Research Guides: Civil and Environmental Engineering Research Guide: Books, ebooks, standards

Search the Library Catalog

E-book Collections

E-book collections include reference materials such as handbooks, guides, and encyclopedias. They also offer additional features such as advanced search functionality or additional video content. Individual titles can be found in the Main Catalog.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill engineering reference database. Includes major engineering reference works such as Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers as well as advanced tools such as calculators, interactive tables, videos, and data visualization of material properties.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References This link opens in a new window
Collection of the latest leading technical and engineering reference books.
CRCnetBase This link opens in a new window
Online books published by CRC Press. Princeton subscribes to select modules (Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Clean Tech, Economics, Environmental Science, Geosciences, Material Science, Math, Physics).
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of information technology and programming books, mostly published by O'Reilly which allows searching for code examples and specific technical information
Limited to 3 simultaneous users

Standards

For more information about standards at Princeton, visit https://libguides.princeton.edu/standards

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Includes standards and technical information which covers a broad range of engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. 1931+
MADCAD.COM This link opens in a new window
MADCAD's eLibrary provides online access to building codes and standards. Princeton's package includes ACI, ASHRAE, FEMA, the ICC Codes (2000, 2012, 2015), ICC/ANSI, and several legacy code collections. After connecting to MADCAD, click "Proceed to eLibrary" to access subscribed content.
Techstreet This link opens in a new window
Multi-agency technical and engineering standards provider. Princeton's subscription includes access to ACI (American Concrete Institute), ASHRAE, and ICC (International Codes Council) standards. A personal account is needed to request access to additional standards. Please email Joe Marciniak (Jm110@princeton.edu) to create a personal account.