Reference Works on Different Subjects
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowContains many reference works on a large variety of topics.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowDetailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text of hundreds of dictionaries and other reference works in the humanities and social sciences, published by Oxford University Press.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowProvides overview of classic and current research and future trends in the social sciences and humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
A Sampling of Bibliographies, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias on Religion in South Asia and Other Topics
Dictionaries
- Brill Dictionary of Religion
- A Dictionary of Buddhism
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
- Digital Dictionaries of South Asia
- Historical Dictionaries Online
Encyclopedias
- Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism
- Encylclopaedia of the Qur'an
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism
- Encyclopedia of Islam
- Encyclopedia of Religion
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
- Treasury of Lives
Bibliographies, Handbooks, Indices, Etc.
- Index Islamicus
- National Bibliography of Pakistan
- National Bibliography of Indian Literature (NBIL)
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Hinduism
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
- Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Asian History
- Perso-Indica: An Analytical Survey of Persian Works on Indian Learned Traditions
- Yoga Bibiography by Peter Schreiner and Olga Serbaeva
Subject-specific Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc. 1971+
- CrossAsia This link opens in a new windowCrossAsia is a portal for discovering primary and secondary materials in Asian Studies.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and provides selective full text from over 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998), Treasures from the Film Archives (identifying silent film holdings in archives worldwide), the International Federation of Film Archives Affiliates' Publications, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections. 1972+
- India Database: History (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in India. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, medical, science, technology, engineering, and social sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
Multidisciplinary Academic Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
- IndiaRxiv PreprintsA Preprints Repository Service for India.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text with select ones available full text prior to this period.. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Some simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
PUL Catalog and Worldcat
- Princeton University Library (PUL) Catalog
- Use the PUL catalog to search creatively with Boolean operators and search modifiers to narrow and expand your results.
- Worldcat
- Use Worldcat to search for holdings in other locations. You can request items via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan.
Google Scholar
- Check out Google Scholar to find articles and books that are in the public domain or from publishers who have allowed Google bots to access their metadata.
- Learn how to search here.
- You might find that your access to an item is restricted, unless Princeton has access to it.
Google Books
- Google Books can be a great way to learn about titles that are relevant to your topic. Sometimes it might even point you toward a precise page that is relevant to your research.
Google Arts and Culture
- Google Arts & Culture allows you to explore collections and stories from around the world. Search for almost any topic related to South Asia.