Contents
Core Resources
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowContinuously-updated encyclopedia to all aspects of classical antiquity. 5th ed. 2016. See here for its list of abbreviations of both scholarly journals and classical works (or download PDF).
- Oxford Bibliographies: Classics This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative classical scholarship.
- Perseus Digital LibraryTexts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries. Also includes an Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser. Try the Scaife Viewer, Perseus' new text interface.
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowMain index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals. 1924+
- Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new windowTexts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods. For a database of the classical texts with a simpler interface see Classical Latin Texts, the online version of the PHI CD-ROM.
- Loeb Classical LibraryOnline access to all of the in print volumes of this major series of Greek and Latin texts with facing translations.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new windowTexts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).
Ready Reference
- LogeionQuick look-up of Greek and Latin words across all of the Perseus lexica.
- ΜΟΡΦΩLogeion's Greek morphology parser.
- English / Latin or Greek DictionaryOpen the pulldown "English-to-[Language] lookup"
- Commentaries of classical authorsDownload a spreadsheet of classical commentaries with links to their Catalog record.
- Bibliography RecommendationsPrinceton Classics Department's recommendations for footnote and bibliography entry formatting. Journal article exercise.
- SonicWallInstallation instructions for SRA (Secure Remote Access) software necessary for authenticated off-campus access to purchased Library resources.
- Citation managementLibrary support and training for Zotero, Mendeley, Refworks and Endnote.
Encyclopedias
- Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new windowEnglish version of an important German encyclopedia of the ancient world (also, see the on-going digitization at Wikisource of the original "big" Pauly, the Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft). Topics are from one of two sections: Antiquity, which covers the ancient world of Greece and Rome, and the Classical Tradition, which covers the history of classical scholarship.
- Cambridge Ancient History This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative history of the ancient world presented in downloadable PDF chapters.
- Cambridge Companions: ClassicsCollections of essays by leading scholars on major topics in Classics.
- Digital Encyclopedia of AtticismDatabase of lexicographic entries drawn from "ancient 'dictionaries' that collect linguistic features to be cultivated or avoided in correct Greek."
- Encyclopedia of the Ancient WorldCovers the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE., extending to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.
- Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of AntiquityProvides biographical information, bibliography and discussion of each grammarian, including the Greek text of preserved fragments.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowContinuously-updated encyclopedia to all aspects of classical antiquity. 5th ed. 2016.
- Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization This link opens in a new windowProvides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.
Bibliographies
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowMain index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals. 1924+
- Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt (ANRW)Handbbook of "Roman Studies in the broadest sense, and includes the history of the reception and influence of Roman Culture up to the present time." Scroll down to "Work Overview" to access each volume.
- Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and TextsSupplement of Brill's New Pauly provides an overview of the major authors and then lists all significant papyri, manuscripts, scholia, early and contemporary authoritative editions, translations and commentaries.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowProjekt Dyabola provides access to the multilingual and regularly updated Archaeological Bibliography, containing book, article and web-based citations from 1956 to the present based on acquisitions at notable archaeological institutes in Europe. Additional resources related to ancient art, archaeology and history are also available. Once in, check the box at the top "activate IP access and press Start".
- Gnomon OnlineIndexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft. A good supplement to L'Annee Philologique since it provides more recent citations (see here for a citation comparison).
- Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)"LIMC-icon is not an electronic version of the Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae, it is an independent and complementary source of information. An ancient document can therefore be dealt with either in the database, or in the book, or in both."
- Nestor (1959+)Online index of the bibliographic entries compiled by Nestor, an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Classics This link opens in a new windowAnnotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative classical scholarship.
- TOCS-INTables of contents of the major journals of classical scholarship. Convenient source for browsing the most current journal literature.
Texts
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL)Full text--minus forewords, textual apparatus, and indices--of editions of texts from the Latin series of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum.
