Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Art: Libraries @ PU

Guide to resources related to African-American and Black Diaspora art and artists c. 1800s to the present

General PUL Facts

Firestone Library

Firestone covers the Humanities and Social Sciences broadly. See Call Number information with locations here

Special services:

Data and Statistical Services
Microforms
‚ÄčVideo Services

 

Marquand Library

Marquand Library, located in McCormick Hall next to the PU Art Museum, is one of nine separate Princeton "branch" libraries, and is a premier art history, architecture, and archaeology library used by the entire campus and visited by scholars from all over the world. One will find books and exhibition catalogs in Marquand that are not available widely. Marquand also has a sizeable and growing rare book collection. More information about Marquand is available on its website.

Layout of building:
1st Floor: Reference Collection, Current periodicals (alpha. by title), Photography collection, Rare books  
2nd Floor: Call number ND* (Painting)    
A Floor: Call numbers A-N*  
B Floor: Call numbers NA-NC*; NE-Z*, Richardson call nos.*; folios and elephant folios (A-Z, Richardson)    

*octavos, or regular size on left, quartos (oversize "q") on the right (with YELLOW and PINK cards, respectively)

Marquand is fully non-circulating. Any item in use by someone else (i.e. on a carrel, shelf or in a faculty office) will have status SEE FRONT DESK). Ask at front desk to hold on to up to 10 volumes on the 1st-Floor Reading Room shelves for two weeks at a time, and eligible for two renewals.

Primary Sources

To identify primary source materials in the library catalog, look for the word sources within a subject term: e.g. perform a Subject (keyword) search: e.g. cultural sources; or, sources food, etc.

Additional Subject (keywords) or (regular) Keywords to bring up primary sources or books with primary source content include the following: (these are several examples of words that would identify a source as primary)

* charters
* correspondence
* diaries
* documents
* early works
* interviews
* letters
* manuscripts
* oral history
* oratory
* pamphlets
* personal narratives
* sources
* speeches
* transcripts

Firestone and Mudd Libraries comprise the Special Collections Department, which includes collections of unique or rare items like author manuscripts and other (unpublished) materials, letters, rare books, music manuscripts, works on paper (prints), coins, death masks, etc. There are great opportunities for you to work with original materials, some of which may never have been investigated or worked on before.

Check out the Guide to Topics ; and the Finding Aid search (archival collections). While you can find many of these collections in the library catalog, you can search by keyword here across collections within the guides that exist to help you navigate what’s contained in collections of papers for an important author, company, statesman, woman, etc.

PUL Digital Library: The old site is here, while the new digital platform is here. Take some time to browse for the unique and interesting content from Special Collections that has been digitized.

Off-site (Annex and ReCAP)

Pay attention to location in the library catalog. Books and journals with location: RECAP or ANNEX (A or B) are requested via the library catalog and one must designate a pickup library of choice [most Marquand ReCAP materials may only be consulted in Marquand]. Requests take a day or two to arrive (excluding weekends), and you will be notified via the e-mail address you provide. Annex A contains humanities materials and multiple copies of reserve titles, while Annex B, or the Fine Hall Annex, is Lewis (Science) Library's off-site storage. Electronic delivery of book chapters and articles may be requested for ReCAP titles, as long as one provides a complete citation. As for Fall 2017, you will see thousands of new records in the catalog for items at ReCAP owned by Columbia University and the New York Public Library: these will look like--minus the C or N at the bottom--and may be requested much like Princeton ReCAP items (items designated "library-use only" will need to be consulted only in Firestone for now).

Architecture Library

School of Architecture Library

(Located on 2nd Floor of Architecture building)

Guide to conducting architecture research