Neuroscience Databases
The list below is a small subset of the databases on the Articles and Databases page on the library's website. For a full list of databases relevant to your research, see the Psychology Subject List.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
- Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
- Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowService of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles. 1879+
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.
Supplementary Resources
- Annual Review of Neuroscience This link opens in a new windowComprehensive review of the literature in neuroscience. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of neuroscience.
- MIT's CogNet Library This link opens in a new windowFull Text access to MIT books, journals, reference works and conference materials in cognitive and brain science.
- SAGE Psychology Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- Springer Protocols (formerly BioMedProtocols) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reproducible, step-by-step protocols for use in the laboratory. It features over 16,000 peer-reviewed protocols from Humana's book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A cross-disciplinary research methods tool. It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference materials, and videos about research design, specific methods, conducting research, and writing about research results. Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new windowProvides information on all types of periodicals, including pricing, subscription and distribution details as well as publisher and editor contacts. Links to URLs and e-mail addresses given when available. Includes periodical reviews from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.
Citation Searching
PsycINFO has included cited references appearing in journal articles, books, and book chapters. Although comprehensive coverage of cited references began in 2001, references appear in some records for earlier years, and APA will continue to add retrospective coverage. This cited reference data enables the "Find Similar" and "Find Citing Articles" functions.
Web of Science is the most complete and comprehensive citation tracking database with coverage from 1900 to the present. It provides thorough coverage of ~5900 major journals. Includes cited author searching. Abstracts, keywords, and additional subject categories are included and searchable from 1991+. Video Tutorial
Scopus Provides International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking from 1996 to the present. Interactive Tutorial
Google Scholar provides access to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Although it is not as standardized, thorough, or reliable as BIOSIS, Web of Science and other literature databases, Google Scholar has a simple interface that many find convenient and easy to use.
General Search Tips
Boolean Operators
Many catalogs and databases allow the user to put a search string together using the boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT.
- AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, stereotyping AND prejudice finds articles that contain both terms.
- OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, stereotyping OR prejudice finds results that contain either term.
- NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, stereotyping NOT prejudice finds results that contain the term stereotyping but not the term prejudice.
Truncation
In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.
For example, type behav* to find the words behave, behavior, behaviour, behavioral, behaviorism, etc..
Full Text Options
To locate the full text of an article, click the 
button in the database.
If Princeton does not have access to the full text you can use either Article Express, Borrow Direct, or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request the article or book from one of our partner institutions:
Article Express: ArticleExpress is the Library’s electronic document delivery service available to current members of the Princeton University community. Journal articles, book chapters or selections, conference proceedings papers, and newspaper articles are available through ArticleExpress. The service offers electronic delivery of these materials in the shortest possible time.
Borrow Direct: is a rapid, patron-initiated borrowing and lending service offered by Princeton University Library and twelve partner libraries--Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, MIT, the University of Chicago, the University of Pennsylvania, Stanford, and Yale.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Interlibrary Loan (ILL) provides academic materials not available at the University. Service is available to any member of the University community who needs material for an academic research project or course-related assignment.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.