Why Use Reference Materials?
You can use reference materials (such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks) to find:
- a quick, reliable overview of your topic
- background information
- references for your topic
- specialized vocabulary or keywords for searching
- information on theories or theorists
- suggestions for further research
Selected Reference Materials
Selected Brain Images and Atlases in the Library
7. 0 Tesla MRI Brain Atlas by
Recent advances in MRI, especially those in the area of ultra high field (UHF) MRI, have attracted significant attention in the field of brain imaging for neuroscience research, as well as for clinical applications. In 7.0 Tesla MRI Brain Atlas: In Vivo Atlas with Cryomacrotome Correlation, Zang-Hee Cho and his colleagues at the Neuroscience Research Institute, Gachon University of Medicine and Science set new standards in neuro-anatomy. This unprecedented atlas presents the future of MR imaging of the brain. Taken at 7.0 Tesla, the images are of a live subject with correlating cryomacrotome photographs. Exquisitely produced in an oversized format to allow careful examination of the brain in real scale, each image is precisely annotated and detailed. The images in the Atlas reveal a wealth of details of the main stem and midbrain structures that were once thought impossible to visualize in-vivo. Ground breaking and thought provoking, 7.0 Tesla MRI Brain Atlas is sure to provide answers and inspiration for further studies, and is a valuable resource for medical libraries, neuroradiologists and neuroscientists.
ISBN: 9781607611530Publication Date: 2009-12-09
Atlas of Brain Function by
This atlas is an outstanding single-volume resource of information on the structure and function of specific areas of the brain. Updated to reflect the latest technology using 3 Tesla MR images, this edition has been enhanced with new functional MRI studies as well as a new section on diffusion tensor imaging with three-dimensional reconstructions of fiber tracts using color coding to demonstrate neural pathways. Highlights: Glossary of neuroanatomic structures and definitions provides the reader with a foundation in structures, function, and functional relationships High-quality images are divided into five sections, including Sagittal MRI views, Axial MRI views, Coronal MRI views, Fiber-Tracking Diffusion Tensor Imaging, and Three-Dimensional MRI views Icons rapidly orient the reader with the location of each view or the diffusion pathway This book eliminates the need to sift through multiple books for the current information on the structure and function of the brain. It is invaluable for clinicians in radiology, neuroradiology, neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry, psychology, neuropsychology, and neuroanatomy. The atlas is also ideal for medical students, nursing students, and individuals seeking to gain a firm understanding of human brain anatomy and function.
ISBN: 9781588905253Publication Date: 2008-08-19
Atlas of the Human Brain by
The fourth edition of Atlas of the Human Brain presents the anatomy of the brain at macroscopic and microscopic levels, featuring different aspects of brain morphology and topography. This greatly enlarged new edition provides the most detailed and accurate delineations of brain structure available. It includes features which assist in the new fields of neuroscience - functional imaging, resting state imaging and tractography. Atlas of the Human Brain is an essential guide to those working with human brain imaging or attempting to relate their observations on experimental animals to humans. Totally new in this edition is the inclusion of Nissl plates with delineation of cortical areas (Brodmann's areas), the first time that these areas have been presented in serial histological sections. The contents of the Atlas of the brain in MNI stereotaxic space has been extensively expanded from 143 pages, showing 69 levels through the hemisphere, to 314 pages representing 99 levels. In addition to the fiber-stained (myelin) plates, we now provide fifty new (Nissl) plates covering cytoarchitecture. These are interdigitated within the existing myelin plates of the stereotaxic atlas. All photographic plates now represent the complete hemisphere. All photographs of the cell- and fiber-stained sections have been transformed to fit the MNI-space. Major fiber tracts are identified in the fiber-stained sections. In the Nissl plates cortical delineations (Brodmann's areas) are provided for the first time. The number of diagrams increased to 99. They were now generated from the 3D reconstruction of the hemisphere registered to the MNI- stereotaxic space. They can be used for immediate comparison between our atlas and experimental and clinical imaging results. Parts of cortical areas are displayed at high magnification on the facing page of full page Nissl sections. Images selected highlight those areas which are thought to correspond with those published by von Economo and Koskinas (1925). A novel way of depicting cortical areal pattern is used: The cortical cytoarchitectonic ribbon is unfolded and presented linearly. This linear representation of the cortex enables the comparison of different interpretations of cortecal areas and allows mapping of activation sites. Low magnification diagrams in the horizontal (axial) and sagittal planes are included, calculated from the 3D model of the atlas brain.
