Research Guides: Civil and Environmental Engineering Research Guide: Subject specific databases

Highly recommended for civil and environmental engineers

These are few of the top databases for Civil and Environmental Engineering. The complete listings can be found at Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering. When searching databases, look for the FindIt@PUL button. This will lead you to a menu of options for acquiring the specific paper or article. You may be able to download the full-text immediately, or to submit an Interlibrary Loan request if you are unable to get a copy throught Princeton's subscriptions.

AAPG Datapages This link opens in a new window
Full text access to American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, including AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, Journal of Sedimentary Research. Coverage varies from 1917 to present. Also includes publications by several regional groups. 1917+
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Series of authoritative, analytic reviews in over 50 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. 1950+
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Online Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 33,000 journal articles and proceedings papers from the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource featuring a rich array of media and information resources, including full-text access to Environmental Building News, the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpec directory of products, and the LEEDuser web tool. Also included is the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) which provides case studies of projects ranging from homes and commercial interiors to large buildings and even whole campuses and neighborhoods.
Civil Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Environmental Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, and separately searchable. Includes technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Includes over 4,500 materials and processes. The database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries, typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals. Covers current industrial manufacturing products, processes, and processed raw materials. Historical products or companies are not covered. As subscribers to Material Connexion, all Princeton affiliates have unlimited access to the Material Library in New York City.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Collection of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Access requires authentication (restricted to Princeton University users). early 1950s+
Restricted to academic research by Princeton University faculty and students.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database. Covers scientific and technical world literature about water. The abstracts describe journal articles, books, conference papers, and technical reports, from the physical and life sciences as well as engineering, legal and government publications. [Known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts and was published by the USGS, the United States Geological Survey, until 1994]. 1967+

Multidisciplinary databases for engineerings and scientists

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus) This link opens in a new window
Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401.
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.