Skip to main content

Religion: Print Reference Sources

Religion Research Guide

Judaism Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Judaica.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: DS102.8.E496

Contemporary Jewish Religious Thought.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BM50.C64 1987

The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BM50.O94 1997

Cambridge History of Judaism.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BM155.2 C35 1984

Index to Jewish Periodicals.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: Call Number: Z6367 .I5

Tanakh: the Holy Scriptures .
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS895 .J4 1999

The Talmud: the Steinsaltz edition.
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: Oversize BM499.5 .E4 1989q
Near East Collection (SY). Firestone: Oversize BM499.5 .E4 1989q

The Mishnah: a new translation.
Near East Collection (SY). Firestone: BM497.5.E5 N48 1988

Christianity Reference Sources

General Christianity (See also: Resources for Biblical Exegesis)

Bible (various editions)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS75-BS299

Concordances to the Bible (various)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS423-BS425

Anchor Bible Dictionary.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS440.A54 1992

The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BS440 .H235 1996 )--

Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS440.I63

The Interpreter's Bible
Religion Graduate Study Room (SREL). Firestone 3rd Fl: 5201.493
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS491 .I65

The New Interpreter's Bible. Not yet available at Princeton.
Location: *Speer Reference (non-circulating): Princeton Theological Seminary
Call Number: REF BS491.2 .N484 1994

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BR95.O9 1997 (ready reference)

Encyclopedia of the Early Church.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BR66.5.D5813 1991q

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BR162.2 E53 1997

Coptic Encyclopedia.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BX130.5.C66 1991

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BR302. O93 1996

Cities of the Biblical World
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS621.D495 1997

Oxford Bible Atlas
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BS630.O96 1984

Masterpieces of Christian Literature in Summary Form (2 vols.)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BR50 .M22 1963

 

Catholicism

New Catholic Encyclopedia.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BX841 .N44 2003

The Official Catholic Directory
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BX845 .C5

Catholic Almanac.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: AY81.R6N3 (ready reference)

Papal Encyclicals, 1740 - 1980
Firestone Library (F): BX860 .C37 1981

Directory of Papal Encyclicals

Butler's Lives of the Saints (12 vols.)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BX4654 .B8 1926

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Available at the Princeton Theological Seminary
Location: *Speer Reference (non-circulating): REF AI3 .C373
Library has: v.14 (1967/1968) - v.36 (2001)

 

Mythology Reference Sources

Dictionary of Classical Mythology...
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL715.B44

Man, Myth & Magic: the Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BF1411.M25 1983

Mythology of All Races.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: GR500.M99

Guide to the Gods
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL473 .L43 1992

Goddesses in World Mythology
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL473.5 .A66 1993

Women of Classical Mythology.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL715.B445 1991

The Woman's Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL458 .W34 1983

Bulfinch's Mythology: The age of fable, The age of chivalry, Legends of Charlemagne
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL310 .B82 1970

The Golden Bough : a study in magic and religion, by James George Frazer
Scribner Room (SE). Firestone B-Fl GN451.F87

The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Egypt : an illustrated dictionary
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL2428 .xL8713 1980

General Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Religion.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL31.E46 1987

Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL31.E4

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL60.E53 1998

The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL31 .O946 1997

Encyclopedia of millennialism and millennial movements
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BT891 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (2 vols.)

General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL458.E53 1999

Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BJ1199.W47 1986

Encyclopedia of Ethics.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BJ63.E45 1992

Encyclopedia of Bioethics.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: QH332.E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BJ63.E44 1998

Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: CB5.D52 1973

Islam Reference Sources

Encyclopaedia of Islam (9vols.)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: DS35.53 .E53 1987 & on CD-ROM

Concise Encyclopedia of Islam
Near East Graduate Study Room (SNE). Firestone B-Fl: BP40 .C66 2001

al-Qur'¯an : a contemporary translation / by Ahmed Ali. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 1988.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BP109 .A4 1988

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World (4 vols.)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: DS35.53 .O95 1995

Islam and Islamic Groups: A Worldwide Reference Guide.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BP10.I73 1992

The Muslim Almanac.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BP40.M83 1996

Buddhism Reference Sources

The Encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and Religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL1005 .L4813 1989

Encyclopaedia of Buddhism (6 vols.)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL1403 .E5

A Popular Dictionary of Buddhism
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BQ130 .H85 1984

Guide to Buddhist Religion
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone Z7860 .R48

Guide to Buddhist philosophy
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone Z7128.B93 I53 1985

Buddhist scriptures : a bibliography
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone Z7862 .C66 1982

The Sacred Books of the East (50 vols.) Edited by Friedrich Max Muller.
Firestone Library (F): BL1010 .S3 1962

The Buddhist Directory
Firestone Library (F): BQ730 .B83 1997

Hinduism Reference Sources

Hindu World:an encyclopedic survey of Hinduism (2 vols.)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL1105 .W34 1968

Encyclopaedia of Hinduism (5 vols.)
( Firestone Library (F) BL1105 .S454 1999 )--

A Concise Encyclopedia of Hinduism ( Firestone Library (F) In process:1 Copy Received as of 11-21-00 )--

The Encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and Religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL1005 .L4813 1989

Guide to Hindu Religion
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone Z7835.B8 D44 )--

The Sacred Books of the East (50 vols.) Edited by Friedrich Max Muller.
Firestone Library (F): BL1010 .S3 1962

American Religion Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience: Studies of Traditions and Movements.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL2525.E53 1988

Encyclopedia of American Religious History.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL2525.Q44 1995

Encyclopedia of American Religions.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL2525.M449 1993

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: E98.R3 H73 1992

Encyclopedia of African American Religions.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BR563.N4553 1993

Encyclopedic Handbook of Cults in America.
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone: BL2525.M45 1992

Contemporary American Religion (2 vols)
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL2525 .C65 2000

Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BL2525 .E52 1999

Encyclopedia of Religion in the South
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone BR535 .E52 1984

Women in American Religious History : an annotated bibliography
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone Z7963.R45 B37 1986

New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone Oversize G1201.E4 N48 2001q

Atlas of religious change in America, 1952-1990
General and Humanities Reference (DR): Atlases. Firestone G1201.E4 H3 1994