Research Guides: Finding historical world newspapers at Princeton: Asia

China

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) Various English-language newspapers and periodicals produced in China. Major titles included are the North China Herald (1850-1941) and the Chinese repository (1832-1851), but included are also large runs of the Chinese recorder (1868-1941) and the China weekly review (1923-1950), as well as some short runs of a handful of periodicals of mainly the Republican period: the Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), China Monthly Review (1950-1953), China Press (1925-1938), Millard's China National Review (1919-1919), Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919), Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921), and Weekly Review (1922-1923). Ads, social notices etc. are all separately indexed and searchable.
North China Herald This link opens in a new window
Primary English language newspaper in China. Published in Shanghai. We also have China Herald (1850-1941) in microform: RECAP MICROFILM S00782
North China Daily News Online This link opens in a new window
Published as the Daily Edition of the weekly North China Herald, this was the most influential foreign daily in East Asia. 1869-1949
North China Standard Online This link opens in a new window
The North-China Standard was Japan’s propaganda newspaper in China, influential through its distribution at international conferences. 1919-1927
South China Morning Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
1903-2001. For 1993+ see the Catalog.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
Weekly collection of Chinese press materials in English translation.
Covers politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, and culture. Articles originate from major state news sources. All articles are full-text searchable. 2011+

China-Coast newspaper project [microform]
RECAP MICROFILM S01538
A collection of English-language papers published during the 19th and early 20th centuries in China. See the catalog record for details.

India

World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers include Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka), Indian People (Allahabad), Kayasare hinda (Bombay), Leader (Allahabad), Madras Mail (Madras), Pioneer (Allahabad), and Tribune (Lahore).
Times of India (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
1838-2011. For the most recent years, use Newsbank.

Current 6 months in Periodicals Room
Newsbank (2001+) see Newspapers at Princeton
http://www.timesofindia.com [last month only]
RECAP MICROFILM S00829 [1959-1994]

Japan

Japan Chronicle Weekly This link opens in a new window
Well-informed, but controversial newspaper founded and based in Kobe, tracing Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence onto the world stage. Includes the weekly Commercial Supplement. 1902-1940
Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
English newspaper in Japan since 1897. Archive includes the Japan Times only, not the back issues of the newspapers it merged with along its history (1918: The Japan Mail, 1940: The Japan Advertiser and The Japan Chronicle.

Japan Weekly Mail 1886-1916 RECAP MICROFILM S01542

Korea

Korea Times [Seoul]

English
No print subscription
Newsbank [2001+]; Ethnic Newswatch [1994+] see Newspapers at Princeton
RECAP MICROFILM S01824 [1956-2000]