Skip to main content

U.S. economic, business and labor history

Business records

Minute books of the American Chamber of Commerce of the port of Liverpool, 1801-1908 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 00198
3 reels
Printed guide: none
The Chamber was an English association founded to promote trade between Great Britain and the United States.

Papers; materials relating to the Mississippi Trading Co., 1874-8, in the Library of the Co-operative Union, Manchester
RECAP Microfilm 00161
4 reels
Printed guide: none
Records of the Mississippi Valley Trading Company, which was established to promote trade between Great Britain and the United States.

Warner Bros. archive [microform]
Microfiche 1541
1587 microfiches
Printed guide: uncataloged; at end of guides in Firestone Microforms

Reporting on the Coal Industry: The Coal Trade Bulletin, 1901-1918 Archives Unbound "This publication traces the expansion of the coal industry in the early twentieth century and brings to life the trials and tribulations of a burgeoning industry."

International trade

Reports and summary proceedings of the International Monetary Fund, 1946-1974 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 10564
6 reels
Printed guide: none

Japan - U.S. semiconductor cases [microform]
Microfiche 818
382 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HF1456.5.J3J37
"Reproduces in their entirety the files of the semiconductor cases filed before the United States International Trade Commission, the International Trade Administration, and the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative" and resolved in 1986.

Multinational corporations, OPEC, cartels, foreign investment, and technology transfer [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 10634
53 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HD2755.5 .M847
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making, 1971-1988. Online guide: http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=163

International trade [microform]. Special studies
RECAP Microfilm 10636
61 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HF1379 .I575
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making, 1971-2003. Online guide: http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=162

Other sources

British emigrant guides and pamphlets, 1819-1870
RECAP Microfilm 02693
2 reels
Printed guide: none
Microform edition of books and pamphlets in various British libraries. (Note: these are not all included in the Goldsmith's-Kress collection.)

Recessions, depressions, and economic panics in American history: collection of sources [microform]
Microfilm 05484
7 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HC103.R42
"Gathers together and publishes ... the major documentary, investigative, and narrative sources pertaining to economic disturbances throughout American history."

Americans for Democratic Action papers, 1932-1965
Microfilm 05623
142 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E740.5.A42
The ADA is a liberal advocacy organization founded in 1947.

Pamphlets in American History: Group III: Cooperative Societies
Microfiche 898
411 microfiches
Printed guide: E179 .P35
Cooperative Societies (CS1-390) "documents the cooperative ownership movement as it began in the United States in the 19th century. There is a great deal of material on workers' co-ops formed in the late 19th and early 20th centuries."

Pamphlets in American History: Group III: Finance
Microfiche 898
2069 microfiches
Printed guide: E179 .P35
Finance (F1-2011) "gives a history of 19th and early 20th-century discussion on such topics as bimetallism versus monometallism, banks and currency, state banks and national banks, the Federal Reserve System, taxation, and bankruptcy."

Pamphlets in American History: Group III: Socialism
Microfiche 898
712 microfiches
Printed guide: E179 .P35
Socialism (S1-689) "includes numerous documents published by the Socialist Labor Party and the United States Socialist Party."

Records of the National Negro Business League [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 10600
14 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HD2425 .R426
Consists of annual conference proceedings, letters and business records of the National Negro Business League (1901-1923). The NNBL was founded to promote the "commercial, agricultural, educational, and industrial advancement" of African Americans.

Papers of Eugene V. Debs, 1834-1945 [microform]
Microfilm 06818
21 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HX84.D3 D42
Consists of the papers (correspondence, speeches, and published writings) of Eugene Debs, labor leader. On Debs, see http://www.anb.org/articles/06/06-00148.html

Twentieth Century Advice Literature
Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.