Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

South Asian Studies: Collaborative Efforts

CONSALD

CONSALD (Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation) is organized as a committee of the South Asia Council of the Association for Asian Studies. The primary objective of CONSALD is the development of North American library resources related to South Asia. The Committee shall facilitate library cooperation, collection development, bibliographic control, access, and preservation to benefit the use of South Asian research and teaching materials.

SACOOP

Through the South Asia Cooperative Collection Development Workshops, the community of South Asian library specialists in North America shares a collective vision of a seamless global collection of South Asian research resources to support and enhance scholarship. SACOOP makes concerted actions to broaden both the scope and depth of coverage of South Asian resources, spanning all subjects and formats.

 

SAMP

The South Asia Materials Project (SAMP) acquires and maintains a readily accessible digital and microform collection of unique materials related to the study of South Asia. Materials are collected both through the project’s duplication efforts and through the purchase of materials preserved by other groups, institutions, and companies.  SAMP cooperates with libraries and archives worldwide to preserve unique or endangered materials for the study of South Asia. SAMP’s members acquire and maintain digital and microform materials from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives. 

SALTOC

SALTOC is a cooperative project among participating libraries to provide browsable tables of contents of journals in South Asian languages. Contributing libraries include Center for Research Libraries, Columbia University, Cornell University, Harvard University, Library of Congress Field Office Islamabad, Princeton University, University of California Berkeley, University of Chicago, University of Pennsylvania, University of Texas, University of Washington and Yale University. Hosted and archived with permanent URLs by NYU Libraries.

SAOA

The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asian studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide. Suggest an archive or resource for digitization and ingest here.

RECAP

The Research Collections and Preservation Consortium (ReCAP) was created in 2000 to support its members' goals of preserving their library and archival collections, and making them available to researchers. The ReCAP facility consists of a preservation repository and resource sharing services, and is located on Princeton University's Forrestal Campus. ReCAP is jointly owned and operated by Columbia University, Harvard University, The New York Public Library and Princeton University. More than fifteen million items are currently in ReCAP's care and they are used to fulfill approximately 250,000 requests for materials each year, from its partners and from libraries around the world.