princeton

• English
• Guardian (Nexis Uni) (1984+) see Newspapers at Princeton
• Observer (Nexis Uni) (1992+) see Newspapers at Princeton
• RECAP MICROFILM S00618 (1944-2011)

Independent Digital Archive,1986-2012 in Gale News Vault

Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957

• Scotsman (Factiva) (1981+) see Newspapers at Princeton
• Scotsman (Nexis Uni) (1993+) see Newspapers at Princeton

Telegraph (1855-2016)

• English
• Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room
• Times London (Nexis Uni) (July 1, 1985+) see Newspapers at Princeton
• Palmer's Full Text Online & Index to the Times (1790-1905)
• Official Index to The Times (1906-1980)
• RECAP MICROFILM S00827 (1788-2009)
• Note: back issues of the Times of London are available through two different services. The first includes full text, and the second combines full text with an online version of the print index (Palmer's). Note that some readers prefer to consult the paper version of the index, which is shelved in Firestone Microforms Services (FilmB): AI21.T5.

Democracy at War: Canadian Newspapers and the Second World War

Welsh Newspapers Online

• Nineteenth-Century English Serials Edition
  Free, online edition of nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.
• Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845
• Papers Past: New Zealand Papers and Periodicals [1860-1910]
• Early English newspapers
  MICROFILM S00509
  English newspaper titles originally published between 1603 and 1890. A comprehensive collection of more than 800 early newspapers representing metropolitan London, areas outside London, and colonial possessions, excluding America. Most are from the eighteenth century, but seventeenth-century corantos, diurnals, and newsbooks are also included. There is a printed guide at FilmB Z6956.G6 T47 1983b. Princeton holds the entire series up through Unit 53, and new units/titles are added from time to time.
• Last Chance to Read is a for-profit, privately published collection of digitized 18th and 19th century periodicals. Individuals can pay for access; there is no library subscription available. Many of the periodicals are also available elsewhere, so check the collections above before signing up for this service. 

• Sixteenth and seventeenth century newsletters [microform]. Marlborough, Eng.: Adam Matthew, 2002-
  Firestone Microforms Services (Film) MICROFILM 11791
  Newsletters c. 1564-1667, and related papers c. 1607-1764, from the Public Record Office.
• Newsletters of Richard Bulstrode, 1667-1689: from the Harry Ransome Humanities Research Center at the University of Texas at Austin
  Firestone Microforms Services (Film) Microfilm 11782
• A bibliography of English corantos and periodical newsbooks, 1620-1642. By Folke Dahl. London: Bibliographical Society, 1952.
  Annex A, Forrestal: Z6956.E5 D3
  A useful bibliographic guide to the earliest English-language news publications. Note that the author's collection of early newsbooks, corantos, and newspapers is held in Princeton's Special Collections Department: see the finding aid at The Folke Dahl Collection of Early Newsbooks, Corantos, and Newspapers and the general description at Guide to Selected Special Collections under "Newspapers."

• Many resources on the British Library web site, including Concise History of the British Press
• Tercentenary handlist of English & Welsh newspapers, magazines & reviews. London: The Times, 1920. Section I. London and suburban press -- II. Provincial press.
  Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) Z6956.E5 T5
• British newspapers and periodicals, 1641-1700: a short-title catalogue of serials printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, and British America: with a checklist of serials printed 1701-March 1702 and chronological, geographical, foreign language, subject, publishers, and editor indexes, 1641-1702. Compiled by Carolyn Nelson and Matthew Seccombe. Modern Language Association of America, 1987.
  Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc): Z6956.G6 N44 1987
• Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 
• The Waterloo directory of Irish newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900. John S. North.
  Waterloo, Ont.: North Waterloo Academic Press, 1986.
  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone Z6956.I7 N67
• The Waterloo directory of Scottish newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900. John S. North. Waterloo, Ont.: North Waterloo Academic Press, 1989.
  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone Z6956.S36 N67
• The Encyclopedia of the British press, 1422-1992. Edited by Dennis Griffiths. New York, NY: St. Martin's Press, 1992.
  Firestone Library (F) PN5114 .E53 1992
• The newspaper press in Britain: an annotated bibliography. Edited by David Linton and Ray Boston. London; New York: Mansell, 1987.
  Firestone Z6956.G6 L56 1987