- Brill's Jacoby Online This link opens in a new windowOnline edition of F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, providing Greek text, facing English translation, and new commentary and bibliography. See also the Müller-Jacoby Table of Concordance.
- Classical Language Toolkit (CLTK)Offers natural language processing support for Classical languages.
- Classical Latin TextsSimple search interface to the classical Latin corpus provided by the Packard Humanities Institute.
- Commentaria in Aristotelem GraecaLinks to the Internet Archive or Google Books digitizations of all CAG volumes.
- Corpus CorporumIncludes the entire Patrologia Latina, the Vulgate, Corpus Thomisticum and numerous other medieval and Neo-Latin collections of religious, literary and scientific texts.
- Corpus medicorum Graecorum/LatinorumFull-text access to all but the most current editions of this important series of classical medical texts, including prefatory material, apparatus, translations and commentary.
- Dickinson College commentaries"Latin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, essays, vocabulary, and graphic, video, and audio elements."
- Digital corpus for Greco-Arabic studiesAssembles a wide range of Greek texts and their Arabic counterparts.
- Digital Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum (DFHG)Digital version of the five volumes of the Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum (FHG) edited by Karl Müller in the 19th century.
- DiogenesFree software that provides access to a locally loaded copy of Liddell & Scott's Greek dictionary and Lewis and Short's Latin dictionary (web version using Perseus texts). Also can be used as an interface for the PHI CD-ROMs. NOTE: while the texts of the PHI CD-ROMs are also available online (Classical Latin Texts and Searchable Greek inscriptions) the Packard Humanities Institute still provides the CD-ROMs free of charge. Simply read the Terms and then scan and send the License agreement to phi@packhum.org.
- Greek and Latin texts with facing vocabulary and commentaryFree digital files for the textbook series written by Geoffrey Steadman
- Latin Library, TheHandy collection of Latin texts from all periods (Classical, Christian, Medieval, Neo-Latin).
- Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of AntiquityProvides biographical information, bibliography and discussion of each grammarian, including the Greek text of preserved fragments.
- LIBER: Linear B Electronic ResourcesDatabase contains all the Linear B documents from Knossos, Mycenae, Tiryns and Midea.
- Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new windowTexts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods.
- Loeb Classical LibraryOnline access to all of the in print volumes of this major series of Greek and Latin texts with facing translations.
- Musisque deoque"Digital archive of Latin poetry from its origins to the Italian Renaissance." Many poems linked to their manuscript apparatus. Search by "metrical typology" as well.
- Open Greek and Latin ProjectCollection of open source OCR files from the University of Leipzig Digital Humanities.
- Oxford Scholarly Editions Online: ClassicsCurrently includes Latin texts in critical editions (OCTs), commentaries and translations, many of which linked to the Oxford Latin Dictionary.
- Patrologia Graeca This link opens in a new windowGreek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
- Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new windowTexts of Latin Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 CE) to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. All prefatory material is included as well as the critical apparatus and indexes. Now includes Niermeyer's Mediae latinitatis lexicon minus.
- PedecertoProgram for the automatic analysing of Latin verses developed by the Università di Udine.
- Perseus Digital LibraryTexts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries. Also includes an Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser. Try the Scaife Viewer, Perseus' new text interface.
- Perseus under PhilologicGreek and Latin texts from the Pereus Digital Library are here accessed via the interface Philologic from the University of Chicago, which searches not only words and word lemmas, but parts of speech, verb voice, tense and mood, and noun gender and case.
- Roman Law LibraryHandy and searchable collection of primary Roman law texts.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new windowTexts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).
- Voci dal mondo anticoDatabase of Greek and Latin prose and poetry, especially helpful for identifying instances of elision, alliteration, homeoteleuton and final monosyllables in Latin poetry.
Dictionaries
- Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek OnlineEnglish translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With 140,000 entries and new entries being added (online) on a regular basis.
- Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to 10 medieval, early modern and modern Latin dictionaries with search results linked back to the Library of Latin Texts.
- Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new windowLexicon of the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European, including Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, the Iranian verb and Proto-Nostratic (Proto-Germanic and Persian are forthcoming).
- Niermeyer's Mediae latinitatis lexicon minusSearch "Lexicon term" field.
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive Latin dictionary whose detailed entries cover texts from antiquity to approximately 600 CE and include the etymology and later linguistic development of each word. However, not yet complete, comprising the letters A–M, O, P–pyxodes. See here for PDF digitizations of the the printed fascicles
Atlases
- Ancient World Mapping Center : maps for students50 high-resolution maps of the ancient world freely available for download. See Pleiades for a database of geographic information related to the Greco-Roman world linked to Google Maps.
- AWMC InteractiveFrom the Ancient World Mapping Center, this resource "allows users to view geospatial data from the Mapping Center, the Pleiades Gazetteer, and other partners without the need for specialized GIS software or training."
- Mapping Past SocietiesFormerly the Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC). "Allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization."
- Digital Atlas of the Roman EmpireSecond version of the Pelagios project's base map. Provides extensive metadata and links to other geographical resources.
- Historical Atlas of the Ancient WorldSupplemental volume of Brill's New Pauly.
- ORBIS: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World"... reconstructs the time, cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity."
- Roundup of Resources on Ancient GeographySummary list of significant resources maintained by AWOL (Ancient World Online).
Epigraphy & Papyrology
Law
- Annotated Justianian Code (and Novels)English translation of the Codex and Novels by Fred H. Blume, an attorney and Wyoming Supreme Court Justice. Completed in 1952. An expanded print edition of the Codex based on this translation, with commentary:
The Codex of Justinian : a new annotated translation, with parallel Latin and Greek text based on a translation by Justice Fred H. Blume / Bruce W. Frier, General Editor
Call number: (SC) KJA1192.2 2016 - Basilica OnlineFully-searchable online edition of the 17 volumes of the Basilica text and its scholia, as edited between 1945 and 1988 by H.J. Scheltema, D. Holwerda, and N. van der Wal.
- Basilicorum libri LXCall Number: (SHS) KJA1412.2 1953Publication Date: Groningen : J.B. Wolters, 1953-
- Corpus Juris Civilis byCall Number: (SCL) KJA1082.2 .C677 1954 (Clas) KBD .C67 1904 (SH) KJA1068.G3 C67 1970Publication Date: Berlin: Weidmann, 1970-1972
- The Digest of Justinian byCall Number: (Clas) KJA1112.2 1998 and (SC) KBD .D5313 1985Publication Date: Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania, 1985, 1998 (rev. ed.)2 v.
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Roman LawBerger, A. Union, NJ: Lawbook Exchange, 2002.
Call number: (Clas) KJA56 .B47 2002
- Jus graecoromanum byCall Number: (SHS) KJA1355 .J87 1962Publication Date: Aalen : Scientia, 1962.8 v.
t. 1. Nearai kai chrysovoulla tōn meta ton Ioustinianon Vyzantinōn autokratorōn -- 2. Nomothesia Isaurōn kai Makedonōn -- t. 3. Theophilou antikēnsoros ta institouta -- t. 4. Peira Eustathiou tou Rōmaiou : Epitomē nomōn -- t. 5. Synopsis tōn vasilikōn -- t. 6. Ēyxēmenē eklogē -- t. 7. Ēyxēmenon procheiron -- t. 8. Kōdix politikos tou Prinkipatou tēs Moldavias. 
The Novels of Justinian by Call Number: (F) (SHS) KJA1216 .E5 2018ISBN: 9781107000926Publication Date: 2018-11-15The novels comprise a series of laws issued in the sixth century by the famous Emperor Justinian (r.527-65), along with a number of measures issued by his immediate successors on the throne of Constantinople. They reveal the evolution of Roman law at the end of antiquity and how imperial law was transmitted to both the Byzantine East and Latin West in the Early Middle Ages. Crucially, the texts cast fascinating light on how litigants of all social backgrounds sought to appropriate the law and turn it to their advantage, as well as on topics ranging from the changing status of women to the persecution of homosexuals, and from the spread of heresy to the economic impact of the first known outbreak of bubonic plague. This work represents the first English translation of the novels based on the original Greek, and comes with an extensive historical and legal commentary.
