Skip to main content

Environmental Research at Princeton: An Interdisciplinary Approach: Land Use - General Resources

Land Use Databases

BuildingGreen.Com: Features a rich array of mFedia and information resources, incl. full-text access to Environmental Building News, the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpec directory of products, and the LEEDuser web tool.

Environment Abstracts: (1975+) Covers all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies.

Environment Complete: (1941+) Covers environemtal policies and studies

GreenFile: Features cholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Greenr: Focuses on sustainability & the environment. Coversheal thcare, food, climate change, population & economic development.

Sustainability Science Abstracts: (1999+): Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management and conservation.

Books in PUL

Land use is a highly interdisciplinary topic, requiring imagination and resourcefulness when searching both the Main Catalog and PUL's databases.  Main Catalog: Below are some suggested subject headings that will help introduce you to what's in the PUL collection. 

"Land Use" will retrieve the general index on this subject, helping you see how the collection breaks down in this area.

[  7  ] 1 Land use--Andes. Library of Congress
[  8  ] 1 Land use--Appalachian Region--Congresses. Library of Congress
[  9  ] 1 Land use--Arab countries. Library of Congress
[  10  ] 1 Land use--Arab countries--History--Congresses. Library of Congress


There are customary, narrower terms associated with "Land Use."

Narrow Term:Church lands.
Narrow Term:Eminent domain.
Narrow Term:Fallow lands
Narrow Term:Feudalism.
Narrow Term:Indian reservations.
Narrow Term:Land capability for agriculture.
Narrow Term:Land use, Rural.
Narrow Term:Open spaces.
Narrow Term:Public lands.
Narrow Term:Real estate business.
Narrow Term:Real estate development.
Narrow Term:Reclamation of land.
Narrow Term:Rent (Economic theory)
Narrow Term:Sanitary landfills
Narrow Term:School lands.
Narrow Term:Submerged lands
Narrow Term:Underground areas.
Narrow Term:Waste lands
Narrow Term:Zoning.
See Also:Landscape assessment.

Intro Books