Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRI 146: Constructing the Past: Princeton Art Museum

Guide for using the library successfully in Emma Ljung's writing seminar.

Art on the PU Campus

See: Sculpture of Princeton University : including works from the John B. Putnam Jr. Memorial Collection in Marquand-Reference, NB235.P74 P74 2004, and Firestone-Trustee Reading Room, LD4600, Box 2, Folder 5; and, Living with modern sculpture : The John B. Putnam, Jr., Memorial Collection, Princeton University, by Patrick J. Kelleher, in Marquand-Reference, NB198 .P74 (and many other copies on campus).

Antioch Mosaics

Mosaics from the joint expedition to Antioch-on-the-Orontes, Syria (now Turkey) in the 1930s are located throughout the Princeton campus and vicinity: in the Museum, elsewhere in McCormick Hall, the School of Architecture, in Firestone and Marquand Libraries (the latter, adjacent to the library entrance, and on B Floor, in the far back: wall text on the far left wall), and at the Institute for Advanced Study. Books at Princeton on Antioch begin with call number NA 3770, for the most part, so one can browse here in Marquand, or else do a Call number browse by call number in the library catalog. [You will find a 2014 book on Antioch at DS99.A6 A58 2014.]

A list of additional citations is available upon request.

I need information on a work of art in the Princeton University Art Museum.

  • The Museum’s database including objects in the collection is available online; in some cases there will be bibliographical information available. NOTE: links to bibliography may link to worldcat.org for library holdings (some link to JSTOR). In some cases, the item in question MAY actually be in our collection despite what is indicated, so do cut and paste a title (book or journal name) into the library catalog to confirm we have/don't have a particular source. One can also now search both library and museum content together via the "All-Search" feature on the library website. Try a search for monet, or claude monet, for example, and see the results under the grouping labeled Art Museum Collections for museum collections (appears at bottom center of search results).
  • A Handbook of the Collections was published in 2007 (Marquand Reference N714.P65 A65 2007), and revised in 2013 (Marquand reference and stacks N714.P65 A65 2013). A first volume of American Art in the Princeton University Art Museum, on Drawings and Watercolors, was published in 2004, Roman Sculpture in the Art Museum in 2001, Selections from the Art Museum in 1986, and other titles. Do a search using the Catalog: "Princeton University Art Museum" and ________ (keyword of your choice); one may wish to try "art museum Princeton University" as well to identify other collection and exhibition catalogs. Sort results by title or date, as you wish. 
  • One good starting point for researching the artist of your object, if known, is Oxford Art Online.  Search there for an artist, e.g. Claude Monet, or a region, e.g. Mexico, or a theme, and you will retrieve encyclopedia articles from Grove Art Online and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists (for artists), and other sources. Experts in the field have written these articles and provide bibliographical information for important scholarly books and articles. See the Artist/Architect/Designer tab of this guide for locating material on a specific artist.
  • You may need to search for books about the type of artwork your Museum object is (sarcophagus, Greek vase, Impressionist painting, etc.), or locate books about the artist, if known: this would involve keyword and/or subject searches using the library catalog. 
  • Search for the work in the museum's publication, Record of the Art Museum, and its predecessor Record of the Museum of Historic Art, although these citations often appear in the Museum's database. The Record is available in full in JSTOR (online) except for the last several years: Browse by Title, and select Record of the Art Museum.  Then, put your term(s) in the search box: a keyword, the title of the work in quotes, and/or the artist: e.g. Monet and haystacks. Each result should tell you at the top where in the article the search term(s) appears. For more recent years of the Record, do a search in Art & Architecture Source, and then retrieve the issue in question from Marquand stacks: N512.P88 M9.
  • For locating journal articles other than in the Record, see the Journal Articles tab in this guide. NOTE: while there may not be an entire book about a particular work of art or ones like it, there may be an article, and one can search on a more specific topic when searching for articles than for books. The Can't Find a Book tab in this guide offers general tips for locating Marquand books. Comparative works listed on other museum websites might also be useful.
  • Image needs for PUAM works of art: try ArtStor (artstor.org) or e-mail musphoto@princeton.edu .

Assistant Art Librarian

Profile Photo
Rebecca Friedman
Contact:
Firestone Library, A-15G
rfriedma@princeton.edu
609-258-3163 or -3783
Website Skype Contact: Zoom: https://princeton.zoom.us/my/artlibrarian