Skip to main content

Human rights: primary sources

Human rights journals

  • The Journal of Genocide Research
  • Yale Human Rights and Development Law Journal
  • Asia-Pacific journal on human rights and the law; Australian journal of human rights
  • BMC international health and human rights
  • Columbia human rights law review
  • Constituting Human Rights
  • Global Civil Society and the Society of Democratic States
  • Country reports on human rights practices
  • Harvard Human Rights Journal; Human rights
  • Human rights quarterly
  • Human rights review
  • Human rights solidarity
  • Human Rights Watch world report
  • The international journal of human rights
  • Journal of human rights
  • Muslim world journal of human rights
  • Northwestern University journal of international human rights
  • Sur - International Journal on Human Rights

Useful web sites

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library

Human and Constitutional Rights - Web Resources and Documents

Human and Constitutional Rights - National Links has links to countries and the treaties they have signed as well as to human rights groups working on those countries, truth commissions, lots of stuff. A great resource!

Bibliography on Issues in Human Rights

Derechos Human Rights Links - Articles on Human Rights lots of great issue articles and country specific articles as well

Human Rights Education Association: Study Guides: The Study Guides offer introductions to various human rights topics. The guides present definitions, key rights at stake, human rights instruments, and protection and assistance agencies. They guides also offer links to the full text of international treaties relevant for the topic, and other useful resources on the HREA and University of Minnesota Human Rights Library web sites.

Aboriginal Law and Legislation: http://www.bloorstreet.com/300block/ablawleg.htm

Armed Conflict Database

Geneva Conventions: http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/lawwar.asp

Truth Commissions Digital Collection (U.S. Institute of Peace: http://www.usip.org/library/formin.html

Need more ideas?

Encyclopedia of human rights [electronic resource]. Edited by David P. Forsythe. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, c2009.
Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) JC571 .E673 2009

Encyclopaedia of human rights and social justice. Satya P. Kanan. 1st ed. New Delhi : Dominant Publishers and Distributors, c2006
Firestone Library (F) JC571 .K36 2006

Encyclopedia of war crimes and genocide. Leslie Alan Horvitz and Christopher Catherwood. New York : Facts on File, c2006.
Firestone Library (F) HV6322.7 .H67 2006

International encyclopedia of human rights: freedoms, abuses, and remedies. Robert L. Maddex. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2000.
Firestone Library (F) JC571 .M3243 2000

Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations. Robert F. Gorman, Edward S. Mihalkanin. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2007
Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) JC571 .G655 2007

A guide to human rights: institutions, standards, procedures. Edited by Janusz Symonides and Vladimir Volodin; preface by Koïchiro Matsuura. 2003 ed. Paris: Unesco, 2003.
Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone JC571 .G85 2003

Basic documents on human rights. Edited by Ian Brownlie and Guy S. Goodwin-Gill. 5th ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Firestone Library (F) K3238 .B37 2006