Skip to Main Content

Economics Juniors (2021) Environmental Economics

Environmental Data Sources - General

World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators
Annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications. Provides data from 1960 to the present.  If researching African nations, also see Africa Development Indicators which has some additional variables. 
Recording on using WDI.

Data-Planet Datasets
Data Planet LibGuides Blog - Data Planet LibGuides at Data Planet ...
Wide variety of economic, labor, social, environmental, and political indicators from many US government agencies as well as international bodies. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics.  Includes data from the World Resources Institute (discontinued), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (weather data), the World Bank (global climate change), and the Environmental Protection Agency (air quality).   Rich sour ce of socioeconomic data.
Recording on content and using Data-Planet

 

International Energy Agency . (for data see individual links below)
International Energy Agency (IEA) | Tethys
Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas, oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development, world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies.
Recording on IEA content and use

United States. Energy Information Administration.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) | Administration ...
Official energy statistics from the United States government on petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear power, renewable and alternative fuels, and the environment.
Recording on EIA content and use

 

Power etrack

Solar PV could cater to Sub-Saharan Africa's power troubles amid ...
Databases related to the power industry (electricity and alternative energy), the latest news and deals, company profiles and opinions and research reports. Includes power plants, transmission and distribution, deals and project finance. Also includes statistical reports on alternative power sources including wind, hydro, solar, geothermal, bio, ocean, transportation biofuels, fuel cells along with energy storage, efficiency, and infrastructure; and carbon.  

Recording on using Power eTrack

Environmental, Social and Governance Data (ESG)

MSCI ESG KLD Stats
MSCI (formerly KLD and GMI)
Leading authority on socially conscious investment research. 1991+. Environmental ratings include production of beneficial products and services, pollution prevention, recycling, clean energy, hazardous waste, regulatory problems, ozone depleting chemicals, substantial emissions, agricultural chemicals, climate change, and nuclear power. For the constituents of the Domini Social 400 Index (inception through November 7, 2008) see the DSS page.
Recording for using KLD and RepRisk

 


RepRisk ESG
RepRisk
Data on 55,000+ public and private companies, from all countries and sectors. Project-level data (14,000+) including mines, pipelines, factories, etc. Unique perspective on company performance and risk exposure – based on media, stakeholders, and 3rd party sources in 15 languages for environmental, social, and governance issues. Environmental issues include global pollution (including climate change and GHG emissions), impacts on ecosystems/landscapes, local pollution, overuse and wasting of resources, products (health and environmental issues), waste issues, and other environmental issues.  Available through WRDS.  2007+.

Earthquakes and other Disasters

World Disasters Report. Includes information and statistics on droughts, famines, aid, emergency relief, numbers of disasters, amount of damages, refugees and asylum seekers. HV55.W67 -- 1993-2009.  2000+ Online.

Significant Earthquake Database Contains information on destructive earthquakes from 2150 B.C. to the present that meet at least one of the following criteria: Moderate damage (approximately $1 million or more), 10 or more deaths, Magnitude 7.5 or greater, Modified Mercalli Intensity X or greater, or the earthquake generated a tsunami.

Significant Earthquakes of the World. Earthquakes of magnitude 6.5 or greater or ones that caused fatalities, injuries or substantial damage since 1900.

EM-DAT International Disasters Database. Contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present.

SHELDUS

Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database for the United States ...
County-level hazard loss data set for the U.S. for 18 different natural hazard events types such as thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornadoes. For each event the database includes the beginning date, location (county and state), property losses, crop losses, injuries, and fatalities that affected each county. Does not include Puerto Rico, Guam, or other U.S. territories.  
Recording on content and using SHELDUS


United States Geological Survey.  Earthquake Hazards Program.  International data on earthquakes.

Contextual Data

In addition to World Development Indicators and DataPlanet,Social Explorer is a useful source for contextual data.  Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present.  Includes the United States Census and the American Community Survey.
Recordings: ACS Methodology; ACS through Social Explorer; ACS through IPUMS