- Roman Law LibraryHandy and searchable collection of primary Roman law texts.
- Roman Law Resources"... provides information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law."
- The Theodosian Code and Novels, and the Sirmondian ConstitutionsTranslated with commentary, glossary, and bibliography by Clyde Pharr, in collaboration with Theresa Sherrer Davidson and Mary Brown Pharr; introduction by C. Dickerman Williams. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1952.
Call number: (Clas) (SCL) Oversize KJA456 .E545 1952q
- Theodosian Code: NovelsSearchable Word document of the Latin text. Thank you Merle Eisenberg.
Manuscripts
- Abbreviationes OnlineList of Latin manuscript abbreviations and suspensions.
- Classical Text EditorAllows scholars working on a critical edition, a text with commentary, or a translation to prepare a camera-ready copy or electronic publication.
- Digitized Greek manuscriptsSimple database linking to images and descriptions of all fully digitized Greek manuscripts.
- Early Latin manuscriptsBased on E. A. Lowe's Codices Latini Antiquiores "and thus focuses on non-documentary texts written before the year 800. All of the manuscripts in Lowe's corpus and its supplements will be found in our database, along with corrections by Lowe and later scholars."
- Greek Codicology/PaleographyComprehensive annotated bibliography by Immaculada Pérez Martín from Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- Greek Paleography: From Antiquity to the RenaissanceComprehensive tutorial created by Timothy Janz.
- In Principio This link opens in a new windowIndexes the beginning words or line of Latin texts dating from their origins to the Renaissance. Particularly useful in identifying texts in manuscripts.
- Latin Paleography, Editing, and the Transmission of Classical TextsComprehensive annotated bibliography by Maura Lafferty from Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- Latin Paleography: From Antiquity to the RenaissanceComprehensive tutorial created by A. M. Piazzoni
- PinakesDescriptive database of Greek manuscripts hosted by the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes.
Numismatics
- American Numismatic Society's MANTISThe ANS collections database contains information on more than 600,000 objects in the Society’s collections. These include, coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations, from all parts of the world, and all periods in which such objects have been produced.
- Coin hoards of the Roman Republic Online (CHRR Online)Database of Roman Republican coin hoards mainly from the period 155 BC to AD 2.
- Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE)Joint project of the American Numismatic Society and the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University to create a digital corpus of the coinage of the Roman Empire.
- Roman Republican coinageCoins from the beginning of the 3rd century BC up until the Battle of Actium in 31 BC issued under the Roman Republic in Rome but not coins struck by non-Roman issuers in Italy.
- Sylloge Nummorum GraecorumSNG publishes illustrated catalogues of Greek coins in public and private collections in the British Isles, including coins produced by all ancient civilisations of the Mediterranean and neighbouring regions except Rome, though it does include the Roman Provincial series often known as 'Greek Imperials'.
Current awareness
- ABZUDatabase to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. Also, follow developments related to the digital humanities at ABZU's blog, The Ancient World Online (AWOL).
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review (1990+)Full-text book reviews covering all aspects of classical scholarship.
- Digital Classicist: Current projectsLists “concise information on projects applying computing technologies to Classical/Ancient Historical research.”
Contact the Classics Librarian
David Jenkins
Contact:
A-15J-2 Firestone Library
(609) 258-5811
Office hours: Mondays 11:00-12:00pm, Tuesdays 2:00-4:00pm
Schedule an appointment
(609) 258-5811
Office hours: Mondays 11:00-12:00pm, Tuesdays 2:00-4:00pm
Schedule an appointment