Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting with the library catalog is your best bet to determine what Princeton has in its 9 separate campus libraries.
General searching tips. If you are searching for a known item, search by Keyword (can include title word, author name, and/or publisher name, etc.), or Title Starts with. If you are looking for an exhibition catalog from a particular museum, use the Advanced Search, enter the museum name as Author/Creator and enter a keyword of your choice.
Before diving into a specialized subject database, you might want to try a broad interdisciplinary database, like our the Articles+ service.
One can see a list of ALL electronic journals at Princeton here or by doing a title search in the library catalog. Alternatively, one can browse journals more visually and by subject using Princeton's instance of BrowZine. BrowZine allows one to save favorite titles to a Bookshelf, receive alerts when a new issues is published, and retain selected articles.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Coverage depends on the newspaper. American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); American Israelite (1854-2000); Arizona Republican (1890-1922); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Austin American Statesman (1871-1980); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1996); Boston Globe (1872-1990); Calgary Herald (1883-2010), Call and Post (Cleveland) (1934-1991); Chicago Defender (1909-2010); Chicago Tribune (1849-2012); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2008); Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922);Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Dayton Daily News (1898-1922); Detroit Free Press (1831-1999); Edmonton Journal (1903-2010), Globe & Mail (1844-2018); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Hartford Courant (1764-1996); Hindustan Times (1924-2000); Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); Irish Times (1859-2020); Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); Jewish Exponent (1887-1990); Korea Times (1956-2016); Le Monde (1944-December 30, 2000); Leader-Post (Regina, Saskatchewan) (1883-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-2013); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-2000); Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010); Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001); Montreal Gazette (1857-2010), Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2018); New York Tribune (1841-1962); Newsday (1940-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010); Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003); Province (1898-2010); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); St. Louis Dispatch (1874-2003); St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times (1886-2009); Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009); Scotsman (1817-1950); South China Morning Post (1903-2001); Times-Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010); Times of India (1838-August 20, 2010); Toronto Star (1894-2019); Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010); Washington Post (1877-2005); Windsor Star (1883-2010). Also includes a Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) and a collection of American and British Communist papers (1917-2013).
Browsing by Subject
Select Subject (browse) in Library Catalog, and type in the following to find relevant content. You may also search for a specific artist this way: use LAST NAME FIRST NAME:
AFRICAN AMERICAN ART
AFRICAN AMERICAN ARTISTS (see sub-headings)
AFRICAN AMERICANS IN ART
CARIBBEAN AREA IN ART
FEDERAL ART PROJECT
HARLEM RENAISSANCE (see various sub-headings)
African-American art and African-Americans portrayed in art tends to fall under call numbers N6538.N5, and N8232 (can browse these numbers in the library catalog).
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for 40+ major subject areas. The next three links point out the most important subject areas for Black Arts and related.
Two Hundred Fifty Years of Afro-American Art: An Annotated Bibliography by
Call Number: Copies in AAS and Marquand (Ref.)-Z5956.A47 I38
Publication Date: 1981-10-01
Black Artists in the United States: An Annotated Bibliography of Books, Articles, and Dissertations on Black Artists, 1779-1979 by
Call Number: Z5956.A47 D38 (AAS and Marquand-Ref.)
Publication Date: 1980-05-02
Product information not available.
African American Visual Artists: An Annotated Bibliography of Educational Resource Materials by
Call Number: Z5956.A47 F79 2001 (AAS and Marquand-Ref.)
Publication Date: 2001-02-07
A guide to resources for use with K-12 students, this selective volume lists substantial, easily accessible resources on African-American visual artists. In total, 639 resources, referencing 1,174 individual artists are annotated and include works about the artists as well as the contexts in which the artist is situated. The publications are generally contemporary sources (after 1981), but earlier materials do exist, providing a baseline for the study of African-American art and its historical development. An introductory essay documents the successes and struggles of African-Americans in the art world followed by detailed annotations, which are arranged in five sections: General, Survey, Children's Books, Artists, and Artist Groups and Movements. The General, Survey, and Children's Books annotations provide important information including the author name, publication date, title, publisher, and an overview of contents. The Artists and Artist Groups and Movements sections function as indexes to the previous three sections. A final section lists addresses of institutions that hold important African- American art collections.