Research Guides: Standards at Princeton: Standards

What are Standards

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) defines a standard as:

"A standard can be defined as a set of technical definitions and guidelines, “how to” instructions for designers, manufacturers, and users. Standards promote safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in almost every industry that relies on engineering components or equipment. Standards can run from a few paragraphs to hundreds of pages, and are written by experts with knowledge and expertise in a particular field who sit on many committees."

ASME https://www.asme.org/codes-standards/publications-information/faq

Princeton Standards Subscription Databases

Intertek
Intertek provides access to select engineering, manufacturing, and safety standards from AASHTO, ACI, AIAA, ANSI, ASCE, ASHRAE, ASSP, AWA, ICC, IEC, and ISO. An account must be created to access licensed standards.

ASME Standards Collection

Full text electronic acccess to all current American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards and codes including biomedical devices, Boiler Pressure Vessel Code, construction, cranes and hoists, cutting tools, fasteners, flow measurement, fossil power, machine tools, nuclear, pipeline and piping, screw threads and more. To access, click "Click here to access via institutional account" under the Sign in box in the upper right hand corner.
Please see here for instructions on how to download whole PDF standards from ASME.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

Includes standards and technical information which covers a broad range of engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. 1931+

IEEE Standards
IEEE standards such as National Electrical Safety Code (NESC) and Local Area Network standards (IEEE 802.11) are included in Princeton's subscription of IEEE Xplore.

IUPAC Standards Online Database
Unique compilation of the internationally-binding standards and recommendations for chemistry and related fields created by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). These standards and recommendations, extracted from the IUPAC Journal Pure and Applied Chemistry (PAC), provide access to the authoritative information on chemical nomenclature, symbols, terminology, units, weights, measures, and similar scientific conventions.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References

Collection of the latest leading technical and engineering reference books.
MADCAD.COM

MADCAD's eLibrary provides online access to NFPA standards. After connecting to MADCAD, click "Proceed to eLibrary" to access subscribed content.
SAE Mobilus
Full text database from Society for Automotive Engineering. Includes Standards, Technical Papers, Journal Articles and more.

Free Standards

ASSIST (MIL Standards)
The Acquisition Streamlining and Standardization Information System (ASSIST) database identifies approved defense and federal standardization documents, adopted non-government standards (NGS), and U.S. ratified materiel International Standardization Agreements (ISAs). Standardization documents include MIL and FED standards
Federal Standards
Index of Federal Specifications, Standards, and Commercial Item Descriptions

Print Standards

Some print standards are also available in the library. To check if the library has a copy of a print standard, try searching in the Library Catalog.