Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRI 146: Constructing the Past: Archaeology Resources

Guide for using the library successfully in Emma Ljung's writing seminar.

Section credit and Princeton resources

This section on archaeology was initially compiled by Marquand Library intern Caitlin Servilio in Fall 2010.
Princeton's Visual Resources Collection in the Department of Art & Archaeology oversees archaeological archives for the Department.

Reference Books

The following are only a selected list of additional archaeology reference books available at Marquand and Firestone.  Click on the links to go to the Library Catalog to search by title, author or call number.

Web Resources

There are many websites with archaeological information, including:

  • Oxford Art Online's article on archaeology 
  • The Archaeological Institute of America website (has information about Archaeology magazine and the American Journal of Archaeology as well as help for students who want to get involved in fieldwork and site preservation projects); general information here
  • The Archaeology Channel (has streaming audio-visual resources about archaeology and important historical sites)
  • ArchaeoSeek (billing itself as a social network for archaeologists, this site offers a place to discuss and connect with other archaeology enthusiasts)
  • Artefacts (French database of "petits objets archéologiques.")
  • National Archaeological Database (according to its website, "an effort was initiated by the National Park Service Archaeological Assistance Division in the 1980s to improve nationwide access to information on archeological activities")

Databases

Here are some online databases available at Princeton (to see a list of all of the Art & Archaeology databases, click here, or alternatively search for databases with the word archaeology or archeology; the GEOSCIENCES and HISTORY, etc. lists of databases may include others of interest/relevance):

If you need to search for images, try this Image Searching page .

More websites

Browsing for Archaeology Resources

Princeton has over 100 e-journals with archaeology as a subject.  Access them here.

If you're browsing for books on a certain archaeological subject, it might be worthwhile to first look up the call number range that your subject is likely to be in using the Library of Congress Classification system

Here are a few general classes that might be useful:

C Auxiliary Sciences of History

  • CC Archaeology
  • CJ Numismatics
  • CS Geneology
  • CB History of Civilization

D World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, etc.

  • DE Greco-Roman History

You may visit these call number areas in Firestone or Marquand to browse for relevant content, however a virtual browse via the library catalog will be more complete due to substantial collections out at ReCAP (remote storage) and inaccessibility of Marquand stacks during Art Museum construction (2021-24/25 or so).