ISBN: 9780128028018Publication Date: 2015-12-02
Atlas of the Human Brain and Spinal Cord by
The Second Edition of Atlas of the Human Brain and Spinal Cord offers the essentials of neuroanatomy in a newly revised format. This atlas allows students to synthesize a three-dimensional concept of the major motor and sensory systems of the human brain and spinal cord by providing a photographic survey of the macroscopic and microscopic structure of the central nervous system. It is organized into 6 sections and covers material on gross anatomy, spinal cord, brain stem, coronal sections, axial sections, parasagittal sections, arteries and angiograms, neuroanatomical lesions, nuclear magnetic images of brain tumors, and more. The atlas plates are labeled with emphasis on major neuroanatomic structures important in clinical neurology
ISBN: 9780763753184Publication Date: 2008-04-11
The Brain Atlas by
The Brain Atlas: A Visual Guide to the Human Central Nervous System integrates modern neuroscience with clinical practice and is now completely revised and updated for a Fourth Edition. Each page uses direct labeling system, including an alphabetical list of terms for each image Presents unrivaled treatment of brain pathways, with colored lines that clearly trace pathways over actual brain slices used earlier in the book Over 400 high quality images, including multiple magnetic resonance images side-by-side with corresponding brain slices Blood supply maps consistently and methodically presented with exhaustive depictions of arteries and blood territory maps next to each brain slice Print edition comes with free access to Wiley companion digital edition accessible on any device, allowing the reader to make notes, bookmark, follow cross references, and download figures
ISBN: 9780470084762Publication Date: 2007-12-10
Prenatal Mouse Brain Atlas by
This is the only book available for studies of the mouse brain before birth. It presents a complete mapping of the developing mouse brain that features imaging of whole brain sections. Users will be able to compare structure shown in the Atlas to what they see in the microscope. This new, greatly expanded edition provides an easily accessible tool for researchers in the fields of normal and abnormal brain development.
ISBN: 9780387470931Publication Date: 2008-05-07
- Allen Brain AtlasIncludes the mouse, non-human primates, human adult reference atlas.
- Whole Brain AtlasImages of the brain with and without disease.
Selected Reference Collections
- Psychiatry Online (includes DSM-1 through DSM-5 full text) PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5™—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
- MIT's CogNet Reference Developed by The MIT Press, MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. Since breaking ground in 2000, MIT CogNet has become an essential resource for those interested in cutting-edge primary research across the range of fields concerned with understanding the nature of the human mind.
- NEUROSCIENCEnetBASE CRCnetBASE, the award-winning Science, Technology, and Medicine eBook platform from CRC Press, offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 12,000 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections. It features 10 million pages of rich content and authoritative resources, allowing librarians to build eBook collections that best fit their patron’s needs and their institution’s budget. And using the mobile app, CRCnetBASE provides anywhere, anytime access to an increasingly mobile academic community. Annual subscriptions and perpetual access options are available as well as netBASE Select which allows customers to build their own collection.
- PsycTHERAPY A database of streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos; users may create playlists, clips, search transcripts of videos, and more
- Sage Research Methods Online A cross-disciplinary research methods tool. It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference materials, and videos about research design, specific methods, conducting research, and writing about research results. Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.
General Reference Collections
- Access Science Fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
- Oxford Bibliographies Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
- Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference is the home of Oxford’s quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource.
- Very Short Introductions The perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly … Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.
- Sage Knowledge SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Hosting more than 2,700 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library Provides online access to the complete full text of over 100 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers.
- Oxford Handbooks Online Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO), the home of scholarly research reviews, is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas. The collection of Oxford Handbooks is one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. A recently re-engineered platform and revolutionary changes to the publishing program means, for the first time, all Handbooks will be available online as well as in print and monthly updates introduce articles in advance of print publication and beyond the book, born-digital content ensuring the most current, authoritative coverage anywhere. OHO brings together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve